Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hello? Is it the BT 1500 you're looking for?
We live in an age where most new gadgets & mobile phones have all manner of extra features added on which most users don't really need, when what most of us want is for something to do its job & do it well. Thankfully, the BT 1500 bucks this trend.

Amazon's product description for this phone calls it an "entry level" model, which is "Great Value". My inner...
Published 19 months ago by Sam Woodward

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BT1500 Cordless DECT phone with answer machine
A neat little single handset phone, lightweight and portable with simple, clear instructions.
It has an illuminated display with extra large writing so this would be great for anyone whose sight is not good. It has volume control and the bowl-shaped earpiece concentrates sound, so this is helpful for anyone with slight hearing problems. Having designed the phone with...
Published 19 months ago by Mrs. M. Stamp


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hello? Is it the BT 1500 you're looking for?, 30 April 2013
By 
Sam Woodward (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: BT 1500 Cordless DECT Phone with Answer Machine (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
We live in an age where most new gadgets & mobile phones have all manner of extra features added on which most users don't really need, when what most of us want is for something to do its job & do it well. Thankfully, the BT 1500 bucks this trend.

Amazon's product description for this phone calls it an "entry level" model, which is "Great Value". My inner cynic translates this to mean 'poor quality' but that is not the case at all. The build quality feels sturdy yet deceptively light. The display is nice easy to read & the background isn't too bright. More importantly, the sound quality is much better than on the previous cordless phones I've used. And as strange as it may sound to say this, the handset actually fits securely into the base unit without feeling like it's about to topple over. You'd think this was a given but the previous 2 cordless phones I've had didn't do this. I don't know why something so simple is so hard to get right but nevertheless, BT have done it with the 1500.

It works straight out of the box - the manual says to leave the handset to charge for 24 hours before using it for the first time but the batteries came with enough juice in them to get me started straight away. The menu system is fairly straightforward & I was able to record my own answer machine message, change the ring-tone & add contacts without using the manual. The range is also very good. My old cordless handset would get out of range if I went to the front door or to the electric meter to get a reading but I can reach both with the BT 1500 & still have a decent signal.

It has a caller display feature but this only works with numbers stored in your address book or if you've subscribed to a Caller Display service with your landline network provider. Which I haven't. But it's okay because you can still screen calls by leaving the answer machine on & hearing who the caller is before you pick up.

This is a great all-rounder. The only thing that's missing is a speakerphone, which is something I've found quite handy in the past when being left on hold for a long time by call centres, bless 'em. And the LED's on the front of the base unit are too bright - phones should just sit in the corner of the room until they ring but I find the lights very distracting. But everything else is great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BT1500 Cordless DECT phone with answer machine, 1 May 2013
By 
Mrs. M. Stamp "Granma" (Bury St Edmunds UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: BT 1500 Cordless DECT Phone with Answer Machine (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A neat little single handset phone, lightweight and portable with simple, clear instructions.
It has an illuminated display with extra large writing so this would be great for anyone whose sight is not good. It has volume control and the bowl-shaped earpiece concentrates sound, so this is helpful for anyone with slight hearing problems. Having designed the phone with these assets (with the elderly in mind?),it seems very strange that it does not have a speakerphone--to my mind, a BIG drawback.
The phone cable to the base station is also quite short and we had to buy a longer one. In its favour are a 20 minute answerphone (pre-recorded acknowledgement, which you can personalise),a flashing light to let you know you have messages and remote playback of your messages if you are away from home. It has a 50 person phonebook, a redial memory and it lets you know who is trying to contact you when you are using the phone.
The signal range is good and the sound quality is clear.
Good value but a limited customer range. It looks like a "granny phone" but without a speaker will not suit a lot of elderly people.

Brand New. BT 1500 Single Handset DECT Telephone Cordless Answering Machine Ref 66856
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Allo? Allo?,, 20 April 2013
By 
Crookedmouth ":-/" (Somewhere in the Jurassic...) - See all my reviews
This review is from: BT 1500 Cordless DECT Phone with Answer Machine (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Well, it certainly LOOKS nice... shiny black with pretty red and green lights. Not at all cheap and plasticky like my previous Binatone cordless (which also happened to make a noise like someone stepping on an asthmatic mouse when I pressed the keys).

It's also easy to set up. Just plug it into a power socket and also into a phone socket and it's ready to go. Adding numbers to the contacts list and a message to the answerphone aare all done via the handset, using a fairly simple menu system and there's a Quick Start Guide to help you get going.

The handset works like any ordinary 'phone, which gets a good signal from the base station all through my 4-up 4-down detatched house and, indeed out into the garden. The handset is nice and light, so it's easy to slip into a pocket to carry round the house if you want. The mic is nice and clear and you can adjust the volume. Do bear in mind that the whole setup NEEDS to plug into your domestic power supply to work. Unlike a normal domestic phone, a cordless handset like this will NOT work if the power is off.

The base-station carries the answerphone. If this is turned on it will answer your calls after a user defined number of rings and the "Play" button will flash to show that there's a message waiting. The base station plays the messages through an in-built speaker so you don't need to pick up the handset to listen to the messages. You can also listen to the phone answer incoming calls befor picking them up so that you can avoid long and dull conversations with Aunty Meg. Simples.

Comes with a nice long power lead and phone cable (about 1.5m) and batteries are ready installed in the handset.

Is it a fantastic cordless phone? Who can say? I would give it 3 stars to begin with and have added an extra star because the answerphone is a useful feature. The one thing it's missing that I would have liked is a speakerphone, but I'm not going to mark it down for that. You have to decide if it's what you NEED though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect hands free land-line phone, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BT 1500 Cordless DECT Phone with Answer Machine (Electronics)
I bought this phone because I suffer from pain and it is perfect saves me having to rush to answer my old wall mounted phone. I can carry this one around the house with me.
Nice and simple menu so easy to use.
Answer machine has on/off option.
It also has caller display so you don't need to answer those withheld unwanted advertisement calls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great product, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great product easy to use. Buttons are clear and easy to use. Slim and elegant. Would recommend if your looking for a new phone look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at last!, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's so difficult to choose a phone without plugging it in and trying it out, and we have had several that just didn't. This is easy to use, clear sound, the answer machine bit is also easy and you can easily see if you have a message. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought it because my BT cordless phone without answer phone started being temperamental. I decided to upgrade to an answer phone. The answer phone facility works well but I find it difficult to hear the phone on its loudest setting.
. I have to press it very close to my ear and there is no facility for speaker phone which i found a boon on my last phone. i don't enjoy talking to my family and friends on the phone now as the strain of trying to hear is too stressful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good phone, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BT 1500 Cordless DECT Phone with Answer Machine (Electronics)
good phone just what I needed, doesn't take up much room and easy to use. records messages well and keeps until you want to remove.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars These phones are very basic but the calls are clear ..., 23 Oct 2014
By 
John O. Lawani "Omelawani" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These phones are very basic but the calls are clear and loud enough. A major disadvantage is the lack of a hands free option so if that's important to you then you have to look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars You get what you pay for ..., 21 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BT 1500 Cordless DECT Phone with Answer Machine (Electronics)
Pretty bog standard phone, and answering machine, nothing special. It has a creepy 70's-style ringtone, sounds a bit like the phone in the comedy series "The Office". I found it strange that the number of contacts allowed is so limited, and that the number of characters allowed in someone's name is so low - a name like Arnold Robertson wouldn't fit, so you'd end up with Arnold Rob, or A Robertson, which seems a bit daft. It's not very sleek-looking either, so might be OK for an office, or a garage, but probably not in your living room.

But, as the title says, you get what you pay for ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews