Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Attitude Era
The Attitude Era is WWE's first comprehensive effort to address that glory period of then-WWF wrestling from 1997-2000 outside of the occasional clip in an anniversary product or superstar-specific collection. It comprises an hour-long documentary and just under six hours of promos, interviews and matches from those years (with another 70 minutes' worth on the Blu-ray...
Published 19 months ago by Paul McNamee

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
I was immediatly excited when i first saw this product, being a fan of this era, but unfortunately after watching it was mildly dissapointed. Considering the length of this dvd i was expecting the feature to be a blast from the past, however it only went on for an hour and didnt show much action, it was more of a documentary. The rest of the dvd is extras, which i am...
Published 12 months ago by Nic Freeth


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Attitude Era, 23 Jan 2013
By 
Paul McNamee "Rambleast Reviews" (North Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: WWE: The Attitude Era [DVD] (DVD)
The Attitude Era is WWE's first comprehensive effort to address that glory period of then-WWF wrestling from 1997-2000 outside of the occasional clip in an anniversary product or superstar-specific collection. It comprises an hour-long documentary and just under six hours of promos, interviews and matches from those years (with another 70 minutes' worth on the Blu-ray edition), and ticks just about every box for things you could hope to find, from hardcore championship bouts to career-launching promos and beyond.

Given the wealth of archive footage presented, it's not really fair to say the documentary on Disc 1 is the main feature. If anything, IT is the extra, providing some level of context to the hours of matches and whathaveyou presented elsewhere. Still, it's a fitting and suitable testament to the many highs (and grudgingly accepted lows) of the period that appeared to change pro wrestling forever. I say `appeared' because the state of WWE's product now is further away from the ideals of the Attitude Era than we could have predicted, even as recently as 4-5 years after it ended. Still, during '97-'00 at least, it showed no signs of stopping, and welcomed an older audience with profanity, crudity, sexuality and violence. This was the time that I got into wrestling, and looking back over the whole period over Christmas it holds up pretty well, but it is doubtless romanticized by fans unhappy with modern output, and some of the documentary's interviewees are quick to point out that for every genius idea like Hell In A Cell there was a dud like Brawl For All, and Road Dogg is adamant that despite his participation (and proliferation) way back when, there's no way he'd let his kids watch it now. An hour may seem a little slight, and I'd definitely had welcomed more comments, but it's best to let the footage speak for itself, and that's where the set really shines.

It's great to see so many of what could fairly be called forgotten wrestlers so comprehensively acknowledged. Steve Blackman, Val Venis, D'Lo Brown, Crash Holly and their brothers and sisters in grappling formed a large part of my enjoyment of the show, and that WWE could easily have filled this set - and I do mean filled it - with footage of Austin, The Rock, Triple H, Undertaker and others and instead levelled the playing field to include the lower- and mid-card is really appreciated. That said, you'll still get your share of the big dogs.

Another great facet of this set is the choice of footage in the extras. Owing to WWE's commitment to library material, an awful lot of the most famous moments in Raw history are already available on disc, even moreso here in the UK thanks to Silvervision's Tagged Classics program which has kept every PPV from this period in print as well as several Best Of Raw sets not available so easily in the US. Thankfully, a great deal of the extras are from Raw and Smackdown and don't overlap with previous releases. These range from classic matches, or at least matches that typify the Attitude Era, to promos and the general idiosyncrasy of the performers. Boss Man fans will be glad to know his poem about Big Show's recently deceased father is presented intact. Ex-WWE performers haven't been slighted either, so don't worry about Kurt Angle, Chyna or even...sigh...Jeff Jarrett being excised for their sins: all are present and accounted for.

One thing I'm sure a lot of potential buyers are worried about is the blurring of the WWF 'scratch' logo and censorship of any mentions by wrestlers or commentators of that name due to the WWF/WWF lawsuit from a decade ago. Though I know nothing about the specifics, those restrictions no longer apply to WWE's output, so there is not one instance of the logo or the name blurred or bleeped throughout the entire set, thankfully. Another concern I'm sure some have is over the level of adult content, given the nature of WWE's current PG output. Never worry - the smut and violence is presented unaltered (so no black-and-white for instances of bleeding), but maybe keep this one away from your kids, hmm?

In all, if you've been waiting for a set like this for years instead of going out and buying all the PPVs from the Attitude Era, you'll not be disappointed, and even if you have, the TV-exclusive extras, documentary and overall presentation (I mean, WHAT a cover...) should justify a purchase anyway. It's one of the best WWE sets in a long time for this sort of material, and coming after the great documentaries from that past two years continues their roll with home video output. The simple lesson being imparted here is if they give us what we want, we will buy it and they will make more. A final note: the set, on either DVD or Blu-Ray, is cheapest if bought direct from the manufacturer, Freemantle Media, who like Silvervision before them are offering free UK delivery and pre-release date shipping. Just a thought.

********************EXTRAS********************

In an effort to keep the page as short as possible, I've not put these in a vertical list. If it helps make it any easier, each clip is separated by a semi-colon: hyphens only separate match-type and participants. Note that all extras are in standard definition.

Disc 1: Jim Ross Interviews Goldust & Marlena; Steve Austin Throws the Intercontinental Championship Off A Bridge; Soldier of Love; Mr. McMahon Presents Mankind with The WWF Hardcore Championship; Jim Ross Interviews Triple H; An Evening at the Friendly Tap; Mae Young and the Acolyte Protection Agency; "The Jug Band"; Triple H Trains Trish Stratus; Edge's Totally Awesome Birthday; The Rock's Message to his Hell in a Cell Opponents; GTV

Disc 2: Mike Tyson Joins DX; A New Beginning for D-Generation X; Sable vs. "Marvelous" Marc Mero; Nation of De-generation; Brawl For All Match - Bart Gunn vs. "Dr. Death" Steve Williams; Four Corners Match for the WWF Tag Team Championship - The Undertaker & Stone Cold Steve Austin vs. Kane & Mankind vs. The New Age Outlaws vs. The Rock & Owen Hart; Lion's Den Match - Ken Shamrock vs. Owen Hart; Finals of WWF Championship Tournament - The Rock vs. Mankind; The Rock & The Undertaker vs. Mankind & Stone Cold Steve Austin; Austin Gives the Corporation a Beer Bath; WWF Championship Match - Undertaker vs. Stone Cold Steve Austin; The Debut of Y2J

Disc 3: European & Intercontinental Championship Match - D'Lo Brown vs. Jeff Jarrett; Buried Alive Match for the WWF Tag Team Championship -The Rock & Mankind vs. Undertaker & Big Show; Stone Cold Steve Austin & Jim Ross vs. Triple H & Chyna; Boss Man's Sympathy for Big Show's Dad; The Wedding of Stephanie McMahon & Andrew "Test" Martin; The Godfather & D'Lo Brown vs. Too Cool; WWF Hardcore Championship Match - Hardcore Holly vs. Crash Holly; WWF European Championship Match - Chris Jericho vs. Eddie Guerrero; Steel Cage Match for the WWF Intercontinental Championship - Rikishi vs. Val Venis; Tables, Ladders & Chairs Match for the World Tag Team Championship - Edge & Christian vs. The Hardy Boyz vs. The Dudley Boyz; Hell in a Cell Match for the WWF Championship - Kurt Angle vs. Stone Cold Steve Austin vs. The Rock vs. Undertaker vs. Triple H vs. Rikishi

If you buy the Blu-Ray, you'll also get the following exclusive extras:

King of Kings Match - Ken Shamrock vs. Triple H vs. Owen Hart; The Oddities w/ Insane Clown Posse vs. The Headbangers; The Truth About Sammy; The Unholy Union of Stephanie McMahon & The Undertaker; No Disqualification Match - The Rock vs. Val Venis; Survivor Series Elimination Match - Stone Cold Steve Austin, The Rock, Kane & Shane McMahon vs. Triple H, X-Pac & The New Age Outlaws; WWF Hardcore Championship Match; Al Snow vs. Crash Holly; The Hardy Boyz & Lita vs. Perry Saturn, Eddie Guerrero & Dean Malenko; Chris Jericho & The Dudley Boyz vs. Kurt Angle, Edge & Christian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was immediatly excited when i first saw this product, being a fan of this era, but unfortunately after watching it was mildly dissapointed. Considering the length of this dvd i was expecting the feature to be a blast from the past, however it only went on for an hour and didnt show much action, it was more of a documentary. The rest of the dvd is extras, which i am happy to say did have a lot of good moments and matches with all the old favourites. Probably looks just as good on regular dvd. Maybe one just for old school fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attitude era, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE: The Attitude Era [DVD] (DVD)
DISC 1

Documentary:

The Birth of Attitude

Entrance Music

D-Generation X

Austin vs. McMahon

Long-Arching Stories

Innovations

New Demographic

Critics

Expansion

Comedy

Wealth of Talent

The World Was Watching

Watershed Period
Jim Ross interviews Goldust & Marlena
Raw - Nov 3, 1997

Steve Austin Throws the InterContinental Championship Off A Bridge
Raw - Dec 15, 1997

Soldier of Love
Raw - May 4, 1998

Mr McMahon Presents Mankind with the WWE Hardcore Championship
Raw - Nov 2, 1998

Jim Ross Interviews Triple H
Sunday Night Heat - July 25, 1999

An Evening At The Friendly Tap
SmackDown! - Jan 20, 2000

Mae Young and the Acolyte Protection Agency
SmackDown! - Jan 27, 2000

"The Jug Band"
Judgment Day 2000

Triple H Trains Trish Stratus
SmackDown! - July 27, 2000

Edges Totally Awesome Birthday
Raw - Oct 30, 2000

The Rocks Message to His Hell in a Cell Opponents
Raw - Dec 4, 2000

GTV

DISC 2

Mike Tyson Joins DX
Raw - Mar 2, 1998

A New Beginning For D-Generation X
Raw - March 30, 1998

Sable vs. "Marvelous" Marc Mero
Raw - May 11, 1998

Nation of Degeneration
Raw - July 6, 1998

Brawl for All Match
Bart Gunn vs. "Dr Death" Steve Williams
Raw - July 27, 1998

Four Corners Match for the WWE Tag Team Championship
The Undertaker & Stone Cold Steve Austin vs. Kane & Mankind vs. The New Age Outlaws vs. The Rock & Owen Hart
Raw - Aug 10, 1998

Lions Den Match
Ken Shamrock vs. Owen Hart
SummerSlam 1998

Finals of WWE Championship Tournament
The Rock vs. Mankind
Survivor Series 1998

The Rock & The Undertaker vs. Mankind & Stone Cold Steve Austin
Raw - Dec 7, 1998

Austin Gives The Corporation A Beer Bath
Raw - March 22, 1999

The Undertaker vs. Stone Cold Steve Austin
Raw - June 28, 1999

The Debut of Y2J
Raw - Aug 9, 1999

DISC 3

Content still to be confirmed.

Special Features

(Expected Best Buy Exclusive)

GTV - Al Snow & Head

Mae Young Gives Birth
Raw - Feb 28, 2000

WWE Womens Championship Match
Lita vs. Stephanie McMahon-Helmsley
Raw - June 12, 2000

The Dudley Boyz vs. The Hardy Boyz
Raw - July 17, 2000

BLU-RAY EXCLUSIVES

King of Kings Match
Ken Shamrock vs. Triple H vs. Owen Hart
Raw - June 29, 1998

The Oddities w/ Insane Clown Posse vs. The Headbangers
Raw - Sept 28, 1998

The Truth About Sammy
Raw - Jan 18, 1999

The Unholy Union of Stephanie McMahon & The Undertaker
Raw - April 26, 1999

The Rock vs. Val Venis
SmackDown - Oct 7, 1999

Survivor Series Elimination Match
Stone Cold Steve Austin, The Rock, Kane & Shane McMahon vs. Triple H, X-Pac & The New Age Outlaws
SmackDown - Nov 4, 1999

WWE Hardcore Championship Match
Al Snow vs. Crash Holly
SmackDown - June 29, 2000

The Hardy Boyz & Lita vs. Perry Saturn, Eddie Guerrero & Dean Malenko
SmackDown - Nov 30, 2000

Chris Jericho & The Dudley Boyz vs. Kurt Angle, Edge & Christian
Raw - Dec 25, 2000

I hope this is just 1 of a number of volumes coming out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wwe dvd, 24 Jun 2014
This review is from: WWE: The Attitude Era [DVD] (DVD)
Amazing dvd for any wwe lover. Great stars past and present and many many hours of entertainment. Very happy with this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, Not great, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a huge fan of the attiude era of WWE. Hence why i purchased this. However, this is a more a documentry of how and what made the attiude era great. There arent as many matches as i would of liked. Still, some great footage to bring back all the memories. Not worth the price though in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE: The Attitude Era [DVD] (DVD)
Awesome dvd brought back good memories back when wrestling was good all the classic moment austin/mc mahon fued was awesome!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation dvd, 28 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE: The Attitude Era [DVD] (DVD)
A present I bought for my boyfriend who was a huge wrestling fan in the 90s, he absolutely loved it, it had all the matches he wanted with his favorite wrestlers, I can't recommend this enough for classic wrestling fans :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE: The Attitude Era [DVD] (DVD)
Got this DVD for my brother who wwe in the head tested the disc and all of them worked and watch in it brought back some memories it's an awesome collection of great match from that era of wwe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is by far the best!, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE: The Attitude Era [DVD] (DVD)
This is THE best WWE DVD ever,it's got the complete low down from start to finish on the attitude era,full of extras but it's the main documentry on disk 1 that I myself brought it for and it didn't let me down. If your a WWE fan then this IS a must for you. The box art is great and should be shown in your collection proudly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A poor selection of matches, 1 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: WWE: The Attitude Era [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a huge smark, and thought this would be a great addition to my library. I was wrong. It's a poor 1 hour documentary, followed by 20 odd out of context scenes and matches with no introduction or scene setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WWE: The Attitude Era [DVD]
WWE: The Attitude Era [DVD] by Stone Cold Steve Austin (DVD - 2013)
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews