Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Coverage
I believe this is a re-print of articles that appeared in 'Scientific American'. It is divided into sections with a number of articles in each section. Sections include 'History and Philosophy', 'Physics' and 'The Human Side'. The articles are of a quality and complexity that you would expect from a scientific journal of this nature and the wide coverage of the topic...
Published 17 months ago by Roberto Stampini

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Time flawed - define your terms!
There is a fundamental flaw in all the essays published, as I have pointed out to Scientific America.
To put this flaw succinctly, there is no tangible, empirical, evidence of time being 'real'. Time doesn't 'cause' anything; it's not a force, or a stream or a flow. If it has no causal impact, it has no existence, other than in our mind.
If it did, we could...
Published 5 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Coverage, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Question of Time: The Ultimate Paradox (Kindle Edition)
I believe this is a re-print of articles that appeared in 'Scientific American'. It is divided into sections with a number of articles in each section. Sections include 'History and Philosophy', 'Physics' and 'The Human Side'. The articles are of a quality and complexity that you would expect from a scientific journal of this nature and the wide coverage of the topic allows the user to make better informed choices about which aspects of time they would like to investigate further. I found it to be a 'treat' and started by rationing myself to one chapter a day. This was a discipline I managed to keep up for nearly two days.

If you're like me; you'll find it fascinating and great value at the 3.00 mark. However, I have noticed that there are quite a few people who aren't like me at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Question of Time: The Ultimate Paradox (Kindle Edition)
The book contains all you need to know about time, in every point of view. I learnt quite a lot about the history of time keeping till how our own body keeps track of time. It is an excellent book for those who has always been curious about the our little fourth dimension!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but there's some repetition going on + not enough pictures, 5 Jun 2013
This review is from: A Question of Time: The Ultimate Paradox (Kindle Edition)
So, since I'm a bit of a junkie for anything time related in both philosophy and science, I was glad to get my hands on this nice compilation of articles from Scientific American. Each article has the same subject -- time. The problem of the nature of time is tackled from many different angles -- starting with an economic view of the importance of time and ending in the role of time in physics. The articles are mostly easy to read and seem to be easily accessible to laymen for the most part. However, as you might expect for such a compilation of articles, there is some repetition. Also, I was unpleasantly surprised after finding only a few pictures, which were of rather poor quality. After all, one of the many reasons why Scientific American is popular is, of course, colorful and informative illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i good read, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Question of Time: The Ultimate Paradox (Kindle Edition)
A collection of articles ( a magbook) well worth the money and will certainly get you thinking about the whole idea of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Time, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Question of Time: The Ultimate Paradox (Kindle Edition)
In this issue the beginning, end, and arrow of time are discussed. Some of the theories are speculative. I personally prefer the discussion of arrow of time, in terms of increasing entropy of universe, moving from order to disorder. Weather there is a beginning or an end in time remains a question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - read it in no time at all!, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Question of Time: The Ultimate Paradox (Kindle Edition)
Each chapter looks at a different perspective on time. Complex concepts are explained with great clarity and without recourse to difficult mathematics. The different chapter authors also offer differing opinions so you do not get hooked into thinking any one theory has all the answers.
A discussion forum would be great. I still do not really understand why time dilation affects only the traveller and not the home bound who could be viewed as just travelling in the opposite direction to the traveller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A question of time, 28 Jan 2014
By 
David Horgan (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Question of Time: The Ultimate Paradox (Kindle Edition)
An extremely interesting and engaging survey of time in modern physics. Packed full of thought provoking ideas and concepts, it raises more questions than it answers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Paradox, 10 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. G. Brace (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Question of Time: The Ultimate Paradox (Kindle Edition)
Having now read a few books on quantum mechanics, particle physics etc., I did get something from this book. However, I am just an interested amateur with the normal school physics background; thus I would not recommend this book for first-timers into this vastly complex world of theory and counter theory. I was completely lost in some parts but was able to pick up the thread in another chapter occasionally....yes, this the equivalent of 'rocket science', so don't be surprised if you feel slightly stupid as the end.....will there be an end?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Question of Time, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Question of Time: The Ultimate Paradox (Kindle Edition)
I found the book, a collection of papers on 'time' submitted to SM over the recent past,to be quite absorbing in places. But there are some papers which are very difficult to follow. Nevertheless, I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The more I think about it the more I am ..., 21 July 2014
By 
john bristow (BORDON, Hants, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Question of Time: The Ultimate Paradox (Kindle Edition)
The more I think about it the more I am convinced that yes time travel is not only possible but has happened and is happening now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Question of Time: The Ultimate Paradox
A Question of Time: The Ultimate Paradox by Scientific American Editors
1.44
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews