Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Story beautifully illustrated
Having read numerous versions of the story to my daughter you forget how beautiful the original version is (translated but unabridged). The story is too long to be read in one sitting at bedtime - unless you're happy reading for half an hour. The illustrations are incredible each one perfectly complementing the different stages in the story. Would really benefit from...
Published on 25 Dec 2009 by T. Burns

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a nice read
Very different from Disney's version yet a pleasure to read. It was not what I was expecting at all. A
Published 7 months ago by abby


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Story beautifully illustrated, 25 Dec 2009
By 
T. Burns - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having read numerous versions of the story to my daughter you forget how beautiful the original version is (translated but unabridged). The story is too long to be read in one sitting at bedtime - unless you're happy reading for half an hour. The illustrations are incredible each one perfectly complementing the different stages in the story. Would really benefit from Look Inside functionality - you can see the illustrations on Christian Birmingham's website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tragic tale, 22 Dec 2000
By A Customer
The origional story of "The Little Mermaid" is a beautiful story, I also love the Disney version, but this was pure magic. The ilustrations in this book are beautiful and capture the emotions of the story. If you hated the Disney version, give this one a try, you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful gift for children, 23 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a stunning book. The story is wonderfully told and the illustrations are exquisite. I really hope that this is something that my little girl will come to treasure and read to her children over time as it is just so charming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful story, 16 Sep 2010
By 
M. E. Pike "starfishuk" (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If, as I did, you want to buy a book that you can keep for years and pass down to your children then I highly recommend this version. The illustrations are beautiful with a dreamy quality and the book itself screams quality with nice thick pages and a strong hardback cover. It's a very large book also and the text is a nice size, perfect for reading aloud with your young ones or reliving your childhood. The tale itself is a classic and needs no explanation and as most will know it's got a very different ending to the famous Disney version and although its sad it's also very poignant. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True to the original tale and beautifully illustrated, 27 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read several adaptations of this tale and come across a few people who don't know the original ending of the story and whose views are based on the Disney adaptation I felt compelled to write my own review of this book. In my opinion, the meaning of the original tale was lost in the Disney film and the protagonist was not accurately portrayed.

Without giving too much away, the story is about a curious mermaid's quest for love. She suffers and sacrifices much to be with the one she loves, however, the course of love does not run smoothly and the ending here is a tragic one.

This is a faithful translation of the original story if you want to read it to your child and the illustrations that capture the ethereal world of the little mermaid alone is worth purchasing. You can see some of the illustrations if you google Christian Birmingham books illustrated.

In summary, if you are dithering over which version of The Little Mermaid to buy for both children and grown ups then this is the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Mermaid (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Mermaid (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this as I had not read it since childhood, I had forgotten how dark it was but appreciated the descriptive language much more as an adult. This is one story that everyone must read once in their life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet read, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Mermaid (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
Very sweet story. Would reccomended to 4,5,6,7,8, and 9 year olds personally. Good read.i really enjoyed this book and if you purchase it I hope you will enjoy it to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a nice read, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Mermaid (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
Very different from Disney's version yet a pleasure to read. It was not what I was expecting at all. A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The little mermaid, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Mermaid (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
Short and sweet, very interesting and so different to the film's I watched as a child. Has given me a different perspective on what it was like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Little Mermaid (Illustrated)
The Little Mermaid (Illustrated) by Hans Christian Andersen
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews