Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cohen Film Collection Thief of Bagdad 1924 Blu-Ray Edition
Just wanted to write a quick review about this wonderful film to all those silent film fans out there who may be wondering if this Cohen Film Collection Blu Ray version will play on UK players. I can confirm that it is REGION FREE!!! It will play on a UK Blu Ray player, and with the addition of music by Carl Davis, conducting The Philharmonia Orchestra, the score is a...
Published 23 months ago by J. A. Bradford

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok but...
...get the version which uses Rimsky Korsakov's Scherezade. Trust me on this and then it will be a beautiful, surreal experience
Published 9 months ago by Craigmeister


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punishment Park, 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't quiet comprehend the thought ,why it took so long for me to discover this masterpiece of a movie.Its absolutely amazing and spot on how things look like around us.Definitely a keeper!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 21st Century Blues...from 1969, 20 Mar. 2010
It is said that the cost of freedom is eternal vigilance, start by watching this film.

Peter Watkins directs this pseudo-documentary with an earnestness of style and a lack of presumption that still refreshes even in 2010. In fact, his gritty and authentic attention to detail is especially pleasing in the here and now. The basic premise has since been copied so many times as to render it almost a cliche, but the toughness and honesty that the direction brings to the script (assuming there was one) allows for instant, disconcerting familiarity without hastening predictability. You know nobody is going to survive, but because of the urgent camera and solid acting by non-actors you really want them to. You identify with those that chose to commute their sentence.

The characters are beaten, insulted and dehumanized in almost every way, and the sanctimonious sermonizing of the moral majority sentencing them is sadly all too believable. We watch a world where members of various movements, (e.g socialist, black power, feminist, Chicano) are subjected to dubious 'hearings' and admonished for their (equally dubious) 'crimes' they are then offered either a) an unfeasibly long prison sentence or b) four days in Punishment Park. Unsurprisingly, each chooses the park. The scene in 'One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest' where McMurphy states that Nurse Ratched enjoys "a rigged game" came to kind as soon as the scene was done and each actor shuffled out of the room towards a certain death sentence. Later films, such as 'Battle Royale' can also trace their origins back to this film, gravid with social commentary and shot with an uncomfortable frankness that makes the scenario feel compellingly real.

Here in the UK in 2010, with the advent of ID cards, lying politicians and the encroaching specter of far-right fascism embodied by certain fringe parties, the message of this film has never been more poignant, like 'Nineteen Eighty Four' or 'V for Vendetta' it is a veritable 'message in a bottle' warning us all what happens if we stop fighting. America, with the shadows of The Washington consensus, The Bush doctrine, an illegal invasion and the patriot act casting long over the white house, never seemed the more perfect setting.

The film has never been more believable or more powerful. Watch if you are looking for an amazing slice of social commentary, which, in the traditions of Shakespeare or Dostoevsky, remains as true today as when it was made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good movie for kindy children, 12 Feb. 2010
By 
Z. Hanzlik (Toko NZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I put this Movie to children age 4-5 , and even when it was long and made them tired ,and I cut it they remembered and asked to see it again. Compared with Sesame street, Tom and Jerry , Aladin or other continuous programs this is quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly accurate, even now ?, 14 Dec. 2010
This film paints a dark, xenophobic, bigotted America still scared of the 'Reds under the bed' and using totalitarian measures to oppress what they can't understand or accept.

Now, I am not for one moment suggesting that it is a social statement on todays America, BUT, if you watch this from start to finish, I defy you not to feel your heckles raise and your mind start to wonder if this could be still the deep founded belief

Whether watched for the gritty movie experience, or as a social judgement, this is a great piece of little-known cinema magic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary, 18 Sept. 2006
I wonder if the director realised this film would still be chillingly relevant thirty odd years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as in my childhood memories, 26 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thief Of Bagdad [DVD] (DVD)
And probably not a movie today's children would enjoy watching. Still, Douglas Fairbanks is good looking, almost as much as Valentino!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dvd john wayne, 22 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thief Of Bagdad [DVD] (DVD)
wife loves this and all other john wayne films
good service good film can be enjoyed by all the family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Intriguing Narrative, 27 Oct. 2010
By 
J. Gould "cinema lover" (Downham Market, Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book was purchased as a gift for a family member. He has esoteric tastes and is interested in books that are slightly "off the wall". He found the narrative intriguing and thought provoking and thanked me for the purchase. He asked me to give the book 5 stars. Duly noted and done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 9 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thief Of Bagdad [DVD] (DVD)
No
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thief of Bagdad [Blu-ray] [1924] [US Import]
Thief of Bagdad [Blu-ray] [1924] [US Import] by Douglas Fairbanks (Blu-ray - 2013)
£10.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews