Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny!
Ok, so it's a scenario a little far fetched, but Brimson manages to mix the over importance football fans place on their teams with family dynamics which leads to a humorous take on football rivalry seen from the other side of the fence. As with the other books Brimson has written, you are never quite sure how it will all end and it doesn't dissapoint. Highly recommended.
Published 7 months ago by Charlietwice

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Silly errors detracted from enjoyment
First off, I enjoyed this book. It starts with a good premise, rolls along with a good pace (if it was a `real' book I'd call it a page turner, maybe it's a button pusher?) and it nicely encapsulates some of the emotions involved with being a footie fan.

However. As my old Chemistry teacher would have said about my homework, I'm knocking some marks off for...
Published on 7 Dec. 2012 by N. Corble


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny!, 7 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings of a Sparrow: A comedy about football, fortune and a fanatical fan (Kindle Edition)
Ok, so it's a scenario a little far fetched, but Brimson manages to mix the over importance football fans place on their teams with family dynamics which leads to a humorous take on football rivalry seen from the other side of the fence. As with the other books Brimson has written, you are never quite sure how it will all end and it doesn't dissapoint. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected gem, 22 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings of a Sparrow: A comedy about football, fortune and a fanatical fan (Kindle Edition)
Bought this on a bit of a whim. Not entirely sure why as I am an extremely relaxed football fan. Provided one can get past the slightly unrealistic premise of the inheritance (which is easy to do) it's a lovely story. It's about love, loyalty and family. I was genuinely disappointed when I finished the book as I could have read more. Buy it and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good laugh, 2 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings of a Sparrow: A comedy about football, fortune and a fanatical fan (Kindle Edition)
I love comedy books and this one was no exception. 10 out of 10 is reserved for the VERY best, this one was not at that standard but fun and enjoyable nevertheless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining football story, 18 Dec. 2012
By 
P. Wilson (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings of a Sparrow: A comedy about football, fortune and a fanatical fan (Kindle Edition)
What would you do if you were in charge of your bitterest rivals for a season? Dougie Brimson gives his leading character Rob Cooper the dilemma of becoming chairman of City the team he loathes most in the world. The storyline also touches on family relationships which can as a result of club allegiance lead to difficult situations and consequences.

There are some genuinely laugh out loud moments, where Rob adopts a typical football fans principles with hilarious results.

An enjoyable read which may challenge a typical fans mentality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wings of a Sparrow, more like Peregrine Falcon, 5 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings of a Sparrow: A comedy about football, fortune and a fanatical fan (Kindle Edition)
Wow, having read all of Dougie's books he has surpassed himself this time. I had finished reading this within 12 hours of purchasing, I'm glad I had the day off! Supporting the same club as Dougie I can see exactly were he is going with this. Not only a good read for any football supporter but also for soccer widows!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dilemma of a Football Fan, 1 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Wings of a Sparrow: A comedy about football, fortune and a fanatical fan (Kindle Edition)
Any real Football fan will have wished to be put in a situation like the character Rob Cooper but not the soul searching decisions he has to make. It Pulls on your loyalty and conscious at the same time. You never quite know which way Rob or his family react with the situations they are put in. While reading it you cannot but think what you would do in the same situation. A thoroughly funny and enjoyable read all true loyal fans will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wings of a sparrow., 26 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings of a Sparrow: A comedy about football, fortune and a fanatical fan (Kindle Edition)
Thought it would make a change to read a comedy and have enjoyed several of the Brimsons books. Laughed out loud at several pages, however this is a football story so anyone outside the game may not see the funny side. Made a great change for a light read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read for football fans, 5 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings of a Sparrow: A comedy about football, fortune and a fanatical fan (Kindle Edition)
Far-fetched? Maybe, but a thoroughly enjoyable tale of a situation that combines a fan's worst nightmare and dream scenario. Presented very sympathetically - Rob is a likeable character with an impossible situation to handle...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique storyline and impossible to put down., 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings of a Sparrow: A comedy about football, fortune and a fanatical fan (Kindle Edition)
Read this after reading 'the crew' and It was even better. Being female doesn't mean that I don't appreciate a good footy tale and this was definitely one of those. Highly recommended !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 23 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings of a Sparrow: A comedy about football, fortune and a fanatical fan (Kindle Edition)
I'm not a football fan but absolutely loved this book, it was thought provoking and funny, top effort and it looks like I have another author to follow. Thank you for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews