Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for the price
This is a fairly standard USB to TTL converter. I purchased it with the hope of un-bricking my Seagate HDD. Its one of the cheaper ones on Amazon, and also from a UK seller which is nice as it didnt take weeks to arrive.

A couple of points to note:

The TX line on this must connect to the RX line on whatever your connecting it to, or else it wont...
Published 17 months ago by Shane

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesnt work but its probably the router
I have no idea if it was this product or the awful router I am trying to access but its not working at all. Its probably the router tho, it really is a piece of junk.
Published 7 months ago by Slizzle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for the price, 17 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB 2.0 to TTL UART 6PIN CP2102 Module Serial Converter (Electronics)
This is a fairly standard USB to TTL converter. I purchased it with the hope of un-bricking my Seagate HDD. Its one of the cheaper ones on Amazon, and also from a UK seller which is nice as it didnt take weeks to arrive.

A couple of points to note:

The TX line on this must connect to the RX line on whatever your connecting it to, or else it wont work.
You must supply external power to the converter, either 3.3V or 5V depending on the signal you wish to transmit. This can be done using either the orange wire from a SATA power connector (for 3.3V) or red (for 5V).
You will also need a USB extension cable and/or longer leads (or make your own) as the ones supplied are only about 20cm long and completely useless unless you want the convertor resting on whatever your trying to connect it to.

All in all it was a lot better than i was expecting it to be, arrived quickly and still hasnt broke, so 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Used with Arduino Pro Mini., 10 Oct. 2013
By 
Eddie-B (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB 2.0 to TTL UART 6PIN CP2102 Module Serial Converter (Electronics)
I bought one of these so that I could connect to an Arduino 'Pro Mini' micro-controller also bought from Amazon. Click on this link to see it:- Pro Mini 5V for Arduino.

This item came with 5 female to female leads but no instructions.

Works well and cheaper than many other USB to serial adaptors, supplied by Amazon so delivered in a few days (some of these inexpensive devices on Amazon come from the far-east and can take a couple of weeks to turn up). Please note that I think that some other versions of the Pro Mini have different pin-outs from the unit above and may require some online research to get working.

5 stars because it works well and does all required of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Works perfectly and simple to use, 3 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB 2.0 to TTL UART 6PIN CP2102 Module Serial Converter (Electronics)
Used this on Debian and Ubuntu and it worked out of the box, I cannot comment for anyone trying to use it on Windows, presumably drivers are available and a Google search for "CP2102" will probably help there.

I had previously bought a cheaper USB to TTL serial converter and although it worked with other devices, I could not get a serial console on my Raspberry Pi, which is what I had bought it for in the first place.
This did the trick and I cannot fault it, since it's reasonably priced and works perfectly. I do however wish that it had come with some kind of moulded enclosure as I do not like the ideal of exposed contacts on the PCB, ten seconds with some electrical tape solved that issue however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Works straight out of the box. Used it on raspberry., 13 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB 2.0 to TTL UART 6PIN CP2102 Module Serial Converter (Electronics)
Bought it to get an extra serial port on my raspberry(was already using the hardware UART raspberry provides to speak to another device) No extra drivers required, it works straight when you connect it(/dev/ttyAMA0 for the hardware UART, /dev/ttyUSB0 for this one). It looks ok compared to the 17+ Pounds alternative. Only time will tell if it durable. I don't think it's mentioned anywhere but it's a 5V ttl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No documentation but does work OK, 18 Feb. 2014
By 
D. Anderson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB 2.0 to TTL UART 6PIN CP2102 Module Serial Converter (Electronics)
Unfotunately, more and more products arrive with no documention of any kind, not even a link to a product page where drivers can be obtained. As Amazon will not allow us to put in links in the reviews, you will have to search like I did. Try SiLabs first of all. Then search for VCP Driver. Hope that helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for debugging uboot devices!, 2 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB 2.0 to TTL UART 6PIN CP2102 Module Serial Converter (Electronics)
Using this to recover fix borked mini pc's. any uboot device with a TX RX 3.3v Uart can be used by this. Linux has the drivers built in using kermit serial console program.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its good, but no real guide or anything added, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB 2.0 to TTL UART 6PIN CP2102 Module Serial Converter (Electronics)
Its good, but no real guide or anything added, so you need to know what you want and how to use it. The 3.3v for instance has no pin header so you need to solder your own on if you want to use 3.3v. Other than that, works as expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is a great little product if you need one works OK with ..., 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB 2.0 to TTL UART 6PIN CP2102 Module Serial Converter (Electronics)
this is a great little product if you need one works OK with windows 7 & 8 not tried with 10 yet but cannot see any reason why the windows 8 driver should not work down load these from the internet from the chip manufacturer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Flashing Firmware, 5 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB 2.0 to TTL UART 6PIN CP2102 Module Serial Converter (Electronics)
Used this to flash my Eircom F1000 (Zyxel) router from restrictive custom Eircom firmware to more open ended official Zyxel firmware that is regularly updated. Could do with some better labeling on which cable does what.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very easy to use and it works just as it should, 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB 2.0 to TTL UART 6PIN CP2102 Module Serial Converter (Electronics)
It does the job and it comes with cables. Very easy to use and it works just as it should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews