Customer Reviews


180 Reviews
5 star:
 (160)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jaw dropping
Having watched a number of excellent wildlife documentaries on the BBC, I was always expecting this to be brilliant, but this literally made my jaw drop at some point in each episode! The stories told are often funny, moving, and sometimes downright heartbreaking. The photography is just fantastic, and the music is like something out of a film, and completly fitting for...
Published 17 months ago by Estella123

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Read fine print before ordering
As is now expected from BBC - incredible wildlife video graph with entertaining audio overlay. Outstanding presentation. Disappointed that the box and default play including preview ads are all in Dutch. Irritating.
Published 1 month ago by Damian D. Largier


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jaw dropping, 10 Feb 2013
This review is from: Africa [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched a number of excellent wildlife documentaries on the BBC, I was always expecting this to be brilliant, but this literally made my jaw drop at some point in each episode! The stories told are often funny, moving, and sometimes downright heartbreaking. The photography is just fantastic, and the music is like something out of a film, and completly fitting for the awe inspring, vast land that is Africa. David Attenborough's narration is of course spot on, and the behind the scenes section at the end of each episode is a fascinating insight into the amount of hard work that went into this wonderful series. It also highlights some very important issues concerning our environment, and the treatment of the African wildlife. I can't recommend this enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Achievement., 13 Feb 2013
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Africa [DVD] (DVD)
The BBC are to be congratulated for producing another outstanding addition to their Natural History repertoire. With a big budget, this painstakingly produced six episode series has presented the viewer with almost six hours of top-class entertainment that took four years to shoot. The initial impact is the stunning effect of the photography that captures the wildlife and landscapes. The technical brilliance of the camera work has revealed aspects of the lesser known species, often small or living in a remote environment previously inaccessable or not filmed before (the Shoebill and chicks nesting, for example). The more familiar animals are pictured in mesmerising slow-motion sequences, sparring giraffes over territory, lions, black rhinoceroses and elephants establishing rank and mating supremacy.

Using starlight camerawork, the rhinos. reveal an unexpected social side, gathering at night around a waterhole, and seemingly communicating picked up by novel sound techniques. The greatest wildlife continent on the planet with its constantly changing environment, climate and landscapes are visualised in a bewildering display. David Attenborough's narration links the scenes with his umatchable professionalism and dulcet style. It is one of inspiration and information without being over educational, often told more as a story, from happy to sometimes upsetting scenes. His forecast for the continent with the changes occurring so rapidly is quite forboding. The music I found unobtrusive but may not be to everyone's taste. The 'Eye To Eye' sections at the end of each episode were revealing in the 'this is how we did it' mode. An extremely enjoyable experience that will lend to repeat viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As If You Have Never Seen Africa Before, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa [DVD] (DVD)
You know what I like about the BBC? When they do something, they do it right, astoundingly right. Their work is original and exceptional. And when it comes to professionalism, they are the masters. I have seen so many wildlife documentaries about Africa on TV and DVDs, but this one is like no other. I have seen all the six episodes in two days and what a richly rewarding experience it was.

The episodes are arranged 'regionally' rather than by habitat. The BBC team, and in four years, visit some of the striking places in Africa from the Atlas Mountains in North Africa to the Cape of Good Hope in the south to bring us some of the extraordinary wildlife spectacles this ancient continent has yet to offer. Some of these unforgettable events are: two male giraffes fighting in Nambia, black rhinos socializing near a waterhole in the cover of darkness in Gorongosa National Park in Mozambique, daring lizards catching flies off sleeping lions, chimpanzees using branches to dig honeycombs out of tree barks while the young ones watching and learning, silver ants battling the scorching the brutal African sun to gather food in just 10 minutes, spectacular sand dunes shifting which took months to video, etc. Really really amazing stuff.

In the extra materials, you get to learn what patience, endurance, dedication, and professionalism it all took in order to produce such top notch film making. I really take my hat to all the BBC team members who were involved in this project.

And yeah Sir David Attenborough is the narrator (who also appears in person in some of the episodes). What a joy it was to hear his voice : )

I enjoyed Africa immensely and I highly recommend it to anyone interested in wildlife documentary films. Perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Africa, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa [DVD] (DVD)
David Attenborough's Africa is a wonderful DVD. The photography is amazing & animal behaviour is superb... especially the giraffe fight. it arrived very quickly & was well parcelled. Would deal with e the seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shows that wonderland that is AFRICA!, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Born in Africa and having lived my whole live here, this makes me better understand how privileged I am and why I will never be happy in more "civilized" continents, despite all Africa's human problems. We have to preserve Africa's wildness for future generations. These videos make that absolutely clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Amazing, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The BBC absolutely make the best wildlife documentaries available, so saying this is one of the best is saying a lot, and it is certainly one of the best. I never realized how diverse the continent of Africa is in its wildlife & terrain, some of the views of the plains are simply jaw dropping, you can see for miles & it really comes across on film. After watching this series i have an unshakable sense of how Africa embodies the yin/yang of existence, the droughts/floods, deserts/rainforests, the ebb & flow of life/death, it is all captured in this series. It is a heartbreaking & heartwarming adventure but always awe inspiringly beautiful. Thanks to the makers of this great work, truly a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning., 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I worked on this continent for 2 months and swore never to go back.....this series is making me think again. Stunning camera work and excellent narration by David Attenborough once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Africa DVD, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa [DVD] (DVD)
Great viewing. Bought as a gift and much appreciated. This was an excelent series bringing unknown aspects of wildlife to our attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Kilrymont (Somewhere in Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I've seen all the various series from the Attenborough school of nature filming since his old Zoo Quest stuff in B/W and then onto Life on Earth his first major wildlife series, but can't think of any that are better than this one. I do wish it'd gone a bit further than it did but that's an observation, not a criticism. This really is wildlife filming of the very highest calibre and one not likely to be bettered soon. There are shorts produced for each episode and those too are very very watchable indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A must for any collection, stunning pictures and quality. The next best thing to being there in person. Blue-ray a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Africa [Blu-ray]
Africa [Blu-ray] by David Attenborough (Blu-ray - 2013)
15.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews