Customer Reviews


309 Reviews
5 star:
 (162)
4 star:
 (98)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 90 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent if flawed action/conspiracy thriller
This is a decent action-thriller in many ways. It is well written and based on an interesting premise which the author uses reasonably well but I do have some quite strong reservations.

Brilliance is set in a parallel version of the present day in which a group of people born with exceptional abilities ("Brilliants") are making "normals" feel threatened and...
Published 19 months ago by Sid Nuncius

versus
43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't know what it is
This book starts with an interesting premise about the birth of gifted, or 'abnorm' children. What differentiates this from X Men is that they have extreme human, but not superhuman, powers; to read body language, understand patterns, etc. The main protagonist is charged with tracking down those who go astray.

So far, so Blade Runner, but then the book suddenly...
Published 15 months ago by M. A. Truman


‹ Previous | 1 2 331 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fast paced and exciting, 10 Jun. 2013
By 
I. B. Pitbladdo "jacandian" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Initially I had trouble believing in the premise of this story that a government would persecute a small section of its community because they were different. However, it is also hard to believe a government could force a minority of its people to wear yellow stars on their clothing, but that is an uncomfortable fact of history. So, maybe this idea is not so farfetched.
Once I accepted the idea that these things could happen I really enjoyed the swift action and twisting plot of this fairly large novel. The writing and characterisation are good and the action is well paced and exciting. The final line indicates that this is the first book in a continuing theme...recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read, 19 Aug. 2014
By 
Pete F. (Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliance (The Brilliance Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading this book as although it is set in a fictional era where some humans have evolved 'super' powers, neither the world which they inhabit nor the powers that they possess are beyond the bounds of believability.

The story is basically about an undercover government agent trying to bring down a terrorist organisation led by a highly intelligent individual who few have ever seen and even fewer have come into contact with. His name is feared by the 'normal' humans who believe that he and his 'Brilliants' are seeking to take over the world. As always there is a twist in the tale which, although not totally unexpected, is enough to keep you reading right up until the last page. This is not one of those books which tries to be too clever with convoluted plots etc. and as such it makes for an easy bed-time read which does not tax your brain too much : ).

Definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An important story about how humans fear difference and seek to control and limit it, as well as a great read., 16 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliance (The Brilliance Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The story is about the struggle of those who have been born with special gifts or skills that border on superpowers. Called “brilliants” they are feared by “normals” who seek to control, restrict and limit their power and influence.

Normal manage to do this because they are so much more numerous. The gifted are forced underground or their skills are used to control other gifted.

It is a very real book as it portrays, exactly what does happen to many gifted individuals. The book mirrors how those who are above average or just different are often treated with fear and suspicion. Often forced to hide or suppress their own talents for fear of being chastised, by those who are often no less talented, but who are simply unwilling to master their own gifts.

This book is an important story about how humans fear difference and seek to control and limit it, as well as a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DAMN FINE READ!, 5 Sept. 2013
By 
Brian Jacobs - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliance (The Brilliance Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I found this a compelling mix of sci-fi, thriller and conspiracy. Well written and nicely paced, with characters who aren't just black and white. There seems to be a modern trend of demonising the American law enforcement agencies, and this book is no exception, all the more unsettling because their actions seem so credible. I gather a film could be in the offing, as well as a sequel - I can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling read, 28 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Brilliance (The Brilliance Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Fast pace ,strong plot , not a boring bit in it ,can not wait for the next one , hope it fills gap at the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking read at a bargain price., 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliance (The Brilliance Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is one of those books you'll want to read in one session. The action starts immediately and doesn't let up. The good news is that the second book in the series is just as high octane, so well worth starting the series.

The main premise for the book is that since the 80s, one in one hundred people are born with savant level skills. This splits our species into a majority (norms) and a minority (abnorms). This creates a conflict in the story. Where norms feel they are becoming obsolete and abnorms feel persecuted.

I won't spoil the resulting escalation and development of the story, but the subject is handled extremely well, with protagonists and sympathisers on both sides.

I can't wait for the 3rd book and so far the cost of these books has been extremely good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent enough thriller, but I don't understand the excitement, 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliance (The Brilliance Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I've read reviews complaining, 'Brilliance' is too similar to - you name it - the X-Men, Alphas, Heroes, The 4400, Harry Potter, Heidi, the Bible. Not fair. It is a well-written thriller, both stylistically and structurally, very polished and visual though that infamous "je-ne-sais-quoi" is missing. The book screams "lease make me into a feature film", while it would be lucky to be made into a TV movie.

I can't remember on whose recommendation I read Amazon's sample of Brilliance, but I was hooked and bought the complete novel straight away (proof that this marketing concept really works, though I buy fewer than one of ten of those I try). Had I known it is the first of a trilogy, I probably wouldn't have bought it ... though I might read the next volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliance is brilliant, 2 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
well, I don't usually write reviews but this book is worthy of one. The book is about people with special "gifts" or abnorms and the society that they live in, friends of the X-men will feel right at home with this book. The book presents a question that has asked many times in comics what would happen if some humans developed abilities far greater than that of the average human,how would society deal with this?The author does a very good job of describing the positive and negative side of such an event and he gets his characters development really good so that the reader can understand both sides.To my surprise this wasn't a one time book but part one of a SAGA can't wait for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A truly excellent and entertaining read., 14 Aug. 2013
By 
G. J. Oxley "Gaz" (Tyne & Wear, England) - See all my reviews
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Nick Cooper is a federal agent and a `brilliant' (1% of the population are thus termed for their exceptional gifts); his talent being his super-enhanced ability to hunt out terrorists. And a fellow `brilliant' is the man he is hunting.

Marcus Sakey's book is a form of conspiracy thriller. It's one of those fascinating works based on an `original' idea that keeps you reading to find out whether the writer has the chops to turn into a wholly unique work. Unfortunately the novel has flaws, but you can't deny the writer's ambition, and I found the book to be a wholly engrossing work, thus earning it the max star rating - while acknowledging the few niggly concerns I had with the plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, though extremely derivative., 18 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliance (The Brilliance Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I did enjoy reading this book. I would like to make that clear before I begin my critique. It's got a good premise that, thankfully, avoids the term 'superhero' being attached to any of the characters. However, the major flaw is that you can see where the author has cherry picked ideas and this spoiled the story for me. Yes, it's difficult to think of anything that is truly original but if you have seen the matrix, watchmen, heroes or any number of movies/tv series you will see where the ideas have come from. That said, I really enjoyed the ending and if you enjoy a good thriller with science fiction undertones this will definitely be your 'cup of tea'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 331 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews