Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Instant cd collection, 3 April 2013
By 
K. C. Innes "Ken" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
I already have most of these albums on vinyl, but rarely play them due to them being stored in boxes (I have hundreds). I got what I expected, The reason I haven't given it 5 stars is that they didn't include Highway Song - Live, which, as often happens with live albums, captures them at their best with the atmosphere of a live show. Oh well, I'll just have to buy that one separately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really nice box set., 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
I had downloaded tracks from this band and had been looking for a box set for some time, well here it is and well worth the money, managed to see them a few years back, would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Wonderful set of CDs that includes all the best albums by this amazing band. A must have as intro to them or as a catch up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recovering the past!, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
The first 3 discs in this set are top quality heavy southern rock and with the live album (not included) make up four of the best non NWOBHM records of their time. Great voice, great guitar and I love the drums. CD 4 3 stars, too much Rainbow breaking America for me? still working my way into disc 5 but the weakest without a doubt. This is good time rock, nothing cerebral but great feel (except the Wishing Well cover - terrible!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars rise and steady fall, 2 Jun 2014
By 
Mark Jones (sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
For a time Blackfoot were a great band. I first saw them in october 80 supporting the Scorpions,two nights at sheffield city hall.They were promoting their unbeknown to me at the time fourth album Tomcattin. Rick 'Rattlesnake' Medlocke was a dynamic frontman who knew how to work a crowd, he also had an impassioned soulful delivery and the legend was that he'd only got one fully functioning lung.
The first three albums here build on their Southern heritage, all great listens but the third Marauder is the jewel in the crown. At the time they said that they had given it all to make the ultimate artistic statement and thats what it was, classic Southern Rock done in the Blackfoot style. soulful,passionate.bawdy,wistful and emotional it covers all bases.
After that where could they go, Marauder was a difficult act to follow. So they changed direction,recruiting estranged Uriah Heep mainstay Ken Hensley on keyboards they introduced an A.O.R feel into the mix. The raunch of the guitars was still there but this was a more commercial sound and after 30 plus years it doesn't sound to bad but after the emotional rollercoaster that was Marauder at the time i was slightly disapointed.
The final album in this set 'Vertical Smiles' [i cringed then and i still cringe now] saw them go even further down the A.O.R route. Guitarist Charlie Hargrett was gone and It got a panning in Kerrang from Xavier Russell. Opening with two covers,Bonnie Dobsons Morning Dew and Pete Ceteras Limelight, third track Get It On should have had Judas Priests lawyers on the phone sounding a little close to You've Got Another Thing Coming. After what had gone before it was a big disapointment and demonstrates how bands should stick to what they are good at and resist the temptation to tap into the mainstream.
If this set had contained Highway Songs Live instead of Vertical Smiles it would have been a bonafide 5 star job.
This is still a great value set and for anyone whos interested in such things all these albums have been remastered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Their first three albums are excellent, fourth album very good and fifth ok.
Considering the sound quality and value for money this package is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great albums!, 18 Jan 2014
By 
G. Malloy (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
I have the 1st and 3rd albums on vinyl and got back into Blackfoot after seeing them live about 2 years ago. This set is great value for money and highly recommended, the first 3 albums in particular, rock solid tunes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a bargain!, 17 April 2013
By 
Shrews_Tyke (Shrewsbury, Shropshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
I already had 3 of the 5 titles on vinyl but couldn't be bothered to convert them to mp3. When I saw these at the price I knew it was a bargain because I would have paid that much for just 2 of them so to get 5 for the same money was just too good to resist. The 2 CDs that I didn't have didn't disappoint either. More solid rock but progressed on from the first 3. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good time rawk `nroll, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Blackfoot one of musics mysteries fantastic music but ignored by most of music media (rock excepted). Box set great value for money containing first five studio albums-STRIKES/TOMCATTIN/MARAUDER/SIOGO & VERTICAL SMILES. First three albums fantastic southern boogie styled rock, the other two with added keyboards in abundance. Worth 5* for strikes, tomcattin & marauder alone, all the favourites are there (road fever ,train train, highway song, gimme gimme gimme, everyman should know, good morning, diary of workingman, dry county, rattlesnake rock n roller, etc). Buy and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Southern Rock never dies, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Great box! Hero's of the past. Specially the Marauder album.
I bought these box after I listen to my old vinyl albums after so many years.
It's still great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Album Series
Original Album Series by Blackfoot (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews