Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
thank you
Published 6 days ago by Alex

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Abnormal activity
Loved the first 3, but what happened here? Slim link to the original story (which didn't need a further installment) and a no real scare scenario. And if anyone can explain the relevance, in context of the original story, of the final scene that would be good. A real and very disappointing cash in.
Published 16 months ago by trailer


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Abnormal activity, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paranormal Activity 4 (Theatrical and Extended Versions) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Loved the first 3, but what happened here? Slim link to the original story (which didn't need a further installment) and a no real scare scenario. And if anyone can explain the relevance, in context of the original story, of the final scene that would be good. A real and very disappointing cash in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm....time to stop now I think, 20 Oct 2012
This review is from: Paranormal Actvity 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I have actually loved the Paranormal Activity series since seeing the unexpected hit back in 2009. The second film was a good continuation that was full of creepy moments and the third provided an excellent back story and was probably my favourite. So I was really looking forward to seeing where this forth entry would take us.

It is based 5 years after part 2 with a new family who live next door to series regular Katie who is possessed by the demon, she gets suddenly taken to hospital so they are left looking after her creepy "adopted" son Robbie. From here weird things start to happen and so more of the continuing story unfolds.

So why the average score? Well for a start, what made the previous 3 films so good for me was the subtle scary moments that really stuck in my head for days afterwards, giving me feeling of paranoia and really played on my mind when in the comfort of my own home. In this one the style seems to have all been forgot and they've got for quick scares and jump moments every couple of minutes that does get old pretty quickly. Another thing that made this not as good as the previous films is it is now becoming all too familiar so the shock value that we had before is lost it's effect so I didn't really find it very scary at all. The parents are also so oblivious to everything going on despite being constantly told by the daughter so this became a little ridiculous and annoying towards the second half of the film.

It's not all bad though. The lead characters (well the 2 teenagers at least) are quite convincing and were fun to watch. The use of modern technology such as the Xbox Kinect, Skype and camera phones were well used and were an interesting change to just camcorders and security cameras used in the previous films. The were a couple of moments that held the suspense and had me focussing on something only to be surprised by something else elsewhere on the screen, so misdirection was definitely a strong factor in this production.

I think 2 stars is a bit harsh as there were definitely some well done portions in the film and I can't say I didn't at least mildly enjoy it, but 3 stars is too high simply because of the cheap jumps as opposed to the building tension and so-so storyline, that I felt didn't really add anything to the overall storyline. I wouldn't say that this is necessarily a bad film but it is certainly a lot less effective and entertaining as the last 3. I'm glad I saw it but I really think that the writers and producers should really consider putting this one to bed now before fans of the series like myself just get bored with the whole thing and the first 3 films lose there cult status because of a string of average sequels that we are inevitably going to get. There's a lot of things left unexplained (I could list these but would be leaving spoilers) so there's no doubt going to be a Paranormal Activity 5 next October, I just won't get my hopes up too much with that one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
also only took 5 minutes and a few quid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paranormal Activity 4 (Theatrical and Extended Versions) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars weird, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
kind of the weirdest paranormal activity film made but kind of scary as well at some points but slightly boring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Oh look, a knife...., 22 Jan 2014
This review is from: Paranormal Activity 4 (Theatrical and Extended Versions) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The film takes place in 2011, five years after Katie killed her boyfriend Micah, sister Kristi and her husband Daniel and took their baby, Hunter.

The film focuses on Alex and her family experiencing weird things since the new neighbours moved in, and looking after the boy, when the mother gets taken ill.

I'm tolerant with the whole Paranormal franchise, they are cheaply made and are entertaining, even the second and third, which dragged, delivered some scare factor.

But this is horrible, and even more so knowing that the people behind this gave us the brilliant Catfish.

Where to start? it's not scary for one, and it drags and drags to the point where you are more focused on the lead girls eyebrows needing a pluck, and i'm a 35 year old male.

There's nothing new here, no originality like the seconds cupboards opening suddenly, or the thirds camera on a fan.

It's just one long advert for the X-box, and its silly infra-red dot matrix that can pick up shadows.

On the plus side the lead girl isn't too annoying, but the two children just sit and stare at the TV, and if that scares you, you don't have a child who likes Pixar movies.

Katie pops up again in the last few moments to do some more killing, and the last shot looks like some medicated audience at a one direction concert.

As sequels go, this has to be the worst sequel I have ever seen, and considering Highlander 2, Underworld Awakening and AvP 2, it's some going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars dragging it out!, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is by far the worst instalment of what I found to be a great series of films, its watchable but in no way compares to the quality of the previous 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Region Mistake, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This will not play in my dvd player, didnt realise it came from a different region, think this should be made clear when ordering
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good., 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good DVDs for people wanting watch a scary movie. Not too gruesome but scary enough to make a person a bit scared. Very jumpy but that's the fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PARANORMAL ACTIVITY 4., 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
GREAT FILM. LOVE THESE TYPE OF FILMS & EVEN THOUGH GETTING USED TO THEM NOW STILL GREAT TO WATCH. HIGHLY RECOMMEND & HOPE THERE WILL BE A NUMBER 5.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews