Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAPPY DAYS, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Bobby Darin (Audio CD)
Way back in the early 60s when I was but a child this fella was brilliant. Didn't realise it then,of course,but reflection shows us the man's sheer versatility : THINGS, MAC THE KNIFE,DREAM LOVER,BEYOND THE SEA, SPLISH SPLASH............ the list goes on, and each and every one completely different from the preceding.( Didn't happen again until the advent of DAVE DEE,DOZY,DIRTY MICK AND DICK ) Wonderful memories of happy days are brought back o this CD; worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good, 20 May 2013
By 
Heather Oliver (St Albans, Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Bobby Darin (Audio CD)
We're replacing our old LPs, vinyl to those under 40, and this was a must have. I'd forgotten how good he was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Legendary Artist, 16 Jun. 2013
This review is from: The Best Of Bobby Darin (Audio CD)
It is a cliché to say that had he lived he would be a major star in Las Vegas to rival Sinatra. It is perhaps an exaggeration to compare with Sinatra, but his death was a great loss to popular music. I hope the movie will introduce more of the public to his brilliance, although it was clearly a mistake not to use a younger actor for the early part of his life.
Bobby Darin had style and charisma. 'Beyond the Sea' is one of my all time favourite songs, and the superb delivery of the lyric in Things' shows a great artist able to master pop and swing.

Just enjoy as we all do a great artist and his work.

Gerald Lee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD!, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Bobby Darin (Audio CD)
Bobby Darin great singer, great CD, includes all of his great songs. Things, Mack the Knife, Beyond the Sea, Dream Lover, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond The Sea with Bobby Darin, always a pleasure..., 5 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Bobby Darin (Audio CD)
If you are acquainted with the music of BOBBY DARIN then there is very little to say about him, words are superfluous to his talent.
This album contains a collection of his most well known recordings along with a fine selection of not so well known. Either way it is sheer listening pleasure. I would recommend younger people to take some time out and have a listen, after all there aren't so many radio networks today where this type of music can be heard fifty years or so later and still sound as if it were recorded this morning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great loss, 5 Jun. 2014
By 
Mrs. L. C. Ramsden "Stevie 333" (Hereford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Bobby Darin (Audio CD)
Bobby Darin was a great loss to the entertainment world and this is a good collection of songs.
The only disappointment was that the quality sound wise is not consistent; some of the songs sound old and of a poorer quality. A pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bobby Darin - The best of, 23 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. Paul F. Ricketts "Rocky" (High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Bobby Darin (Audio CD)
Very representative of Bobby's immense talent. All his well known (and some not so well known) songs. A must for any fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars comment Bobby Darin, 20 Jun. 2014
This review is from: The Best Of Bobby Darin (Audio CD)
I did not realise how much I would like this album. Pure nostalgia, and the sound was better than I remembered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly the best ...., 6 Dec. 2013
By 
n3_biker (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Bobby Darin (Audio CD)
A terrific compilation here of Darin's commercial career up to, but not including, If I Were a Carpenter, which marked a significant change of direction. Here we have the early rock'n'roller [Splish Splash], the accomplished cabaret artist [Mack the Knife] and the catchy pop singer [Things, Multiplication]. The disc also contains the rarely found instrumental theme from the movie "Come September". Why though, is 18 Yellow Roses not here? I always wonder how compilers of these collections make their choices. Anyway, it's a bargain, and sounds great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great voice, 26 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Bobby Darin (Audio CD)
He was a bit before my time but I was familiar with several of the songs on this album and have now come to appreciate what a great singer he was and the range of music styles he performed. I would recommend it to anyone who likes their music laid back but with more than the average MOR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of Bobby Darin
The Best Of Bobby Darin by Bobby Darin (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews