Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly beautiful.
This has been a much-anticipated album for many people, myself included. The Grinderman project Nick Cave has been working on has been far louder than the recent Bad Seeds albums, and there were rumours that this album would be a good deal quieter than previous Bad Seeds offerings. The release of the first track - We No Who U R - seemed to indicate that was indeed the...
Published 21 months ago by A. Delahunty

versus
18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best work...
Pretty much everything Mr Cave releases meets with a 5 star approval in my world. That is up until the release of Dig Lazarus Dig, which was still a great album by anyones standards but in my opinion Ellis's influence had just grown too strong, and with it, the album too loud. Stangely enough I prefered Grinderman doing similar material.
Anyway, onto Push the Sky...
Published 21 months ago by Gman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In the shadow of the Cave, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Push the Sky Away (MP3 Download)
Really was looking forward to hearing this but now having listened through twice I have one question "Where have all the melodies gone?". I was hoping for a return to the downbeat majesty of the Boatman's Call or No More Shall We Part and while We Know Who You Are and Mermaids come close, and Higgs Bosons Blues has a great arrangement I feel the rest rely to heavily on Mr Cave habit of talking rather than developing a melody. This style suited the mostly cacophonous Grinderman and more guitar driven last Bad Seed album Dig Lazarus Dig Lazarus. But for gentler tunes a strong melody, for me anyway, is essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nick is re-creating himself, 24 Feb 2013
This review is from: Push the Sky Away (MP3 Download)
Nick is re-creating himself. This album is different from the previous album, with at least 3 blockbuster. Very important album in his discography !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST BUY!, 20 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Push The Sky Away (Audio CD)
my dear husband's eyes light up when he opend this for our anniversary and played it straight away. A MUST BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Push The Sky Away (Audio CD)
enough said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Push The Sky Away (Audio CD)
Great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Class Album, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Push The Sky Away (Audio CD)
Again Nick Cave has produced an album that really grabs you. There is only one weak track - but it is only a relative weakness.

Of course this album is different from earlier work. It is what I would expect from a mature artist. We all develop as we go through life and changes in musical style and taste reflect this as much as anything else. It would be pathetic to produce 2 albums that are overly alike: to do so would reek of manufactured pop/pap. And the Bad Seeds certainly aren't manufactured - they're artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Push The Sky Away [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Oct 2014
By 
Mr. Keith Gray (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Push the Sky Away (MP3 Download)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Push The Sky Away (Audio CD)
Stunning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Push the Sky Away (MP3 Download)
I have just discovered the almighty talent that is Nick Cave. Listening to the freebie single lured me into the lyre that is the rich tapestry of Cave's World, and I have to tell you it is a mighty fine place to go. I am now ploughing through the back catalogue and questioning myself in how the hell did I miss so a unique master at the top of his game. Enjoy the journey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Push The Sky Away
Push The Sky Away by Nick Cave (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews