Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nyu?
Purchased this recently and although Im no Anime conniseur (Paranoia Agent, Samurai Champloo and Cowboy Bebop are the only series I have watched) I can safely say this is a worthy addition to the aformentioned.

Technically the DVD is well mastered and upscaled looks a treat although the sound is quiet and the english dub (as mentioned earlier) is a little...
Published on 18 Mar 2010 by twelve

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Very Interesting Anime.
Elfen Lied is a anime with elements of gore, action and adventure. The story is about a "Diclionious" named Lucy, who has pink hair with horns growing out of her head. She is dangerous, and is able to use stretching invisible hands called "Vectors." These enable her to take out any targets, and that is what deems her so dangerous, making her way out of a facility, aiming...
Published on 8 May 2009 by Hannah Hayes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A seriously flawed series., 7 Mar 2009
By 
I. Hart - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I once gave my blind old granny a cheese grater for Christmas; she later told me that it was the most violent book she'd ever read.
Had she been able to 'read' Elfen Lied she might have changed her mind on that score.
I am not an anime/manga aficionado; I've viewed the odd Studio Ghibli offering before now, to my mind some good, others not so good.
I bought this set because the write ups were so passionately for or against, with not much of a middle ground in between.
The graphics leave a lot to be desired, & you're required to take too much for granted, not to mention the humongous holes in the plot; or the fact that much I'm assuming, has been lost in translation.
Think of it as the sado masochistic porno cartoon version of The Bridge to Terrabithia, & you're halfway there...but it's none of those things. It is what it is, & even though it fails on so many levels, it succeeds on so many more.
You will either love it or hate it (or even campaign to get it banned completely), but don't just turn it off part way through episode one, as I very nearly did. You need to watch it through to the end before you can decide (not forgetting to include episode 11.5 online, English subtitles only).
It is disturbing, with far too much gratuitous titillation, & more blood & gore & guts than Gordon Ramsay has swear words for: & then there is the swearing!
Not for the kids, nor your blind old granny.
Yet for all that I ended up thinking, I Love Lucy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comes highly recommended, 19 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. D. Dawson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've been an anime fan for most of my life. I think this is one of the best series I've seen. I've converted a load of people who don't usually watch anime to adore this series. It's just as good 2nd and 3rd time round and I speak as one who mostly won't watch a film more than once, let alone a whole series.

I thought the opening was gratuitous with nudity (although most this is not of a sexual nature) and gore. It had me wondering if I'd like the series at all. The first disc pushes the cute factor a little more than necessary, but this mostly only on the first disc. That said, by the end of the first disc I immediately wanted to watch the rest of the series!

I found the plot engaging and it was paced perfectly through the series. Repeat viewing definitely led to a greater understanding of the story because of it's many subtleties and complicated themes, which come across surprisingly well in the English language version. While it starts with guns blazing, gore and nudity (have your anime checklist at the ready!), it ends being a rather moving love story that has a unique take on relationships and human nature.

The settings and artwork are often very beautiful and tranquil, and the character design is top quality.

If you enjoyed 3x3 Eyes, you'll definitely enjoy this.

I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good anime. In fact, if I had one anime to recommend to someone it would be this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Entertaining, 7 Sep 2008
I'm not exactly an expert on anime but I have watched many a film etc. and i can say that Elfin lied is really one of the better anime i have seen recently. The animation was beautiful especially the opening credits (klimt styled anime?!?!?!). I have watched it both in the original Language with english subtitles and Englished dubbed, and trust me its hard to choose which one i prefer, this is one of the very few animes to have a decent voice acting crew for the dubbed. People have criticised this as being unnecessarily gorey and too much nudity. Im not a fan of these either but it kinda helped develope characters in a way (as in trying to show the difference between lucy and Nyu), Plus helping to create Comedy and horror in the same episode!. However the story line isn't that original, but then again what is now a days. But over I couldnt keep my eyes of it, sat down and watched it from start to end on one go, and have watched it several times since, and enjoyed every second of it! I think that says it all..Sorry if this review isn't helpful to you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lilium, 5 Jun 2011
By 
DustyShinigami (Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This was my very first anime 'collection' I purchased. I purchased it from amazon at the beginning of 2010 and I'm so glad I did! ...Not just because it's one of my favorites, but because of how ridiculously rare and expensive it has become. Even though it WAS my number 1 favorite, until I discovered Death Note (amongst others), it's still sitting comfortably in my 'Top 10'. To me, this series is both depressing and uplifting at the same time. It's also misunderstood - it received quite a bit of controversy and hatred because of its violence and nudity. Yes, this series contains its fare share of both, but at its centre lies a sad, haunting, tragic, emotional and beautiful character driven tale. If you're a sensitive type you may find some scenes upsetting, which may move you to tears!

The animation, while great, does show its age a bit, but still holds up pretty well and has plenty of attractive background art and cute looking main characters. Lucy/Nyu and Nana are the main standouts in this series and all three are equally memorable; they're some of my favorite anime characters!

The music score is equally great, memorable and haunting and helps add to key emotional scenes. The stand out track is, without a doubt, the Latin opening song, 'Lilium'. One track in particular feels out of place considering the nature of the series and that's the ending song - a J-Pop number called "Be Your Girl".

I've read reviews stating that the voice overs, in both English and Japanese, are flat. I certainly won't be rushing to defend the English dub, but I never really felt the Japanese dub was weak by any means.

Unfortunately, the series does have its share of flaws: characters do sometimes make questionable decisions, which isn't helped thanks to the translation job. ADV's subtitle job can, for the most part, be good, but is sometimes plagued with inconsistencies and mistakes. Also, when there are loads of signs on screen at one time, there are usually subtitle translations underneath every one of them. To me, it's quite distracting when your reading what the characters are saying. Of course, some signs do need to be translated, but most of them in this series are irrelevant to what's going on.
Another main issue is that the story is incomplete. As a result, it has quite a number of plot holes and unanswered questions. Now, I have the read the manga, and I have to say (in my opinion) that the anime is far better despite the story being unfinished; I felt the story to the manga got a bit silly near the end (though it has been a while since I read it). While I thought the ending to the manga was sad, the ending to the anime is more open ended and leaves it up to the viewer to decide. I prefer this. Not only that, but it makes the ending bittersweet.
And finally, another criticism would be the fanservice (the nudity to be precise), which could have been toned down a bit. Thankfully, the majority of it is more 'innocent' than sexual; either that or it's used for comedic effect. Also, the fanservice isn't as bad as it's depicted in the manga - I found the majority of that was completely unnecessary!

Overall, this short but sweet bloodbath... er, I mean, series... is recommended! If you can't find this collection on eBay for a reasonable price then I suggest streaming it online and see what you think. You may find yourself in either the 'love it' or 'hate it' camp. But if you're a fan of anime, gore/violence, character driven stories or psychological horror, then you need to give it a shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Elfen Lied: Complete Collection, 11 May 2014
This review is from: Elfen Lied: Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Well, after getting started on NGE, which is now rather old and had a very annoying American dub, but a complex, original storyline, I was looking for something more recent but just as original and interestingly different. EL ranks high in many top 10 anime series lists, so I checked it out - all 13 episodes - on Youtube.

Elfen Lied is certainly not for children or younger teens - it's way too bloody. It has to be. In a nutshell, the story is as follows - *SPOILER ALERT*...

Due to an obvious genetic mutation, with unexplained cause, a small number of children are born with two small horn like protrusions on their heads. All such births occur in a single region within Japan. As an infant, each child develops the ability to deploy at least four invisible arms from its back, which can extend for a distance of between 2 and 11 metres, or more. These extra arms and hands possess incredible, superhuman strength. A secret military research project confiscates such children at birth and kills them before they have the chance to develop the ability to deploy these arms (known as vectors), for fear that in future years any progeny will annihilate all normal humans. However, some children are not killed, but are kept for experimentation purposes, supposedly with a view to nurturing them to act as super weapons against any similar mutants that cause havoc at large in the community. As experimental subjects, reared in isolation, these children are subjected to the most inhumane treatments and their emotions are underdeveloped: they are encouraged to be uncompassionate killers. One breaks free from the maximum security research facility and kills dozens of armed personnel along the way, tearing limbs from bodies with her vectors and pulling people to pieces, literally. She finds shelter in the city with a boy she once knew as a small child and her personality changes to that of a nice child - unless her life is threatened. Other "horned" children are despatched to track her down and kill her but fail. These children are able to sense their proximity to one another when one of them is angry. Many armed personnel lose their lives along the way. It turns out that those in charge of the research project are attempting to discover the genetic mutations that enable these children to be so special, so that they can transform themselves to have the same features and abilities. Of course, it is not really possible to genetically transform a fully developed person, but the head of the project and his son do attempt to transform themselves. They develop horns, but nothing else. The son is killed along the way. At the end, two of these children are living in the city, having evaded capture and killed those despatched to capture/kill them. Supposedly they live happily ever after. The series just ends leaving you wondering what becomes of them and subsequent children born with this mutation. We don't know what happens at the research facility, what other locals make of these children, or whether they have children in years to come. We never learn of what caused the initial genetic mutation/s. The initial escapee does state that she exists to destroy mankind and that over a period of five years she could give birth to enough progeny with abilities like hers abilities to dominate the planet ...but we are left with the impression that she won't so long as her childhood friend is by her side to comfort her. This series gets just three stars for failing to tie up the loose ends either with a stand alone movie or a subsequent series. The story is compelling, in that it is like a book you can't put down. After watching each episode, I couldn't wait to see what happened in the next. However, the loose ends that we are left make watching this series a waste of time.

BTW, sure, there is some nudity, but it is neither graphic or sexualised. Certainly nothing to be upset about. The same cannot be said of the violence. On the other hand, these children have been raised to be living weapons and do possess superhuman abilities. Worth a look, if you don't mind extreme bloodshed, but not worth buying until such time as subsequent episodes are released to tie up the loose ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elfen Lied Best, 20 July 2008
Ok this was the first anime that i have seen and it was not a let down. (has spoilers and sorry for any spelling mistakes!!)

Its starts off by followin a girl called Lucy who has been put in a very secure faclitiy until she has been let out by an unknown person (find out late on in series) from what you get in the slow escapeing is that she is a very dangerous little girl and can rip peoples limbs off in a matter of seconds and yes you see it all happening! (Lucy has things that are called Vectors that you don't see in the first episode) So it goes though alot of "shoot her" and death at the start (all worth it) The man trying to stop her from escapeing is Kurama hes in charge of keeping all the subjects locked up as well as other things.

After Lucy gets out the facility she get shot off the cliff and ends up on a beach on the near by town where she is discovered by two young cousins Yuka and Kohta that are starting college soon. Surpriseing Lucy cannot say anything but Nyu (and has no clue about the vectors) when she is discovered but the two of them decide that its best to take the little horned girl (yes she has horn we don't see in the first scene) home to Kothas new place where we start to learn more about Kohta and Yuka and Yuka feelings for Kohta.

Back at the facility they're seeing all the damage that was cause in a matter of minutes and sorting out waysd that they can kill Lucy enter Bandoh a mad killing man who has yet to find an enemy to bring him down he is sent to kill Lucy with a small unit search team also ordered to kill her.

Kohta and Yuka are basicly teaching Lucy how to every thing like eating rice balls and takeing a bath (thats how much shes lost!). Kotha and Yuka end up calling Lucy Nyu because thats all she can say although you still kinda understand what she means to say at times! Yuka finds out the Kohta still has the shell that his little sister found years ago at the beach and new looks at it and then breaks it which makes kohta lets say very angery (his sister died) Nyu runs away crying, a few mintues later Yuka explains that she understands why Nyu broke it And the episode ends with Nyu out in the rain still crying looking for a new seashell.

So thats the first episode if you like the sound of it trust me its well worth watching the rest to see how all te characters know each other and come together and Kohta's secert! To me its by far the best thing i have ever seen in story an stucture!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it!, 7 July 2008
By 
MasterCookieman (UK - Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
Elfen Lied is great! Beware, lots of violence, blood and nakedness....but one good story! Visually, it's pretty, though not fantastic, average, but nice 21st century animation.

A lot is unanswered...anime does that though...kind of annoying, but you do get used to it...

I have to admit to being slightly upset by the animal violence, which isn't shown directly, but the squeals and blood say enough... However, this was necessary to explain a characters development, why the character becomes the person they are. To me, it was a very emotional expression of pain and confusion, which makes you understand and bond with the character.

Hmm, the only problem I had was how complex biomechanical limbs are shown, which is fine...yet at the same time, 10 minutes later, you're shown very simple 'pop-on' limbs that do the same job! Didn't make sense to me, spoiled it a bit.

If you're new to Anime, you'll want to see Gantz and Serial Experiment Lain. Once again, don't expect a lot of answers.

You need this in your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elfen Lied: Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Alles in Ordnung. Vielen Dank
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elfen lied, fantastic!, 26 May 2008
By 
i cant say much that hasnt already been said in the other 5 star reviews i just simply wish to add my voice to those.
I bought this on a whim after being told if i liked 3x3 eyes that it would blow me away. The 1st episode went by and i thought hhhmmm good but overated... though i kept watching. The further into the series you go the better and better this anime gets and by the end i was massively hooked. its story though not strong initially just grows and grows and by the end you find yourself loving characters who at first you may not and really caring about their fates right up to the climatic and emotional ending.

If you like any anime that contains humour story romance and violence BUY THIS! You will NOT be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure geneus. what a rolercoaster, 11 July 2009
By 
A. Doran "doran2003" (everywhere) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the most emotionaly desturbing manga i have seen."i think the series should be 18 raiting though". Nudity (non sexual ) lots of graphic violence, and it has some very desturbing sub plots in there .The animation is good the sub titles are briliant (labeling japanese writing ) ,this is the best manga i have watched to date this is a must have dvd I rate this above AKIRA GITS+SAC GUYVER all the top rated animai are 2nd best to this .This animai is highly under rated and not as main stream as it should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elfen Lied: Complete Collection [DVD]
Elfen Lied: Complete Collection [DVD] by Mamoru Kanbe (DVD - 2013)
£25.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews