Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars9
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Price:£9.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Seven classic Albums,digitally remastered.on 4 CDs encased in a double wide jewel case for the price of One Cd or less makes this an attractive purchase
BUT when recommended this set by Amazon I found that there was no idication of which classic albums were included nor the track listing.

The digitally enhanced sound is a good indicator but for a proper review I really suggest you read other, more knowlegeble peoples reviews.

This should be of help to those who want to know which classic albums are included and the all important 'split over the 4 CDs.

The set includes the albums
"New York, N.Y. (1959)",
"Jazz In The Space Age (1960)",
"Stratusphunk (1960)",
"George Russell Sextet In K.C. (1961)",
"Ezz-Thetics (1961)",
"The Stratus Seekers (1962)" and
"The Outer View (1962)".

Track List:
[Disc 1]
New York, N.Y.
1. Manhatten
2. Big City Blues
3. Manhatten-Rico
4. East Side Medley - Autumn In New York/Ho...
5. A Helluva Town
Jazz In The Space Age
6. Chromatic Universe, Part 1
7. Dimensions
8. Chromatic Universe, Part 2
9. The Lydiot

[Disc 2]
Jazz In The Space Age (Cont.)
1. Waltz From Outer Space
2. Chromatic Universe, Part 3
3. Stratusphunk
4. New Donna
5. Bent Eagle
6. Kentucky Oysters
7. Lambskins
8. Thing's New
George Russell Sextet In K.C.
9. War Gewessen
10. Rhymes
11. Lunacy

[Disc 3]
George Russell Sextet In K.C. (Cont.)
1. Sandu
2. Tune Up
3. Theme
4. Ezz-Thetics
5. Nardis
6. Lydiot
7. Thoughts
8. Honesty
9. 'round Midnight
The Stratus Seekers
10. Pan-Daddy
11. The Stratus Seekers

[Disc 4]
The Stratus Seekers (Cont.)
1. Kige's Tune
2. Blues In Orbit
3. A Lonely Place
4. Stereophrenic
The Outer View
5. Au Privave
6. Zig-Zag
7. The Outer View
8. You Are My Sunshine
9. D.C. Divertimento
10. Glenn's Blues Baby!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
The set includes the albums "New York, N.Y." (1959), "Jazz In The Space Age" (1960), "Stratusphunk" (1960), "George Russell Sextet In K.C." (1961), "Ezz-Thetics" (1961), "The Stratus Seekers" (1962) and "The Outer View" (1962). These are run over the 4 CDs to fit the space so you don't get each whole LP in one go - but then you'd turn the vinyl over, right?
To say I was sceptical about this CD series is an understatement - these 'Classic Albums' sets must be cheap for a reason - they aren't on original or related labels. Put "Real Gone Jazz" into an Amazon search and you get 355 results (OK some are spurious but that's Amazon for you). That's a lot of jazz and from a lot of labels - clearly these 'bargain' sets on a hitherto unknown label must have another source - presumably ripping early out of copyright sources, who knows, hence all the lack of information complained of in reviews. It's reminiscent of blues LPs issued on an Italian 'Deja Vu' label years back. The cover gives a web address but this appears completely spurious; the label appears untraceable.
Sound quality issues hover like flies round the series, but are only fleetingly referred to in reviews. Quality is likely to vary with the source of the recordings used. So what about this one?
I didn't know the music on this set which is why I bought it - I have the George Russell Living Time Orchestra London concert from 1989 which is stunning - so it was to find out where he came from. At £5 why not? It's maybe like riding a bike - anything will do to learn on, then get yourself a good one.
Information given is basic - track list, timings, and personnel (on a per LP basis). Basic research shows the tracks are as per the original LP whereas currently available reissues of the same albums have the obligatory extra tracks, outtakes and so on. The cover states "digitally remastered and enhanced for superior quality" ... OK everything these days is digitally remastered (not necessarily a good thing), but "enhanced"?? what? why?
As to the sound - well it's pretty good; difficult to say if I would have questioned it at all if I hadn't have been suspicious to start with. It's in stereo - which can be too easily assumed - but it doesn't say so; while the stereo does not sound a product of "enhancement" who knows with technology these days?.
Oh yes the music... well it's obviously jazz of it's time, but it's all good with some well known players and the excellent arrangements you'd expect from George Russell; initially at least, 'Ezz-Thetics' is the obvious stand out classic - but it's a lot of music to take in.
33 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
The late-1950s/early-1960s period is my favourite in jazz; yes folks I was there! It is a period well-served by this company cleverly named Real Gone Jazz. Another customer has kindly provided a tracklist of the seven albums. The first two have comparatively large ensembles and the remaining five are sextet/septet. The EZZ-THETICS album may be the pick of the bunch - it features Eric Dolphy. The box set's booklet lists the personnel on each album. Overall the sound quality lacks a little bit of resonance but is strong and clear enough.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
a perfekt collection of a man with his own way of musical thinking. displayed in small and large ensembles. both sides has their charm, the small groups with a young don ellis on trumpet,w0w! and david baker on trombone, what if he hadn't played with a displased jaw giving hin so much trouble that he had to give up his playing career.the big band sides is in a sense more easily to understand. but still fantastic music so very nice to get it all in one volume
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
Brilliant unique jazz. AMAZING value which I would recommend to any George Russell fans. I particularly want to mention the audio quality as other reviews very nearly put me off buying these outstanding CDs by implying poor audio quality. On my £5000 system (2005 prices) Exposure CD & Amp + Castle speakers, the audio quality is above average for recordings of this period. Enjoy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
I can only hope for more of this type of collection to fill the sporadic gaps in George Russell's discography. Pity there are no alternative takes, but I'm greedy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
this cd is excellent like the 4 disc box set would recommend this classic cd box set to any jazz fan
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
The product I received was awful. It bore no resemblance to what was on the box trax were incorrectly ordered and the sound was terrible. Take great care with these Classical album packages the post production packaging is notalways reliable. I've returned two already. I'm sure the music would be great if they sent me a proper copy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
Excellent value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)