Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar Goddess is back!
I first became aware of Orianthi when she was announced as Alice Cooper's new tour guitarist in 2011. After seeing her play live, I bought her previous album, Believe. Whilst the guitar playing was fantastic, the songs and production all seemed a little too commercial,'poppy' and Avril Lavigne-esque.
Heaven In This Hell is a very different animal!

Produced...
Published 16 months ago by N. PEARSON

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars rock
Heard Orianthi on Planet rock thought sounded good, so bought album, whilst okay only a couple of tracks that I really like the others are a bit boppie.
Published 5 months ago by sez47


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar Goddess is back!, 18 Mar 2013
By 
N. PEARSON - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven In This Hell (Audio CD)
I first became aware of Orianthi when she was announced as Alice Cooper's new tour guitarist in 2011. After seeing her play live, I bought her previous album, Believe. Whilst the guitar playing was fantastic, the songs and production all seemed a little too commercial,'poppy' and Avril Lavigne-esque.
Heaven In This Hell is a very different animal!

Produced by Dave Stewart of the Eurythmics it has a much more raw, yet refined sound and the song-writing is more mature. Ori's voice is much stronger too, probably due to rocking out with The Coop for the past 18 months. Blues-rock is the overall genre but there are some harder rock, like the title track and Frozen, and a couple of tracks with a country feel them, no doubt inspired by being mostly recorded in Nashville. This is the real Orianthi and I think she's made a record that SHE wanted to make, rather than her record company.

After the first listen, there wasn't one track that had be thinking 'hmmm, that needs a few more listens' and after multiple plays, it just gets better. Listening to it through some decent headphones reveals some lovely textures that you don't hear when it's blasting out through speakers.

This isn't just about Ori shredding on every track, she plays some lovely 12-string accoustic, banjo and there's even some violin and harmonica thrown in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Styles collide to stunning effect, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven In This Hell (Audio CD)
Orianthi, interesting name and even more interesting as a recording artist. Churlish to pigeonhole the lady in any specific genre. On this latest 11 track offering there are shades of Blues Rock for sure but also some alt country, raucous rock and some soulful grooves. The result is an album that is never anything less than interesting.

Orianthi has something to live up to having been a respected and loved member of a certain Alice Cooper's band and now being mentored and produced by the taskmaster and genius that is Dave Stewart. Has to be said early doors that this is a relationship that has enormous potential, especially when you look at the song writing credits. The two are clearly in sync here. Stewart's production is razor sharp, tight and spacious allowing Orianthi to shine both vocally and musically, equally the rhythm section is given room to breathe.

Rather than give a track by track breakdown I've focused on tracks that demonstrate the diversity of styles that sit so well together.

If you want rock then the opening salvo of the title track, Heaven in This Hell will sure as hell please. It quite literally explodes from the speakers, a chugging driving riff sitting under a raw angry vocal delivered at great pace but then right at the end a wonderful little cameo of acoustic bliss. You Don't Wanna Know follows in similar rocky vein with a wrenching impassioned six string solo. Just when you think you have it sussed, Orianthi pops up with a catchy little melody on the Banjo, joyous!

The alt country feel is certainly to the fore on Rock, very laid back, very melodic, light and airy and for me, reminiscent of the Lady Antebellum sound.

The soulful sounds feature on the sublime How Does That Feel where Orianthi almost recreates that unique Nile Rogers Chic sound, funky, tight but spacious and the sting in the tail is the climactic searing and soaring solo.

The album also contains a couple of terrific ballads, where vocally Orianthi hits the heights I associate with Beth Hart, here the lady is at her impassioned best, laying bare heart, soul and emotion. Another You is a quite beautiful, moody love song where vocal and instrumentation dovetail perfectly. However, in terms of ballads, the best is saved til last with album closer, If You Were Here With Me. This is a haunting number that brings the pace down and allows some super keys to underpin the torn vocal but Orianthi lifts the song even higher with another superbly free style solo. Perfect end to the album.

So what of the bluesy numbers, very high quality and enough to satisfy the harshest critic of contemporary Blues. Three tracks in and Fire delivers the first bluesy sounds, a vocal with a strong echo, pulsating bass and drum sound and that unique squally almost metallic sound redolent with so much of the Blues. However, for this dude the hightlight of the whole album is penultimate track, Filthy Blues, that is one apt title because this really is filthy bad ass Blues in the finest traditions. This is locomotive on greased rails for you, metronomic riffing, short sharp chops and another giant slab of rhythm. The mid song double switchback from riffing to featherlight 12 string acoustics then back to a truly brutal solo is awesome. I can imagine Stewart directing operations here to capture the mood!

My first aural experience of this young lady, certainly not my last!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven In This Hell (Audio CD)
Orianthi is one of the best guitar players I know, and if that matters she probably ranks as the number one girl in that domain. This is her third solo album, although she played with luminaries like ALice Cooper, even Michael Jackson etc. As i said in a review of her previous album, this sounds like Avril Lavigne with a hard edge, because underlying all (very poppy) songs is this guitar work, flashes of 6-string lightning that suddenly blind you with their dazzling brilliance. Her voice is really good, and the songs addictive. She could make a guitar shredding opus, she could make any sort of formidable guitar album, but so far she's been making nice melodic songs, most with a sharp guitar edge. I love it, and this is highly recommended from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE ALBUM, 10 April 2013
By 
Steven Anderson "Steve" (Irvine, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven In This Hell (Audio CD)
Yet again Orianthi proves why she is among the top guitarists in the world and not just a top female guitarist. I thought her last album "Believe" was going to be hard to beat but she has blown it away. There isn't one song on the album I would grow tired of listening to. If you like Joan Jett, Lita Ford, Malina Moye, Nancy Wilson then you will love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must buy!, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven In This Hell (Audio CD)
I introduced to this rock goddess through Richie Sambora. She is an amazing guitar player and her voice is great too. She was due to tour with Michael Jackson so if you've seen the tour prep footage you would of seen her there. This is my favourite album at the moment with not a single bad track. I encourage you to listen to the album once and then you'll be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven In This Hell (Audio CD)
Wat a brilliant album this girl gets better and better just listen and enjoy a great mixture of rock and soulfully ballets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars rock, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven In This Hell (Audio CD)
Heard Orianthi on Planet rock thought sounded good, so bought album, whilst okay only a couple of tracks that I really like the others are a bit boppie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This lady can seriously play the guitar, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven In This Hell (MP3 Download)
This lady has the package... stunning voice, plays the guitar like one of the best. You will love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Orianthi Heaven in this Hell, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven In This Hell (Audio CD)
This is her best album yet, I've seen her twice live with Alice Cooper and is definately one of the worlds top guitarists. She would have been seen on the Michael Jackson This is It tour had it gone ahead, there are clips on You Tube of her rehearsing with MJ her plaing is superb. If you'venever heard of her but like great rock guitar playing try this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Orianthi, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven In This Hell (Audio CD)
Nice album, can see why she was picked to go on the tour with Michael Jackson, some off the tracks you could imagine jackson singing along to them, great stuff from a great talent, hope to catch her on tour sometime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heaven In This Hell
Heaven In This Hell by Orianthi (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews