Customer Reviews


191 Reviews
5 star:
 (169)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As If You Have Never Seen Africa Before
You know what I like about the BBC? When they do something, they do it right, astoundingly right. Their work is original and exceptional. And when it comes to professionalism, they are the masters. I have seen so many wildlife documentaries about Africa on TV and DVDs, but this one is like no other. I have seen all the six episodes in two days and what a richly rewarding...
Published 18 months ago by Ahmed A. Al Ajmi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Read fine print before ordering
As is now expected from BBC - incredible wildlife video graph with entertaining audio overlay. Outstanding presentation. Disappointed that the box and default play including preview ads are all in Dutch. Irritating.
Published 3 months ago by Damian D. Largier


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating series from a master in natural documentaries, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa [DVD] (DVD)
A great series all about the species diversity of Africa. Anyone who has ever watched an "Attenborough" documentary will not be disappointed in this series, excellent presentation and with a few added extras as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We both love it!, 27 Oct 2013
By 
ArkAmA (Corneto di Toano, RE, Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa [DVD] (DVD)
Once again an utmost pleasure to watch these dvd's!
Being born in Africa myself, of course this was just a little bit more 'involved' but the nature shots are as usual most amazing and I love the 'eye to eye' part where you get some background on how it all was filmed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant!, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa [DVD] (DVD)
Attenborough at his best. Bought for my 4 year old grand daughter after becoming obsessed with ours and she loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC Earth at its best, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Probably one of the best BBC Earth productions I have ever watched. Photography is absolutely stunning, brilliant, jaw dropping. Sir David at its best again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the joys of modern natural history, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa [DVD] (DVD)
this one pulls out all the techniques of the last few decades wildlife filming, and combines them into a real viewing feast. the photography in this one is beautiful, well, truth is they all are really, but this one manages to present new behaviours using wonderful filming techniques.

its a great way to give the overall view of africa as a continent, which is a big place, and is cleverly done region by region so we get a better "grand" view

this one is my new favourite, as i always love whichever one is current... if i try to be objective, id say overall this one is the best of the lot, well worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Africa DVD, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa [DVD] (DVD)
May I thank everyone involved with this outstanding production. I think that no words could sufficiently praise David Attenborough for providing us with this extraordinarily beautiful documentary film. David's commentaries are treasured by all of us who love wildlife films and it is also educational and is wonderful viewing for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Attenborough, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa [DVD] (DVD)
Always rivetting, always groundbreaking footage.Time delay footage of the Sahara dunes moving was a particular favourite.

I always feel enriched after watching Attenborough. A vast continent, a vast subject - perhaps few more episodes would have been better..............but the series was magnificent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Digital copy only for UK!, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This documentary is beautiful. So far I'm only on the second disc and I'm loving it. Unlike the 'Life' documentary, this is set mostly against the backdrop of Africa's beautiful skies and endless forests, so even if the material doesn't work too well for you, the scenery probably will.

Just wanted to note quite clearly though that the digital copy only works for UK residents. I was planning to watch some of this on my Imac when the large flatscreen isn't available but I can't because I'm in Ireland. That's pretty cheap of you BBC. I just paid 20 and can't access the full features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... the 'Dark Continent' - Africa - and at a good price, what more could you want, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa [DVD] (DVD)
A three DVD - six - part series with narraton by Sir David Attenborough on the 'Dark Continent' - Africa - and at a good price, what more could you want ? A very good series with the now expected brilliant photography and a variety of subjects and habitats. A must for your Natural History collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Africa [Blu-ray]
Africa [Blu-ray] by David Attenborough (Blu-ray - 2013)
14.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews