Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album for years
I wasnt sure what to expect with sacrifice. Saxon certainly fire albums out thick and fast, even in the last few years theres almost been one each year. How many bands around do that?
My rediscovery of Saxon after being a fan in the 80 s was inner sanctum which was different for them but thoroughly enjoyable. They d done a late booking show at download 2008. Third...
Published 18 months ago by Andy Dee

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Saxon-Sacrifice.
Sorry to say, this was a disappointment to me. The album has been getting very favourable reviews generally but I beg to differ. To me it's a very average Saxon album, short too, which isn't helped by an intro of about 2 mins that is a waste of time! If you want a decent modern metal album from Saxon then check out Lionheart instead, or of course their classic albums.
Published 17 months ago by metAL


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album for years, 8 Mar 2013
This review is from: Sacrifice (Audio CD)
I wasnt sure what to expect with sacrifice. Saxon certainly fire albums out thick and fast, even in the last few years theres almost been one each year. How many bands around do that?
My rediscovery of Saxon after being a fan in the 80 s was inner sanctum which was different for them but thoroughly enjoyable. They d done a late booking show at download 2008. Third stage tent/marquee. To my knowledge they hadnt done any notable shows in the uk for a good few years so lots of people crammed into the marquee and beyond to see them again. I got the feeling that they themselves didnt know what the reception would be like. Short set, played a mixture of new and old stuff.Went down very well and certainly one of the bands of the wkend for me and reviewers. God knows how many times ive seen them since, its lots ! So after that show I was a fan again and went straight out and bought the inner album. Followed by the labyrinth then call to arms as they were released. Both admirable efforts and well worth a buy.
Sacrifice: I d read reviews before release that it was heavier than normal for todays saxon and a blast back to their old selves in the 80 s. So finally got my copy yesterday and was blown away with the first listen. certainly harder, certainly heavier than recent albums. Theyve definately stepped up to the plate with this one. If it hadnt been for the reviews i probably wouldnt have bought it. I get bored with bands quite easy nowadays and admittedly hadnt played any of their stuff for a good while now. Theyre not young lads anymore but to be knocking material out like this after 20 studio albums and touring constantly... and doing awesome shows !!! that takes some doing. So sacrifice, Im not gonna boringly give song by song reviews as you ll make your own mind up. Best album by saxon for years without doubt. I cant recommend this album high enough. You know what to expect with saxon. Youre never gonna get thrash or hardcore. Its nwobhm as good as it gets. The only improvement could be perhaps a couple of extra tracks. 9 tracks in todays world is a little short, there is 10 but the first one is just an intro really. However they have reproduced a few old classics on cd2 which are good. Happy listening guys \m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 5 Mar 2013
By 
Amazonian (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sacrifice (Audio CD)
This 20th studio album from the guys pure 21st Century/classic Saxon.The awesome power of the band's songs I feel is never quite captured on a recording,they are always better live, but 'Sacrifice' comes pretty close.

You never know quite what to expect when you first put the CD in the player the expectation is always high and long awaited but you should have faith...They will not let you down.

The title track hits you between the eyes and should be a single with 'Stand Up And Fight' the follow up.

With several tribute songs to the Belfast shipbuilders of the Titanic,Formula 1,The Terracotta Army and even Sven Hassel(?) (Wheels of Terror).

I think someone must have upset Biff with 'Standing In A Queue'.!!

Great riffs and excellent guitar solo's from Paul and Doug.Thumping Bass as usual from Nibbs.Pulsating Drums from Nigel(The man who put Thunder into Heavy Metal.!!..thanks for the sticks.)and not forgetting Biff's exceptional vocals to the great new songs.

All in all this will be another classic album that you will play over and over again for many years to come.

The bonus CD is also another treasure...Orchestral'Crusader' in the Style of the excellent 'Call to Arms' reworking. Acoustic versions of 'Requiem'and 'Frozen Rainbow' and new recordings of 'Just Let Me Rock' and 'Forever Free'.

I can't wait for the 'Sacrifice' tour to kick off in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third best ever., 12 Jun 2013
By 
C. B. Young - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sacrifice (Audio CD)
Yet again Saxon have produced another superb release; nearly 10 years ago they really struck gold with Lionheart and since then four fantastic slabs of hard rock/heavy metal; well produced, outstanding musicianship, not forgetting Biffs distinctive voice, putting melody into the metal. This is excellent classic metal, not a bad track - favourite, Stand up and fight - least, not quite so favourite, Standing in a queue. Love the intro track leading into Sacrifice, although this is not new to the boys. Slight disappointment to the length of the album but it makes up with the quality. No offence but they're not exactly spring-chickens so how they can still do this after all these years is commendable; third best after Lionheart and Wheels of Steel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very beautiful picture disc and incredible music!!!, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sacrifice [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Antoher very good record of Saxon, and the presentation is lovely! If you are a Saxon fan, you need this record!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellant, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sacrifice (Audio CD)
Strong album. Saw the tracks (plus 80s tracks) performed live in Wolverhampton; awesome! Saxon are defiantly back to their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Corking, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sacrifice (Audio CD)
This is a real corking album of proper metal songs from Saxon. In fact, so good I 'sacrificed' my achilles tendon at their recent gig in Nottinham. Maybe I'm too old to rock and roll, but Saxon certainly aren't. Long may they continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent as usual., 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sacrifice (Audio CD)
When I first heard Saxon's latest offering I wasn't at all convinced. However, the more I listened to the album the more it grew on me. I now find myself listening to it on a daily basis. I often find that if an album pleases me instantly I tend to go off it within a few weeks. However if a music offering doesn't really make an instant impact initially I find that with time I grow to appreciate it more and more. Sacrifice is just such an album. There is all the 'modern' side of Saxon with loads of nods towards their older style. Biff Byford's voice just seems to get stronger with age which cannot be said of most vocalists which is truly impressive considering the man is 62 and the amount of touring the band do. This a definite must buy for anyone who has classic Heavy Metal at heart. The only thing I would add to this masterpiece is the advice to see the band live when they are next in a town near you. Trust me, it is well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metal at its best!, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sacrifice (Audio CD)
Saxon back to thier best great album.Went to see them at wolverhamton for the sacrifice album tour they never fail to dissapoint took the roof of with two hours of pure untamed heavy metal how these guys never hit the big time ill never know they are as good as any metal band out their in my opinion they are one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BACK ON TRACK, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sacrifice (Audio CD)
After the fairly disappointing last album " Call To Arms " (relatively speaking ,as all Saxon albums are better than most others) these likeable rock veterans are back on track .I put this on with a slight feeling of trepadation & on the initial 1st play only "Made in Belfast " & "Night of the Wolf " grabbed my attention.However , the more i played it the more i started liking the other songs to the point where it has been in my car for weeks & i now like the whole album .

It can't be easy for the band to keep putting out albums that sound vital & fresh but they've succeeded here .In fact ,with the exception of "Call to Arms" ,all their albums since 97's "Unleash the Beast" have been fantastic.As witnessed by my recent visit to the Shepherds Bush Empire,London , Saxon remain a magnificent live act.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this shouldn't be happening again, 14 May 2013
By 
Mr. Nr Delve "SIMON (CRUSADER)DELVE" (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sacrifice (Audio CD)
what can i say that hasn't already been said,saxon have come out again with all guns blazing.for me this album has just the right metal to rock ratio of all saxon albuns in recent years.the song writing, the performance and the mixing by andY sneap make this album a real winner.come and rejoin the militia guard if you have been away or if you have never stepped into saxon waters do so now you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sacrifice
Sacrifice by Saxon (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews