Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Cool
I bought this as I'd heard Konitz's work with Gerry Mulligan, and admired his crystal-clear tone, and his beautiful way with a phrase. Happily, it turned out to be a very wise move. Most of the cds here run close to the 70 minute mark, so you currently get lots of fine, cool jazz for only £5 (Amazon prices appear quite volatile, so well worth grabbing while it's around...
Published 23 months ago by Sentinel

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars worth the outlay
interesting, but does not reach the imaginative or experimental heights of sessions with lennie tristano, george russell, bill evans, etc
Published 23 months ago by w p west


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Cool, 2 April 2013
By 
Sentinel (Essex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Classic Albums (Audio CD)
I bought this as I'd heard Konitz's work with Gerry Mulligan, and admired his crystal-clear tone, and his beautiful way with a phrase. Happily, it turned out to be a very wise move. Most of the cds here run close to the 70 minute mark, so you currently get lots of fine, cool jazz for only £5 (Amazon prices appear quite volatile, so well worth grabbing while it's around this real bargain price).

The period runs from '54-'61, and gives a fascinating insight into Konitz's work over this period; though he remains a master of 'cool' jazz, his later work does reflect some 'bop' influences. The recording/sound quality also varies considerably. His first album in this collection has a rather muddy sound, with Ronnie Ball's piano and Jeff Morton's drums well back in the mix, though the predominance of Peter Ind's bass and Konitz's alto sax is a delicious duet (I began to smile within the first few chords of the opener 'Easy Livin'). Ironically, the live set at Storyville has a better balanced sound, and the various announcements by John McLelland, the MC, is a fascinating nugget of the bands playing there at the time.

Konitz duets properly with Warne Marsh on the next album (introducing Billy Bauer on guitar for the first time), with 'Donna Lee' one of the outstanding tracks. Inside Hi-Fi sees Konitz begin to replace piano with guitar, and this accentuates the beauty of his tone, a move completed on 'Tranquillity', where guitar is the 'colour' instrument in the quartet. This gives the album a gossamer lightness which underpins the sheer beauty of the restrained melodic lines here. Simply lovely.

This fine collection ends with the impressive 'Very Cool', with the gorgeous opener 'Sunflower' reflecting the very high standard to be found throughout this album. The set concludes with 'Motion' from 1961, an album rated as 'essential' by both the Gramophone and Penguin Jazz Guides. By this time Konitz has left the short track lengths of his first album, and is stretching out to 8-10 minutes at a time. If you enjoy cool jazz, and a beautifully restrained approach with a crystal tone which shimmers and sparkles, this bargain collection is one to go for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Seven Albums Plus the Track Listing--Crazy She Calls Me?, 20 Feb. 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seven Classic Albums (Audio CD)
Seven Classic Albums , 53 Tracks on a four CD set and for the price of just 1 CD makes this a real bargain.

The digitally enhanced sound is a good indicator of quality but, for a proper review, I really suggest you read other, more knowledgeable person's review.
The collection is on 4 CDs encased in a double wide jewel case. .
BUT when recommended this set by Amazon I found that there was no indication of which classic albums were included nor the track listing.
The Seven Classic Albums are
"Konitz (1954)",
"Jazz At Storyville (1954)",
"Lee Konitz With Wayne Marsh (1954)",
"Inside Hi-Fi (1956)",# "Tranquility (1957)",
"Very Col (1958)" and
"Motion (1961)".

Track List:
[Disc 1]
Konitz
1. Easy Livin'
2. Nursery Rhyme
3. Limehouse Blues
4. I'll Remember April
5. Skylark
6. Mean To Me
7. 317 East 32nd
8. Bop Goes The Leesel
Jazz At Storyville
9. Introduction By John McLelland
10. Hi Beck
11. If I Had You
12. Sunconscious Lee
13. Sound Lee
14. Foolin' Myself
15. Introduction By John McLelland
16. Ablution
17. These Foolish Things
18. End Announcement By John McLelland

[Disc 2]
Lee Konitz With Wayne Marsh
1. Topsy
2. There Will Never Be Another You
3. I Can't Get Started
4. Donna Lee
5. Two Not One
6. Don't Squawk
7. Ronnie's Line
8. Background Music
Inside Hi-Fi
9. Kary's Trance
10. Everything Happens To Me
11. Sweet And Lovely
12. Cork 'n' Bib
13. All Of Me
14. Star Eyes

[Disc 3]
Inside Hi-Fi (Cont.)
1. Nesuhi's Instant
2. Indiana
Tranquility
3. Stephanie
4. Memories Of You
5. People Will Say We're In Love
6. When You're Smiling
7. Sunday
8. Lennie Bird
9. The Nearness Of You
10. Jonquil
Very Cool
11. Sunflower
12. Stairway To The Stars
13. Movin' Around

[Disc 4]
Very Cool (Cont.)
1. Kary's Trance
2. Crazy She Calls Me
3. Billie's Bounce
Motion
4. I Remember You
5. All Of Me
6. Foolin' Myself
7. You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To
8. I'll Remember April
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic jazz., 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Classic Albums (Audio CD)
this is great value for the money, lots of Konitz & Marsh in there, a must have.ok ok ok. pete the leg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy education, 28 Mar. 2013
By 
A. C. Warner "Tony Warner" (Norwich, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Classic Albums (Audio CD)
Only heard the odd Konitz track before now but quite a fan now. Close to one of my other favourites, Art Pepper with a similar gentle tone. Not one for hard core bepop fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb value, 26 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Classic Albums (Audio CD)
Classic jazz tracks from the 50s. Sound quality from adequate to good,Lee Konitz represents the best of the cool sound, lyrical and flowing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 Dec. 2014
By 
Barclays Global Investors Lawson "Rebus Reader" (St Andrews United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Classic Albums (Audio CD)
Really enjoyed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars worth the outlay, 22 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Classic Albums (Audio CD)
interesting, but does not reach the imaginative or experimental heights of sessions with lennie tristano, george russell, bill evans, etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seven Classic Albums
Seven Classic Albums by Lee Konitz (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews