Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need at a very decent price
I have a beard that alternates between designer stubble and a grade 1 trim. For the past year or so I have used my Braun cruZer 6 Beard & Head 3-in-1 Trimmer and Clipper which is similar but does not have a stubble attachment. With a normal beard trimmer there are grades 1 and above or with the guard off a single stubble setting.

The Braun is a better made...
Published 23 months ago by Mr. R. D. Turner

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine for beards, but not that good for head hair
For £25 this is okay, not amazing but not bad.

The battery is good in that you get a good use out of the charge
It isnt that powerful compared to a mains powered clipper, although you would expect that. I had to often go over the same bit several times which was annoying
You don't get much max length, it's says 31mm, but even when I put it on the...
Published 4 months ago by G Ahern


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need at a very decent price, 20 May 2013
By 
Mr. R. D. Turner (Derby, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philips Series 3000 9-In-1 Mens Grooming Kit QG3342/23, Beard Trimmer with Hair Clippers, Moustache, Stubble, Nose Hair and Eyebrow Trimmers (Personal Care)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have a beard that alternates between designer stubble and a grade 1 trim. For the past year or so I have used my Braun cruZer 6 Beard & Head 3-in-1 Trimmer and Clipper which is similar but does not have a stubble attachment. With a normal beard trimmer there are grades 1 and above or with the guard off a single stubble setting.

The Braun is a better made device and comes with a case but this Philips has a couple of key advantages:

1. It is cheaper
2. The stubble trimmer has many more teeth on the attachment than a standard trimmer. This is just brilliant at trimming an already short beard and much more consistent than the Braun
3. It has a mains plug rather than a shaver socket.

The Philips comes with a head hair trimmer and a foil for normal shaving but both of these are not great. The head hair attachment is too flimsy and besides, use a mains powered device if you need to cut hair! The shaver foil is not great and nothing on a dedicated electric razor.

However the stubble and beard trimmers are great and the cleaning brushes just the right size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Versatile Kit, 19 May 2013
By 
T. Walker (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philips Series 3000 9-In-1 Mens Grooming Kit QG3342/23, Beard Trimmer with Hair Clippers, Moustache, Stubble, Nose Hair and Eyebrow Trimmers (Personal Care)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Philips have a good name in consumer goods and electronics and this product certainly doesn't let them down.
I have a full beard and until now have used a Philips beard trimmer for that, and my wife uses a hair trimmer on my head. With this kit we can dispense with the difference, because it will do both functions, plus a few more. The length settings are very wide, which is useful - the hair clipper has 18 settings, as has the beard trimmer. In addition to all of that there is a nose/ear hair trimmer that works very well and without tugging.
The trimmer head can be cleaned using water.
A sturdy and handy tool and very reasonably priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine for beards, but not that good for head hair, 11 Dec. 2014
By 
G Ahern (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips Series 3000 9-In-1 Mens Grooming Kit QG3342/23, Beard Trimmer with Hair Clippers, Moustache, Stubble, Nose Hair and Eyebrow Trimmers (Personal Care)
For £25 this is okay, not amazing but not bad.

The battery is good in that you get a good use out of the charge
It isnt that powerful compared to a mains powered clipper, although you would expect that. I had to often go over the same bit several times which was annoying
You don't get much max length, it's says 31mm, but even when I put it on the longest length it would cut my hair would be as short as Will Smith in Hancock

It is good for beard cutting

I have now bought a mains shaver, I don't really see any advantage to buying a rechargeable clipper for cutting your hair
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, 20 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Philips Series 3000 9-In-1 Mens Grooming Kit QG3342/23, Beard Trimmer with Hair Clippers, Moustache, Stubble, Nose Hair and Eyebrow Trimmers (Personal Care)
Truly a terrible product. This is the replacement for the QG3040 which in my opinion was a great product. This latest model is awful. Battery lasts a fraction of the time of the old version, it doesn't cut anywhere near as close and they've increased the price! You would have to be crazy to buy this item. Mine went back the same day it was so useless. Do yourselves a favour and buy the Wahl Lithium Ion unit instead - it charges quicker, holds that charge far longer, is more robust, better built, cuts waaaay closer, can handle thicker hair easily and is almost a tenner cheaper on Amazon. No contest between the two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not too shabby (and the shaver), 3 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips Series 3000 9-In-1 Mens Grooming Kit QG3342/23, Beard Trimmer with Hair Clippers, Moustache, Stubble, Nose Hair and Eyebrow Trimmers (Personal Care)
Received the item today and was massively overdue use so jumped right in. So far have used the main stubble trimmer (very good cutting ability if a little rough feeling on the lowest grade) as well as the precision and shaper (not sure yet as neither appeared to be doing much however think this may be due to the original shortness of the stubble I went for).

The razor itself appears quite powerful, was already charged for use and is quite sturdy. Certainly an improvement from my last shaver which cost about the same but with no attachments.

One downside initially is that the 'stand' (which looks relatively well made and something you'd leave it out with the all the attachments in on the picture) is a cheap piece of plastic which i'd only keep in a drawer so that I didn't lose any of the attachments, which pushed it from an initial 4.5 to 4 star review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent, well made and good value bit of kit, 22 May 2013
By 
Ed.F "edz314" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Philips Series 3000 9-In-1 Mens Grooming Kit QG3342/23, Beard Trimmer with Hair Clippers, Moustache, Stubble, Nose Hair and Eyebrow Trimmers (Personal Care)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've not had this trimmer and kit long, so this review is based on early impressions. So far I find this a decent bit of kit. It feels well made, the motor is powerful and has that reassuring gyro-torque effect in the hand when you turn it on. It charges ok, about 8hrs to full charge I think, and seems to last quite well. The attachments are a bit of a curates egg with some which appear to be quite useful (I admit I've only used the standard beard trimmer bit so far) and some which look like an attachment too far. Basically I'm saying that I don't fancy using the nose hair trimmer on my delicate nostrils. It's great value, and does the job. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Average trimmer with rubbish attachments, 2 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips Series 3000 9-In-1 Mens Grooming Kit QG3342/23, Beard Trimmer with Hair Clippers, Moustache, Stubble, Nose Hair and Eyebrow Trimmers (Personal Care)
Quite disappointed with this trimmer.

The unit itself is OK-ish, but the attachment combs are badly designed and flimsy. They feel like they'll break very easily. They also cut unevenly unless you hold the head flat against your face at all times. Definitely wouldn't risk cutting head hair with it. And why does the stubble trimmer go up to 12mm? 12mm is a beard, not stubble.

Also, a storage case/bag would have been nice; the supplied "stand" is just a thin plastic insert for displaying the product in the box. Utterly useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I imagine it will be easy to lose items from it, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips Series 3000 9-In-1 Mens Grooming Kit QG3342/23, Beard Trimmer with Hair Clippers, Moustache, Stubble, Nose Hair and Eyebrow Trimmers (Personal Care)
Does the job I need it too at a low cost however the packaging and 'base' is tacky plastic and not built to last. I imagine it will be easy to lose items from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars However the product is not that good the stubble attachment and nose trimmer are the best ..., 7 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips Series 3000 9-In-1 Mens Grooming Kit QG3342/23, Beard Trimmer with Hair Clippers, Moustache, Stubble, Nose Hair and Eyebrow Trimmers (Personal Care)
Hello guys .I bought this item it arrived fast and well packaged so no fault on the seller at all. However the product is not that good the stubble attachment and nose trimmer are the best bits and do a good job. Its when you want to get a close shave and use the trimmer without the attachments there is just not enough power behind this machine so if you want to do detail shaving then I would recommend a different trimmer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for middle aged bears., 9 July 2013
By 
El Loro (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Philips Series 3000 9-In-1 Mens Grooming Kit QG3342/23, Beard Trimmer with Hair Clippers, Moustache, Stubble, Nose Hair and Eyebrow Trimmers (Personal Care)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a remarkable piece of kit for forty something hair bears.

It's essentially a set of light electric shears - maybe a bit too light for shaving your head, but more than just a facial hair trimmer.

Two things make it remarkable. First, the ingenious way the gauges clip on. Without going into detail, they clip around the end of the trimmer instead of sitting on top. The gauges are adjustable and, best of all, stay firmly in place. Yes, they're a bit fiddly at first but once you get your head around it, they're as simple as anything.

The best thing, however, is that it's waterproof so you can use it to keep your body hair undercontrol in the shower.

Only one minor drawback: the gauge doesn't seem to match the gauges on other trimmers so a number three, say, on this might be the number three on your usual trimmer. Still, that's easily dealt with.

Overall: marvellous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews