Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another page turner
I really must have words with Ms Trevithick about this - I keep starting her stories, with the intention of reading a few pages before I must do something else, such as sleeping, eating or work, and then finding I can't put the damn story down.

This is another page turner from Rosen. The characterization is spot on, the pace is perfect and she is the mistress...
Published on 9 Dec. 2012 by Rusty the Hamster

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but predictable
AFTER a good but unlikely start, the insight into bipolar disorder is WELL interpreted and described. After such good and insightful description of life seen through the sufferers eyes, the story is spoilt by a very confused but easily predictable ending. It could have been more developed and longer to build the climax..
Published on 31 Dec. 2012 by Bryan R


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tansy, 9 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ice Marathon (Kindle Edition)
It was an ok read, but did become a little bored with the plot. You could anticipate what was going to happen before it did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great story about hearts melting and freezing!, 19 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ice Marathon (Kindle Edition)
The Ice Marathon is another high-quality read from Rosen Trevithick. It's a tense tale of unexpected motherhood and the even more unexpected nightmare that every parent in the world gets chills even thinking about.

Right from the beginning, narrator Emma is a lively and immediate character, drawing us into her life with ease. Crucially, she doesn't always come across as likeable, which raises questions about her behaviour and what might be causing it. But at all times she is three-dimensional and believable, especially when her fears and paranoias start to kick in.

Her explosive meetings with Simon, the father of her child, make great reading and I was surprised at how much humour there is in the early part of the book. Then as the story darkens, I was pulled along very quickly and found myself racing to the finish.

If there's any criticism, it's that this meant the book finished a little prematurely for me. I would have welcomed a longer novel with further complications and mysteries. But that is also testament to how easy I found it to read. It's takes a lot of work to make writing look easy, and as always, Rosen delivers an emotional, satisfying story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You won't be disappointed!, 21 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ice Marathon (Kindle Edition)
Another fantastic piece of writing from Rosen Trevithick. This story has been very well researched. The writing Style is smooth and the story flows well.

The main character, Emma, has a one night stand with Simon, who she despises (or thinks she does). After having very brutal sex with Simon, Emma falls pregnant. As if this isn't enough of a complication, it turns out that Emma suffers from Bipolar disorder, which is normally very well controlled with her medication. Emma has to stop taking her medication temporarily for the sake of her unborn child. Obviously this has consequences for Emma and things soon begin to spiral out of Emma's control.

One of the big issues raised in the story, is mental illness and becoming a new mother. It is handled very sensitively by the Author. Becoming a mother, has such a profound effect on a woman, not just physically, but mentally. Even without suffering from a mental illness, it can be a difficult time. You are sleep deprived, your hormones are going crazy and you are responsible for this little person, who can do nothing for themselves; Such a huge responsibility.

I also saw within the story, the ignorance of others who do not/will not understand mental ill health. It is sad that in this day and age, mental illness is still so misunderstood.

Great title, works really well with the story. Simon the father of the baby, has an ice marathon to compete in, but at the same time Emma has her own inner marathon to compete.

I'm finding it hard to say a lot about the story, as I don't want to give it away. I highly recommend that you read this story, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Review: The Ice Marathon by Rosen Trevithick, 16 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ice Marathon (Kindle Edition)
From the outset, main character Emma was endearing, and the supporting characters well written and interesting. The dinner party really showed everyone's personality well, so I felt as if I got to know all the characters much better. The ensuing scene in the kitchen was laugh-out-loud funny and cringe-worthy all at the same time, not to mention the aftermath and then Emma and Simon's reunion.
I did not have a clue that the pregnancy was coming, so that was a real shock to me, but the whole duration of it was written with sensitivity as well as humour. The description of Emma's bipolar disorder, and how going without her medication, was described so well, in addition to her experiences as a mum of a very new baby such as the lack of sleep.
I was rooting for Emma and Simon from the start, but little did I anticipate the huge twist in the story that has Emma questioning even best friend Nicky's loyalty.
A great shorter read. This was my first experience of reading Rosen Trevithick, and I'll be looking out for more of her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Little Disappointed, 20 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ice Marathon (Kindle Edition)
The book started well and gave vivid descriptions of Emma who lives with bipolar and finds herself pregnant after a one night affair and the grandparents decide to keep the baby when they see the effects of bipolar on Emma when she stops taking lithium. I did think it was building up to a good read however the ice marathon has very little input into the book apart from saying someone is doing it, leaves to do it then returns. Let down by the rapid ending. Pleased it was free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 9 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ice Marathon (Kindle Edition)
Okay for a quick short read. Not the most original plot but had some good twists and individual quirks .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Ice Marathon, 20 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ice Marathon (Kindle Edition)
This was an interesting tale, but not quite what I was expecting. I was vaguely aware of the premise of the book before reading it, but what I thought the book was about doesn't really come into it for quite some time. Also this was a shorter story than I expected (even though it does say it's a novella at approx 33k words that I hadn't spotted, oops). The book was also a bit more adult themed in parts than I was expecting too.

As to the story itself, it deals with matters that are recurrent in Rosen Trevithick's stories, namely mental health. As usual, you get a better understanding about it.

This is certainly a decent read with comedic moments along the way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a marathon but a sprint (in a good way), 18 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ice Marathon (Kindle Edition)
I read this book fairly quickly and once again I really enjoyed Rosen's work. It was a great character piece with the main character, Emma suffering from an ongoing illness (I won't say too much in order not to spoil the story). Emma is thrown into a world she is unfamiliar with once she becomes pregnant and this affects her illness. The illness in question is dealt with in a very informative and serious manner but is also integral to the story. The feeling of paranoia is around every corner with the reader never knowing up to the end whether Emma is paranoid or whether there is truth to her feelings. A really good read, well worth the price. I will keep a look out for more of Rosen's work in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ice Marathon (Kindle Edition)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short but sweet, 30 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ice Marathon (Kindle Edition)
Liked the synopsis of the story. Took me less than an hour to read and as a mother, had my heart racing at times. Could really see this story being made into a longer version as there is so much we could look into between the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ice Marathon
The Ice Marathon by Rosen Trevithick
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews