Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
42
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2013
I wasnt sure what to expect with sacrifice. Saxon certainly fire albums out thick and fast, even in the last few years theres almost been one each year. How many bands around do that?
My rediscovery of Saxon after being a fan in the 80 s was inner sanctum which was different for them but thoroughly enjoyable. They d done a late booking show at download 2008. Third stage tent/marquee. To my knowledge they hadnt done any notable shows in the uk for a good few years so lots of people crammed into the marquee and beyond to see them again. I got the feeling that they themselves didnt know what the reception would be like. Short set, played a mixture of new and old stuff.Went down very well and certainly one of the bands of the wkend for me and reviewers. God knows how many times ive seen them since, its lots ! So after that show I was a fan again and went straight out and bought the inner album. Followed by the labyrinth then call to arms as they were released. Both admirable efforts and well worth a buy.
Sacrifice: I d read reviews before release that it was heavier than normal for todays saxon and a blast back to their old selves in the 80 s. So finally got my copy yesterday and was blown away with the first listen. certainly harder, certainly heavier than recent albums. Theyve definately stepped up to the plate with this one. If it hadnt been for the reviews i probably wouldnt have bought it. I get bored with bands quite easy nowadays and admittedly hadnt played any of their stuff for a good while now. Theyre not young lads anymore but to be knocking material out like this after 20 studio albums and touring constantly... and doing awesome shows !!! that takes some doing. So sacrifice, Im not gonna boringly give song by song reviews as you ll make your own mind up. Best album by saxon for years without doubt. I cant recommend this album high enough. You know what to expect with saxon. Youre never gonna get thrash or hardcore. Its nwobhm as good as it gets. The only improvement could be perhaps a couple of extra tracks. 9 tracks in todays world is a little short, there is 10 but the first one is just an intro really. However they have reproduced a few old classics on cd2 which are good. Happy listening guys \m/
22 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
This 20th studio album from the guys pure 21st Century/classic Saxon.The awesome power of the band's songs I feel is never quite captured on a recording,they are always better live, but 'Sacrifice' comes pretty close.

You never know quite what to expect when you first put the CD in the player the expectation is always high and long awaited but you should have faith...They will not let you down.

The title track hits you between the eyes and should be a single with 'Stand Up And Fight' the follow up.

With several tribute songs to the Belfast shipbuilders of the Titanic,Formula 1,The Terracotta Army and even Sven Hassel(?) (Wheels of Terror).

I think someone must have upset Biff with 'Standing In A Queue'.!!

Great riffs and excellent guitar solo's from Paul and Doug.Thumping Bass as usual from Nibbs.Pulsating Drums from Nigel(The man who put Thunder into Heavy Metal.!!..thanks for the sticks.)and not forgetting Biff's exceptional vocals to the great new songs.

All in all this will be another classic album that you will play over and over again for many years to come.

The bonus CD is also another treasure...Orchestral'Crusader' in the Style of the excellent 'Call to Arms' reworking. Acoustic versions of 'Requiem'and 'Frozen Rainbow' and new recordings of 'Just Let Me Rock' and 'Forever Free'.

I can't wait for the 'Sacrifice' tour to kick off in the UK.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
Yet again Saxon have produced another superb release; nearly 10 years ago they really struck gold with Lionheart and since then four fantastic slabs of hard rock/heavy metal; well produced, outstanding musicianship, not forgetting Biffs distinctive voice, putting melody into the metal. This is excellent classic metal, not a bad track - favourite, Stand up and fight - least, not quite so favourite, Standing in a queue. Love the intro track leading into Sacrifice, although this is not new to the boys. Slight disappointment to the length of the album but it makes up with the quality. No offence but they're not exactly spring-chickens so how they can still do this after all these years is commendable; third best after Lionheart and Wheels of Steel.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
..they still do whats required,without sacrificing or compromising who they are,,Biff and the boys continue to rock and surely now can be seen as the UK's premier metal band of the last 20 years,no other has made consistently great albums at this level of quality,in my humble opinion.

It may not be 'Wheels Of Steel' nor 'Denim And Leather' but their 20th studio album holds all the traditional Saxon moments, you want songs about History ? try 'Guardians of the Tomb' or 'Made In Belfast', fast cars see 'Warriors of the Road',war? take a listen to 'Wheels of Terror',you want an anthem then blast 'Stand Up And Fight' from your HiFi, everyday life then how about 'Walking The Steel' and (cough) 'Standing In A Queue'.The title track 'Sacrifice' is modern metal based on traditional values,its a screamer with nods to Motorhead',which just leaves 'Night of the Wolf' another superb metal moment.

Clocking in at approx 37 mins (if we forget ,the frankly , rubbish intro (procession),this is the shortest Saxon album for a while,its short.sharp and to the point,as good an album as they have ever done,well done lads,another classic,all enhanced by a tremendous sound curtesy of Andy Sneaps' production.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
After the fairly disappointing last album " Call To Arms " (relatively speaking ,as all Saxon albums are better than most others) these likeable rock veterans are back on track .I put this on with a slight feeling of trepadation & on the initial 1st play only "Made in Belfast " & "Night of the Wolf " grabbed my attention.However , the more i played it the more i started liking the other songs to the point where it has been in my car for weeks & i now like the whole album .

It can't be easy for the band to keep putting out albums that sound vital & fresh but they've succeeded here .In fact ,with the exception of "Call to Arms" ,all their albums since 97's "Unleash the Beast" have been fantastic.As witnessed by my recent visit to the Shepherds Bush Empire,London , Saxon remain a magnificent live act.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
This is a real corking album of proper metal songs from Saxon. In fact, so good I 'sacrificed' my achilles tendon at their recent gig in Nottinham. Maybe I'm too old to rock and roll, but Saxon certainly aren't. Long may they continue.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
When I first heard Saxon's latest offering I wasn't at all convinced. However, the more I listened to the album the more it grew on me. I now find myself listening to it on a daily basis. I often find that if an album pleases me instantly I tend to go off it within a few weeks. However if a music offering doesn't really make an instant impact initially I find that with time I grow to appreciate it more and more. Sacrifice is just such an album. There is all the 'modern' side of Saxon with loads of nods towards their older style. Biff Byford's voice just seems to get stronger with age which cannot be said of most vocalists which is truly impressive considering the man is 62 and the amount of touring the band do. This a definite must buy for anyone who has classic Heavy Metal at heart. The only thing I would add to this masterpiece is the advice to see the band live when they are next in a town near you. Trust me, it is well worth your time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
Saxon back to thier best great album.Went to see them at wolverhamton for the sacrifice album tour they never fail to dissapoint took the roof of with two hours of pure untamed heavy metal how these guys never hit the big time ill never know they are as good as any metal band out their in my opinion they are one of the best.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
Being a particularly big fan of Saxon's early 80s and early 90s output, I have been encouraged by some of their recent releases such as Inner Sanctum, Lionheart and A Call to Arms. As a result, I felt a genuine sense of excitement when I heard the band were releasing album No.20!

My excitement was certainly justified when, the introductory track Procession gives way to an almighty trio of ripping Saxon tracks. Title track Sacrifice is a real classic, with wailing guitars in the verse sections and a crunching chorus line. The slighly more unsuual, but very catchy Made in Belfast then kicks in with some Irish style guitars and possesses an equally crunchy chorus riff; before arguably the albums best track Warriors of the Road literally screams across the speakers, and I feel like its 1983 again!

After such a fantastic start, things plateau a little bit with the decent but not thrilling Guardians of the Tomb, before picking back up with Stand Up and Fight. Night of the Wolf and Wheels of Terror continue the good form, before the distinctly average (with laughable chorus lyrics) Standing in a Queue sees the album take a bit of a dip. Certainly, it would have been better to finish proceedings on a high with a stronger track.

All in all it is certainly a worthwhile purchase, and mostly very enjoyable, but don't expect the long awaited heir to Wheels of Steel. There are some real flashes of genius on here, but after such a rollicking start, there are a couple of average tracks on board which should have been jettisoned or replaced with stronger numbers to make this a genuine classic.

If you're a Saxon fan you will really enjoy this, and it is a worthy addition to the legacy!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
Saxon is still a great band. They can produce one album better than the other. Sacrifice is even heavier and sure is a must for every fan. And for those who don't know the band and like the sound of metal it's a good option to start knowing this awesome band.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)