Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, fascinating. The latest edition adds much to the brilliant 1st edition, but is in a smaller format - which is a s
I would challenge anyone not to be gripped by this biography, whether or not they are interested in horology, precision engineering, or motoring. George Daniels' whole life is one of dogged persistence against so many odds. Thank God he was sustained by his many good friends (and customers/collectors) who recognised genius and quality in everything he did.

An...
Published 15 months ago by rambler

versus
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong description
The description given for what is supposed to be George Daniel's book is not for his book at all. It is more about military history. Shome mishtake, surely, ossifer?
Published 15 months ago by Mr. David Robinson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, fascinating. The latest edition adds much to the brilliant 1st edition, but is in a smaller format - which is a s, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would challenge anyone not to be gripped by this biography, whether or not they are interested in horology, precision engineering, or motoring. George Daniels' whole life is one of dogged persistence against so many odds. Thank God he was sustained by his many good friends (and customers/collectors) who recognised genius and quality in everything he did.

An inspiration to any budding self made man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 2 Jan 2013
By 
J. Truesdale (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Single mindedness, self belief, and a touch of genius. Great illustration of how you can, when nobody is there to tell you you can't.
Entertaining and informative. A first class read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of a Kind, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is an excellent read but being a working horologist it was interesting to me as I have known of his work all my life. I think this book would be interesting to anybody with a mechanical interest and probably an inspiration to many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master watch maker, 5 Sep 2013
By 
Robert Wheeler (Feltham, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic book about an incredible man. A book that is difficult to put down. A good read and does not get bog down with too much technical detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Reading, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are reading this I assume you know who George Daniels is.
An excellent and well written account of the life of a true craftsman and perfectionist. Not a technical work (get `Watchmaking` if thats what you want) but a book that covers his life from his impoverished childhood through to his struggle to get the Co-Axiel escapement accepted by the Swiss watch industry. It covers many other parts of this fascinating mans life such as his interest in classic Bentley motor cars and fondness for bicycles. The later chapters also cover some of the work with Roger Smith.
Anyone with an interest in horology should find this a most interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All in Good Time :Reflections of a Watchmaker.by George Daniels, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What an amazing man !! If you want to be inspired I recommend this book - it is not just watches but also his interest in Bentleys etc. Just shows how one can rise up the ladder from below the lowest rung. Please read.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Man to Admire, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
George Daniels was a man who rose from the most humble of beginnings to become a watchmaker of outstanding intellect and crushing ability. On being told that something was impossible he would regretfully agree, go away, ponder the problem and do it anyway. His descriptions of his creation of his handmade pocket watches are a joy to read. His description of the tribulations he faced getting his coaxial escapement accepted by the Swiss watchmaking industry makes one shake ones head at the shortsightedness of manufacturers.
In the event, Omega took up the escapement, which enables a mechanical watch to keep time as well as a quartz movement and also will not require attention for 25 years, if then.
At the same time he produced some very well respected books on the work of Breguet and, in his spare time(!) restored and raced Bentleys.
In conclusion, it has to be said that the picture is not all positive, he could be an out and out curmudgeon, but I can forgive such a man a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All in Good Time, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book - very interesting as he was a man who started out in very humble circumstances - but was a genius in his field. I am not a Horologist but my late husband was and he was actually in the same class as George Daniels at college. He told me how wonderful his work was even in those early days - his drawings were second to none.

Although they were not close companions just colleagues in the same class my husband felt it was a great privilege to have worked alongside such a very gifted man. I am sure that there is not a 'George Daniels' born every year - sadly.

Great book - great title
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong description, 24 Dec 2012
By 
This review is from: All in Good Time: Reflections of a Watchmaker (Kindle Edition)
The description given for what is supposed to be George Daniel's book is not for his book at all. It is more about military history. Shome mishtake, surely, ossifer?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabdc0f24)

This product

Only search this product's reviews