Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars85
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£15.06+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 March 2016
This is a great Anime and I had it on dvd so when it came to blue ray I had to buy it its in my top 10 anime a must have heres my unboxing of it
[...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2011
This was my very first anime 'collection' I purchased. I purchased it from amazon at the beginning of 2010 and I'm so glad I did! ...Not just because it's one of my favorites, but because of how ridiculously rare and expensive it has become. Even though it WAS my number 1 favorite, until I discovered Death Note (amongst others), it's still sitting comfortably in my 'Top 10'. To me, this series is both depressing and uplifting at the same time. It's also misunderstood - it received quite a bit of controversy and hatred because of its violence and nudity. Yes, this series contains its fare share of both, but at its centre lies a sad, haunting, tragic, emotional and beautiful character driven tale. If you're a sensitive type you may find some scenes upsetting, which may move you to tears!

The animation, while great, does show its age a bit, but still holds up pretty well and has plenty of attractive background art and cute looking main characters. Lucy/Nyu and Nana are the main standouts in this series and all three are equally memorable; they're some of my favorite anime characters!

The music score is equally great, memorable and haunting and helps add to key emotional scenes. The stand out track is, without a doubt, the Latin opening song, 'Lilium'. One track in particular feels out of place considering the nature of the series and that's the ending song - a J-Pop number called "Be Your Girl".

I've read reviews stating that the voice overs, in both English and Japanese, are flat. I certainly won't be rushing to defend the English dub, but I never really felt the Japanese dub was weak by any means.

Unfortunately, the series does have its share of flaws: characters do sometimes make questionable decisions, which isn't helped thanks to the translation job. ADV's subtitle job can, for the most part, be good, but is sometimes plagued with inconsistencies and mistakes. Also, when there are loads of signs on screen at one time, there are usually subtitle translations underneath every one of them. To me, it's quite distracting when your reading what the characters are saying. Of course, some signs do need to be translated, but most of them in this series are irrelevant to what's going on.
Another main issue is that the story is incomplete. As a result, it has quite a number of plot holes and unanswered questions. Now, I have the read the manga, and I have to say (in my opinion) that the anime is far better despite the story being unfinished; I felt the story to the manga got a bit silly near the end (though it has been a while since I read it). While I thought the ending to the manga was sad, the ending to the anime is more open ended and leaves it up to the viewer to decide. I prefer this. Not only that, but it makes the ending bittersweet.
And finally, another criticism would be the fanservice (the nudity to be precise), which could have been toned down a bit. Thankfully, the majority of it is more 'innocent' than sexual; either that or it's used for comedic effect. Also, the fanservice isn't as bad as it's depicted in the manga - I found the majority of that was completely unnecessary!

Overall, this short but sweet bloodbath... er, I mean, series... is recommended! If you can't find this collection on eBay for a reasonable price then I suggest streaming it online and see what you think. You may find yourself in either the 'love it' or 'hate it' camp. But if you're a fan of anime, gore/violence, character driven stories or psychological horror, then you need to give it a shot.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2009
I once gave my blind old granny a cheese grater for Christmas; she later told me that it was the most violent book she'd ever read.
Had she been able to 'read' Elfen Lied she might have changed her mind on that score.
I am not an anime/manga aficionado; I've viewed the odd Studio Ghibli offering before now, to my mind some good, others not so good.
I bought this set because the write ups were so passionately for or against, with not much of a middle ground in between.
The graphics leave a lot to be desired, & you're required to take too much for granted, not to mention the humongous holes in the plot; or the fact that much I'm assuming, has been lost in translation.
Think of it as the sado masochistic porno cartoon version of The Bridge to Terrabithia, & you're halfway there...but it's none of those things. It is what it is, & even though it fails on so many levels, it succeeds on so many more.
You will either love it or hate it (or even campaign to get it banned completely), but don't just turn it off part way through episode one, as I very nearly did. You need to watch it through to the end before you can decide (not forgetting to include episode 11.5 online, English subtitles only).
It is disturbing, with far too much gratuitous titillation, & more blood & gore & guts than Gordon Ramsay has swear words for: & then there is the swearing!
Not for the kids, nor your blind old granny.
Yet for all that I ended up thinking, I Love Lucy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
The series has always been close to my heart. I needed to get myself a copy of the boxset. Nicely boxed and has a nice poster included.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2008
I've been an anime fan for most of my life. I think this is one of the best series I've seen. I've converted a load of people who don't usually watch anime to adore this series. It's just as good 2nd and 3rd time round and I speak as one who mostly won't watch a film more than once, let alone a whole series.

I thought the opening was gratuitous with nudity (although most this is not of a sexual nature) and gore. It had me wondering if I'd like the series at all. The first disc pushes the cute factor a little more than necessary, but this mostly only on the first disc. That said, by the end of the first disc I immediately wanted to watch the rest of the series!

I found the plot engaging and it was paced perfectly through the series. Repeat viewing definitely led to a greater understanding of the story because of it's many subtleties and complicated themes, which come across surprisingly well in the English language version. While it starts with guns blazing, gore and nudity (have your anime checklist at the ready!), it ends being a rather moving love story that has a unique take on relationships and human nature.

The settings and artwork are often very beautiful and tranquil, and the character design is top quality.

If you enjoyed 3x3 Eyes, you'll definitely enjoy this.

I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good anime. In fact, if I had one anime to recommend to someone it would be this one.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2008
I'm not exactly an expert on anime but I have watched many a film etc. and i can say that Elfin lied is really one of the better anime i have seen recently. The animation was beautiful especially the opening credits (klimt styled anime?!?!?!). I have watched it both in the original Language with english subtitles and Englished dubbed, and trust me its hard to choose which one i prefer, this is one of the very few animes to have a decent voice acting crew for the dubbed. People have criticised this as being unnecessarily gorey and too much nudity. Im not a fan of these either but it kinda helped develope characters in a way (as in trying to show the difference between lucy and Nyu), Plus helping to create Comedy and horror in the same episode!. However the story line isn't that original, but then again what is now a days. But over I couldnt keep my eyes of it, sat down and watched it from start to end on one go, and have watched it several times since, and enjoyed every second of it! I think that says it all..Sorry if this review isn't helpful to you
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
10 out of 10 all disks are there quick shipping brand new works and in english dub recommed to all anime lovers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2015
It didn't come in the best of conditions but considering the price I let that slide.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
Good anime and story,just feels a little dated and story becomes repetative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
everything fine but unfortunately it had a little dent , many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.