Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Which Albums are on the Set and a Track Listing- Jazz In The Space Age
Seven classic Albums,digitally remastered.on 4 CDs encased in a double wide jewel case for the price of One Cd or less makes this an attractive purchase
BUT when recommended this set by Amazon I found that there was no idication of which classic albums were included nor the track listing.

The digitally enhanced sound is a good indicator but for a proper...
Published 22 months ago by Glenn Cook

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rip Off
The product I received was awful. It bore no resemblance to what was on the box trax were incorrectly ordered and the sound was terrible. Take great care with these Classical album packages the post production packaging is notalways reliable. I've returned two already. I'm sure the music would be great if they sent me a proper copy.
Published 7 months ago by Disillusioned Dave


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Which Albums are on the Set and a Track Listing- Jazz In The Space Age, 19 Feb 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seven Classic Albums [Audio CD] George Russell (Audio CD)
Seven classic Albums,digitally remastered.on 4 CDs encased in a double wide jewel case for the price of One Cd or less makes this an attractive purchase
BUT when recommended this set by Amazon I found that there was no idication of which classic albums were included nor the track listing.

The digitally enhanced sound is a good indicator but for a proper review I really suggest you read other, more knowlegeble peoples reviews.

This should be of help to those who want to know which classic albums are included and the all important 'split over the 4 CDs.

The set includes the albums
"New York, N.Y. (1959)",
"Jazz In The Space Age (1960)",
"Stratusphunk (1960)",
"George Russell Sextet In K.C. (1961)",
"Ezz-Thetics (1961)",
"The Stratus Seekers (1962)" and
"The Outer View (1962)".

Track List:
[Disc 1]
New York, N.Y.
1. Manhatten
2. Big City Blues
3. Manhatten-Rico
4. East Side Medley - Autumn In New York/Ho...
5. A Helluva Town
Jazz In The Space Age
6. Chromatic Universe, Part 1
7. Dimensions
8. Chromatic Universe, Part 2
9. The Lydiot

[Disc 2]
Jazz In The Space Age (Cont.)
1. Waltz From Outer Space
2. Chromatic Universe, Part 3
Stratusphunk
3. Stratusphunk
4. New Donna
5. Bent Eagle
6. Kentucky Oysters
7. Lambskins
8. Thing's New
George Russell Sextet In K.C.
9. War Gewessen
10. Rhymes
11. Lunacy

[Disc 3]
George Russell Sextet In K.C. (Cont.)
1. Sandu
2. Tune Up
3. Theme
Ezz-Thetics
4. Ezz-Thetics
5. Nardis
6. Lydiot
7. Thoughts
8. Honesty
9. 'round Midnight
The Stratus Seekers
10. Pan-Daddy
11. The Stratus Seekers

[Disc 4]
The Stratus Seekers (Cont.)
1. Kige's Tune
2. Blues In Orbit
3. A Lonely Place
4. Stereophrenic
The Outer View
5. Au Privave
6. Zig-Zag
7. The Outer View
8. You Are My Sunshine
9. D.C. Divertimento
10. Glenn's Blues Baby!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rip Off, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Classic Albums [Audio CD] George Russell (Audio CD)
The product I received was awful. It bore no resemblance to what was on the box trax were incorrectly ordered and the sound was terrible. Take great care with these Classical album packages the post production packaging is notalways reliable. I've returned two already. I'm sure the music would be great if they sent me a proper copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too good to be true?, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Classic Albums [Audio CD] George Russell (Audio CD)
The set includes the albums "New York, N.Y." (1959), "Jazz In The Space Age" (1960), "Stratusphunk" (1960), "George Russell Sextet In K.C." (1961), "Ezz-Thetics" (1961), "The Stratus Seekers" (1962) and "The Outer View" (1962). These are run over the 4 CDs to fit the space so you don't get each whole LP in one go - but then you'd turn the vinyl over, right?
To say I was sceptical about this CD series is an understatement - these 'Classic Albums' sets must be cheap for a reason - they aren't on original or related labels. Put "Real Gone Jazz" into an Amazon search and you get 355 results (OK some are spurious but that's Amazon for you). That's a lot of jazz and from a lot of labels - clearly these 'bargain' sets on a hitherto unknown label must have another source - presumably ripping early out of copyright sources, who knows, hence all the lack of information complained of in reviews. It's reminiscent of blues LPs issued on an Italian 'Deja Vu' label years back. The cover gives a web address but this appears completely spurious; the label appears untraceable.
Sound quality issues hover like flies round the series, but are only fleetingly referred to in reviews. Quality is likely to vary with the source of the recordings used. So what about this one?
I didn't know the music on this set which is why I bought it - I have the George Russell Living Time Orchestra London concert from 1989 which is stunning - so it was to find out where he came from. At £5 why not? It's maybe like riding a bike - anything will do to learn on, then get yourself a good one.
Information given is basic - track list, timings, and personnel (on a per LP basis). Basic research shows the tracks are as per the original LP whereas currently available reissues of the same albums have the obligatory extra tracks, outtakes and so on. The cover states "digitally remastered and enhanced for superior quality" ... OK everything these days is digitally remastered (not necessarily a good thing), but "enhanced"?? what? why?
As to the sound - well it's pretty good; difficult to say if I would have questioned it at all if I hadn't have been suspicious to start with. It's in stereo - which can be too easily assumed - but it doesn't say so; while the stereo does not sound a product of "enhancement" who knows with technology these days?.
Oh yes the music... well it's obviously jazz of it's time, but it's all good with some well known players and the excellent arrangements you'd expect from George Russell; initially at least, 'Ezz-Thetics' is the obvious stand out classic - but it's a lot of music to take in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars George Russell - Seven Classic Albums, 28 Feb 2013
By 
Colin Jones (Rhyl, North Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Classic Albums [Audio CD] George Russell (Audio CD)
The late-1950s/early-1960s period is my favourite in jazz; yes folks I was there! It is a period well-served by this company cleverly named Real Gone Jazz. Another customer has kindly provided a tracklist of the seven albums. The first two have comparatively large ensembles and the remaining five are sextet/septet. The EZZ-THETICS album may be the pick of the bunch - it features Eric Dolphy. The box set's booklet lists the personnel on each album. Overall the sound quality lacks a little bit of resonance but is strong and clear enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a uniq koncept, 9 April 2013
By 
Nilsson Stefan "trumpet no end" (arbrå sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Classic Albums [Audio CD] George Russell (Audio CD)
a perfekt collection of a man with his own way of musical thinking. displayed in small and large ensembles. both sides has their charm, the small groups with a young don ellis on trumpet,w0w! and david baker on trombone, what if he hadn't played with a displased jaw giving hin so much trouble that he had to give up his playing career.the big band sides is in a sense more easily to understand. but still fantastic music so very nice to get it all in one volume
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Classic Albums [Audio CD] George Russell (Audio CD)
this cd is excellent like the 4 disc box set would recommend this classic cd box set to any jazz fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must for devotees, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Classic Albums [Audio CD] George Russell (Audio CD)
I can only hope for more of this type of collection to fill the sporadic gaps in George Russell's discography. Pity there are no alternative takes, but I'm greedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Classic Albums [Audio CD] George Russell (Audio CD)
Excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seven Classic Albums [CD] George Russell, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Classic Albums [Audio CD] George Russell (Audio CD)
Brilliant unique jazz. AMAZING value which I would recommend to any George Russell fans. I particularly want to mention the audio quality as other reviews very nearly put me off buying these outstanding CDs by implying poor audio quality. On my £5000 system (2005 prices) Exposure CD & Amp + Castle speakers, the audio quality is above average for recordings of this period. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seven Classic Albums [Audio CD] George Russell
Seven Classic Albums [Audio CD] George Russell by George Russell (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews