Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Escapist Entertainment
This book is an entertaining time travel adventure. Guns, swat teams, terrorists and...ancient Romans (and that definitely wasn't part of the plan.) Its fast and easy writing style had me finishing it in three days. I particularly liked the interaction between the characters. If you're looking for deep meaningful revelations or existential angst, don't bother. This book...
Published on 5 April 2013 by Moon the Loon

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars readable
Well written and enjoyable with good characters. The plot is wild and far fetched but more or less hangs together if you don't look too hard.
Published 17 months ago by Bill Tweedsmuir


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars readable, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Roman (The Praetorian Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Well written and enjoyable with good characters. The plot is wild and far fetched but more or less hangs together if you don't look too hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gave up in exasperation., 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Roman (The Praetorian Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A weak and childish plot, some basis in historical fact undermined by appalling writing, ridiculous pseudo physics,
quite terrible characterizations of the protagonists.I had to give up halfway through and I'm shocked that this author has got any books published sat all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I love history and historic fiction, 27 Nov. 2014
By 
Mr. J. R. Mourino (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Roman (The Praetorian Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Goodness me, where to start. I love history and historic fiction. The first couple of pages were ok, setting the scene for something I thought would take me on a journey to Ancient Rome however there then ensued the most dreary, convoluted mumbo-jumbo imaginable. The book may have been 0.00 to buy but I feel short changed and want a refund! Avoid at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 2 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Roman (The Praetorian Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I did not enjoy this book and I will not be buying the sequels. The problem is that I am unsure exactly why. There is no one reason. The concept was good - time travelling special forces stuck in Ancient Rome, but I felt that the characters interaction with the ancient Romans was just not believable. I also could not bring myself to believe how little impact modern weapons, including mines and machine guns were supposed to have when used against the Romans. I would have expected the reaction to be of extreme nervousness at the very least, but no, the Romans soldiers and civilians alike shrugged off the fact that dozens of those around them were dying from unknown causes while in the meantime thunder and lightning seemed to be called down on them. I just could not buy it.

I also found the main characters a bit thin, but no doubt they may develop later in the series. I guess I'll never know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not in the same league as Cornwell and Scarrow, 28 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Roman (The Praetorian Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Okay if you are into weapons and time travel this may be for you but for my taste I'll stick to the likes of Cornwell and Scarrow with their historic page turners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars unbelievable !, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Roman (The Praetorian Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I thought this book was about the praetorians ! instead it is a totally unbelievable fantasy, with a large amount of tech. info. for weapons enthusiasts! not my style at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Escapist Entertainment, 5 April 2013
This review is from: The Last Roman (The Praetorian Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book is an entertaining time travel adventure. Guns, swat teams, terrorists and...ancient Romans (and that definitely wasn't part of the plan.) Its fast and easy writing style had me finishing it in three days. I particularly liked the interaction between the characters. If you're looking for deep meaningful revelations or existential angst, don't bother. This book isn't pretentious or self important. You will need an attention span of more than 10 minutes though.

One minute you're hunting down terrorists in Syria, next minute you're in ancient Rome face to face with Caligula. Love it.

It's good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars idealogical christian fundamentalist super soldiers for god kill muslims, zap back in time, rewrite history and massacre romans, 18 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Roman (The Praetorian Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The headliner pretty much tells it as it is. Possibly THE WORST book i have ever read. Don't know if i should be worried about the fact people are happy to accept a story in which the "Heros" are on a crusade" ( ffs! ) sanctioned by the pope, to wipe out the naughty muslim menace and rewrite history to make the world a safer place for all us god fearing christians. If this was written by a muslim from an Islamic perspective, no doubt there would be cries of racism and inciting terrorism coming in from left right and centre.
Apart from the fact the characters are all pretty much clichéd and two dimensional, the science used to explain the sudden shift in time and space is shonky at best and quickly brushed under the carpet to be forgotten. The battles are one sided and lack excitement. Apart from being the motivation for a journey back in time to rewrite history the religious aspect did nothing to serve the plot or the characters other than make them sound like nut jobs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 22 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Roman (The Praetorian Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book, it is fantasy based on fact. The characters are believable and it is packed with action. World war 3 has begun and Crichton has made the reason for it believable in fact it could happen just as he writes it. His knowledge of both Roman battle tactics and history is good and he puts it over in a good way without making it long drawn out and boating. Who hasn't wondered what history could be like with the addition of modern equipment and weapons when battles were fought by thousands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars great ideas and imagination, 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Roman (The Praetorian Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
this book started off very well ... great ideas and imagination,nice characters nice back ground.

then once the black ops team arrived in historical Rome , the story falls to peices ..total rubbish ..i gave up 50% threw as Mr Crichton knows nothing about human beings. .. the actions of both the Romans and the Black Ops team where beyond riddiculas

shame ... advise for Mr Crichton ..you could be a great writer , you need a writing partner who understands humanity and human phycology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews