Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best grape reference ever!
This is it - the one and only true wine grape reference book. If you're a wine geek or professional, don't hesitate! But don't expect a book which you can read from cover to cover. Instead, this is a reference that you will still use 10, 20, or even 40 years from now.
Published 13 months ago by Roel

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Turgid
Worthy and comprehensive but completely turgid and therefore barely readable. It lacks the fun, soul and readability of her previous Vines, Grapes and Wines - which I found excellent - but now in need of an update. It has its uses; I refer to it often but it is akin to choosing wine based on a tech spec sheet of acidities, dry residual, alcohol and sulphur, rather than a...
Published 17 months ago by Chesters


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best grape reference ever!, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is it - the one and only true wine grape reference book. If you're a wine geek or professional, don't hesitate! But don't expect a book which you can read from cover to cover. Instead, this is a reference that you will still use 10, 20, or even 40 years from now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The wine grape bible!, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic book on wine grapes. If you are dedicated to wine, this is a must in your library. I was a little dissapointed because I belived it would be pictures of every wine grape in the book, that is by far not the case. But you must admire the incredible amount of work put into this book, and I do not regret buying it at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy Bible, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A huge book in every possible way one could look at it. Just the thought of the immense work that was required for it makes my had ache. The editing could have been a bit better, with my main concern being the diagrams that are not visible. Of course one could argue that I can download them for the web site (which I did) but that is not why I paid more than 100 euros for it (with the postage). The arguement about how thin are the pages and how small are the letters are valid, but on the other hand the alternative would be a book twice the size and weight. And I do like the fact that its one volume and not two.

This is a serious collective work, that requires a considerable amount of money and I strongly believe is only destined for those who are in the wine trade, wine students or just people that have a strong interest in wine. This is not something you would read casually sitting on the couch. The vast amount of information in this book, will be lost to someone who just drinks a glass of "(I don't care what) wine here and there".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a heavy weight - an excellent book for any wine lovers library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars By far THE must-have wine book!, 15 April 2014
By 
Roeland Verbist (Brussels, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book every wine lover should have on his shelf!
Tons of information.
Very detailed albeit it with some minor inaccuracies and details out-of-date.
Next edition will be completely spot-on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate grape reference book for wine lovers., 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly researched, indepth, well presented reference guide, covering all aspects of wine grapes. A must for Diploma and MW students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
always an answer when drinking a wine from an obscure grape
it makes wine drinking more special
with nice pictures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wine Grapes, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a gift for a wine enthusiast. He was very pleased with it as it provided him with a very comprehensive source of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know about wine grapes, 25 Sep 2013
By 
H. Flatland - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book, full of information. Lots of new insights into well known grapes and lots of grapes never heard of! Very useful and informative.

If you want the deepest info on the wine grapes, this is the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must for everybody with a passion for wine and who want's to dig in deeper into the 'cepages'.
A digital version, an app for example could be useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews