Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny!
Ok, so it's a scenario a little far fetched, but Brimson manages to mix the over importance football fans place on their teams with family dynamics which leads to a humorous take on football rivalry seen from the other side of the fence. As with the other books Brimson has written, you are never quite sure how it will all end and it doesn't dissapoint. Highly recommended.
Published 2 months ago by Charlietwice

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Silly errors detracted from enjoyment
First off, I enjoyed this book. It starts with a good premise, rolls along with a good pace (if it was a `real' book I'd call it a page turner, maybe it's a button pusher?) and it nicely encapsulates some of the emotions involved with being a footie fan.

However. As my old Chemistry teacher would have said about my homework, I'm knocking some marks off for...
Published on 7 Dec 2012 by N. Corble


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny!, 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings of a Sparrow: A comedy about football, fortune and a fanatical fan (Kindle Edition)
Ok, so it's a scenario a little far fetched, but Brimson manages to mix the over importance football fans place on their teams with family dynamics which leads to a humorous take on football rivalry seen from the other side of the fence. As with the other books Brimson has written, you are never quite sure how it will all end and it doesn't dissapoint. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected gem, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings of a Sparrow: A comedy about football, fortune and a fanatical fan (Kindle Edition)
Bought this on a bit of a whim. Not entirely sure why as I am an extremely relaxed football fan. Provided one can get past the slightly unrealistic premise of the inheritance (which is easy to do) it's a lovely story. It's about love, loyalty and family. I was genuinely disappointed when I finished the book as I could have read more. Buy it and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good laugh, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings of a Sparrow: A comedy about football, fortune and a fanatical fan (Kindle Edition)
I love comedy books and this one was no exception. 10 out of 10 is reserved for the VERY best, this one was not at that standard but fun and enjoyable nevertheless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining football story, 18 Dec 2012
By 
P. Wilson (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings of a Sparrow: A comedy about football, fortune and a fanatical fan (Kindle Edition)
What would you do if you were in charge of your bitterest rivals for a season? Dougie Brimson gives his leading character Rob Cooper the dilemma of becoming chairman of City the team he loathes most in the world. The storyline also touches on family relationships which can as a result of club allegiance lead to difficult situations and consequences.

There are some genuinely laugh out loud moments, where Rob adopts a typical football fans principles with hilarious results.

An enjoyable read which may challenge a typical fans mentality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wings of a Sparrow, more like Peregrine Falcon, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings of a Sparrow: A comedy about football, fortune and a fanatical fan (Kindle Edition)
Wow, having read all of Dougie's books he has surpassed himself this time. I had finished reading this within 12 hours of purchasing, I'm glad I had the day off! Supporting the same club as Dougie I can see exactly were he is going with this. Not only a good read for any football supporter but also for soccer widows!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dilemma of a Football Fan, 1 Dec 2012
This review is from: Wings of a Sparrow: A comedy about football, fortune and a fanatical fan (Kindle Edition)
Any real Football fan will have wished to be put in a situation like the character Rob Cooper but not the soul searching decisions he has to make. It Pulls on your loyalty and conscious at the same time. You never quite know which way Rob or his family react with the situations they are put in. While reading it you cannot but think what you would do in the same situation. A thoroughly funny and enjoyable read all true loyal fans will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every football fans dream or nightmare, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings of a Sparrow: A comedy about football, fortune and a fanatical fan (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book, I am not a huge football fan, but I have been to quite a few matches, so understand the rivalry between clubs. The main character gets a chance to wind up the rival fans in a big way. Whether you like football or not, this is an easy, comical read. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars page turner, 18 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings of a Sparrow: A comedy about football, fortune and a fanatical fan (Kindle Edition)
Well written a teal page turner ! Loved it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wings of a sparrow, 24 Oct 2013
By 
Ms. W. A. Lindsay (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings of a Sparrow: A comedy about football, fortune and a fanatical fan (Kindle Edition)
Would have given this 5 stars but an otherwise excellent book was let down by the number of misprint and grammatical errors, if the publishers did employ a proof reader to work on this tome he or she should be fired immediately as I have never seen so many errors in one piece of work in my life and I read a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and Unique Read, 27 Dec 2012
This review is from: Wings of a Sparrow: A comedy about football, fortune and a fanatical fan (Kindle Edition)
People throw around the term "supporter" a lot. But I am not sure that people really understand what that word means.

I think Liverpool legend Bill Shankly got it right when he said,"Some people believe football is a matter of life and death, I am very disappointed with that attitude. I can assure you it is much, much more important than that."

In other words, the game of football gives supporters a purpose and it is a commitment that lasts a lifetime. It is more than a game, it is life that has taken on many forms.

One thing is for certain and that it the fact that a supporter is more than a fan. A supporter is more than a season ticket holder. They live, breathe, and fight for their club. Their family is the club; their fellow supporters are their brothers and sisters.

Wings of a Sparrow by Dougie Brimson is a great read. Brimson's style is conversational and engaging. And it gives us a glimpse into the life of real supporters in a fictional setting.

To be honest the book is a bit difficult to describe. It is a comedy; it is also a creative work of fiction. But it is a footballing story, one that brings out a lot of powerful issues.

It is the story of characters, the most demanding is that of protagonist Rob Cooper. He is the ultimate supporter, a man who rises each day to follow his beloved United and goes to bed each night with United dreams of glory. Out of nowhere, a long lost relative literally leaves him with a fortune. A life-changing fortune with a "catch." This "catch" will test him and his family to the core, pushing his own beliefs to the brink.

Does he do what is right in the eyes of his friends and fellow United supporters? Or does he do what will get him the most money? Does he remain loyal to United or start a new life with City?

In the end, Rob learns a lot about the beautiful game, but even more about himself. Consider the story one big life lesson for an obsessed football addict. Or a journey for an utlimate supporter, a chance to see what he is really made of. Simply put, it is a test of conscience amongst a comedy of epic proportions.

The story itself is unique, especially among all of the football non-fiction that is out there. My guess is that you can count all the football fiction on one hand.

It is certainly worth a read at less than 2 British pounds or $3.25 U.S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews