Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can you ever trust a Vampire?
This book is written for the teen market so I was a bit skeptical about how well it would be written, as there is a tendency for the mass market to produce some really awful books that are just climbing on the bandwagon of the time. The subject of Vampires is one such bandwagon but Marjorie Blackman has managed to avoid these pitfalls and produce a great book that both...
Published on 24 Aug 2003 by Kali

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars More suitable for older children
My 10 year old granddaughter asked for this book for her 11th birthday, because she was enjoying a book by the same author at school. Glancing through it, I read some sections which I showed her mother and we decided it was not suitable for a child of her age. To be fair, we didn't read the whole book, but even so it wasn't suitable and has been put away until the time...
Published 7 months ago by rosemary reaRosey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can you ever trust a Vampire?, 24 Aug 2003
By 
This book is written for the teen market so I was a bit skeptical about how well it would be written, as there is a tendency for the mass market to produce some really awful books that are just climbing on the bandwagon of the time. The subject of Vampires is one such bandwagon but Marjorie Blackman has managed to avoid these pitfalls and produce a great book that both teen and young adult will enjoy. Also as an added bonus, the heroine Heather is a young Black girl, which as an ethnic minority myself I felt I could relate to, especially when dealing with the issues of racism which Blackman bought in and dealt with considerable ease.
The storyline follows Heather and her (white) boyfriend Andrew backpacking across Europe and how Andrew is turned into a Vampire by a seductive young man with a deadly secret. For the moment Heather is spared from this ordeal but Andrew persuades her that the only way they can be together is if she lets him turn her into a Vampire. Being a Vampire turns out not to be all that Andrew promises, especially when she has to kill her neighbour's son pet rabbit to quench her thirst for blood. Also Andrew has changed, he is no longer the boy that Heather loved and would have died for. Being a Vampire has corrupted him, not only that but his racist family are accusing Heather of causing all Andrew's problems and its not long before everything gets out of hand and Heather has to stand up to Andrew in a battle in which only one of them will survive.
This is a surprisingly good read and is well written with convincing dialogue and believable characters. Andrew's mother is a grotesque parody of a parent, and his brother Morgan is a vicious spoilt young man who both hates and fears Heather. The book starts off slowly and then gathers momentum until you are practically eating every page. If you are looking for a happy ending then this book is not for you, however there is the consolation that Blackman might write a sequal which would I wish she had already done, because I think Heather has great potential as a serial character, even more-so than Buffy the Vampire Slayer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood Chilling Book, 19 Aug 2005
By A Customer
Trust Me is a really great book! It starts of as an everyday sort of book until the vampires come into it! Malorie Blackman writes so vividly that it is as if the charactors are real, and the vampires are coming to get you! I really couldn't put this book down! If you are a person who enjoys reading real life stories, then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trust Me, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trust Me (Kindle Edition)
This book was another of Malorie Blackman's page-turners. The content so different ans interesting. A really gripping read, so new and exciting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing., 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trust Me (Kindle Edition)
This book is a really good book to read if your into vampires.
"Trust Me" about a girl called Jayna and her boyfriend Andrew, and how wrong things went after their holiday around Europe.
This is definitely a book I would recommend reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars amazing!, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trust Me (Kindle Edition)
Its a great romance/thriller read and is amazing for teenagers looking for a good book.
It has a really good, strong plot
Read it
Trust me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More suitable for older children, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trust Me (Paperback)
My 10 year old granddaughter asked for this book for her 11th birthday, because she was enjoying a book by the same author at school. Glancing through it, I read some sections which I showed her mother and we decided it was not suitable for a child of her age. To be fair, we didn't read the whole book, but even so it wasn't suitable and has been put away until the time seems right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three stars, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trust Me (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the main story and plot of the book by it had a strange unexpected end that was very abrupt. It was almost as if she had no ideas left!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very, very good!!, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trust Me (Kindle Edition)
My daughter really enjoyed this even though usually she does not like vampire books but this one was unique. Overall very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true demonstration of trust through LOVE!, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trust Me (Kindle Edition)
I love reading Malorie Blackman books because they are always written from a black perspective which I find interesting. I found this book riveting which demonstrated how blind love can be I could stop reading it an every opportunity. This is something I have found with all of Malorie Blackman books. Thank you for inspiring me to read again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 2 Oct 2014
By 
Penny Gillis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trust Me (Kindle Edition)
It is written by an amazing author but didn't really love the book. There is a difference between reading and enjoying. I'm afraid this book was read but not enjoyed as much as it should of been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trust Me
Trust Me by Malorie Blackman
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews