Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The full range of emotions
A gorgeous voice with great range. She sings from the heart of her joys and griefs. Don't be put off by the fact that it is not sung in English ; you will still understand it if you have any soul!
Published 19 months ago by Mrs. J. Holman

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
My collection of about 90 Fado Cds also contains all Ana Moura's previous albums and I greatly cherish them and was looking forward to this new release.
All I can say is that it was a great disappointment. This is not Fado ! It is an ill-fated attempt to 'jazzify' Fado. Ok, every musician will explore new ways in their career; as history shows often with negative...
Published 14 months ago by portulobo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The full range of emotions, 26 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desfado (Audio CD)
A gorgeous voice with great range. She sings from the heart of her joys and griefs. Don't be put off by the fact that it is not sung in English ; you will still understand it if you have any soul!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb., 28 April 2013
By 
D. A. Cannon "dodo" (west cumbria UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desfado (Audio CD)
I saw Ana on the Jools Holland show that week. What a voice.
I ordered the CD right away.
She has a beautiful voice, I especially like her cover of the Joni Mitchell track.
I shall be collecting more of her albums I feel!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desfado (Audio CD)
This is a great album. Ana Moura has a fantastic voice, the songs are lovely and the band play beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful voice , beautiful songs, 8 Jan 2014
By 
M. A. Hewings "Kentish Marmite" (Solihull UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desfado (Audio CD)
Having seen her on Jools Holland, and listened to her on Woman's Hour, I was very keen to get the album and have not been disappointed.in fact have grown to love it. Ana is a delightful singer and I look forward to hearing more from her in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab Fado, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desfado (MP3 Download)
This is wonderful Fado for both regular Fado fans and those new to this genre. Ana has perfected her craft and provides great lyrical singing with exquisite backing in the best traditions of Fado.......but with a nod towards more international tastes. A really great album with no weak tracks.

Ana is on top of her game..... buy it

Andrew Jones -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ana Moura a star in the making Desfado fantastic., 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desfado (MP3 Download)
Its Fado taken into the 21st century. Great album. She is going to be a great international star. Very impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All great songs, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desfado (Audio CD)
Ana Moura has put an incredible set of great songs in this CD. I like every single one.
Besides fado, of course, Ana has some covers that surprised me specially. "A case of you" is one favourite, where the portuguese guitar suits perfectly the nostalgic mood of this beautiful song. Before this version I liked only the version from the incredible Diana Krall... Well done Ana!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ana Moura, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desfado (Audio CD)
As I am a fan of Portugal and their music, I was quite pleased with this CD. after having heard it in Portugal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 11 Aug 2013
By 
W. L. J. Laar "Willem" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desfado (Audio CD)
Visited her concert in Eindhoven to meet the new Ana. I like her jazzy style and her English songs. I'll be in the music hall next time when she's here again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect summer album, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desfado (Audio CD)
Sometimes I get a bit fed up with music. I keep thinking I've heard it all, there's nothing new, nothing to inspire. And then... along comes an album like this one. What a voice - deep, sinewy, twisting and turning - Moura's accent, her phrasing and timing are absolutely fantastic, bringing to mind Billy Holiday, only more sensual - Portuguese is such an expressive language. Here, surely, is an artist performing at the top of her game.
The majority of songs are superb, there is variety within it's mainly sombre tone, and the musicianship of the band members and the production is also first class.
I've been playing it non stop for the last few weeks and even trying to learn some of the words so I can sing along!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Desfado
Desfado by Ana Moura
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews