Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking compilation
I always enjoy reading the 'Lunch with..' article in Saturdays FT and here was a cracking compilation of some of the most interesting interviews from over the years. It was novel to see how the style of interview had changed over time.. and also to read about lunches with personalities who are no longer with us, or who occupy a very different place in the public eye. Eg...
Published 15 months ago by Andrew Greenhalgh

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Light lunch
This is a mixed bag. From the FT i would expect a higher overall standard.
some of the interviews you wonder why they chose as you don't learn much.
also, annoyingly - some have picture and itemise the bill and others don't.
I'm sure over all those lunches, some more really interesting/thought provoking stuff came out.
Maybe this was just 'all the...
Published 6 months ago by amanda samuel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking compilation, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always enjoy reading the 'Lunch with..' article in Saturdays FT and here was a cracking compilation of some of the most interesting interviews from over the years. It was novel to see how the style of interview had changed over time.. and also to read about lunches with personalities who are no longer with us, or who occupy a very different place in the public eye. Eg. Saif Gaddafi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lunch with the FT. 52 classic interviews., 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent coffee table book. Guests can just pick it up and find something that interests them.
Very informative interviews. I have recommend it to many people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Book, 11 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Such a difference to any other book. Excellent for those who want a quick 10 minute read. Many of the writers' comments are revealing. Excellent value. A good present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not often I'd describe a book as beautiful, but it's presented incredibly well. The interviews are all short, so you're always tempted to read another. The illustrations are incredible. The breadth of interviewees is staggering which makes this book all things to all people. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lunch with the FT: 52 Classic Interviews (Kindle Edition)
A great mix of characters in this edition. Wonderful. Will want to get more of these books. I like reading biographies and these are mini peeps in lives of known and unknown people. Keep going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Light lunch, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a mixed bag. From the FT i would expect a higher overall standard.
some of the interviews you wonder why they chose as you don't learn much.
also, annoyingly - some have picture and itemise the bill and others don't.
I'm sure over all those lunches, some more really interesting/thought provoking stuff came out.
Maybe this was just 'all the lunch that's fit to print?'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, 17 Aug 2013
By 
Momo (Salford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lunch with the FT: 52 Classic Interviews (Kindle Edition)
A wide range of "victims" lead to a varied read. Each page contains a surprise and intriguing insight into either the "victim" or the interviewer. Best read in bite sized chunks and thought about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some are missing, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book, beautifully edited, is a good survey of the culture, politics, sports, arts, finance, in the last five years. Nevertheless, I understand that it is really difficult to make a perfect selection, I miss some of the most interesting lunches with some people, as for instance the one with John Elliot Gardiner. Any way , the book is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insight, well served., 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a book about the humanity beneath the mover and shaker. The format is revealing in where it shows how the interviewees choose what to eat, where to eat and how to interact with restaurant staff. Often the actions surrounding the meals speak more eloquently and poignantly than the people being interviewed. This is not to denigrate the content of the interviews, however. It is equally fascinating. Collectively the work has much insight into some of the major events of the last 20 years or so. Each session is nicely judged and written and the book itself is a work of beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great !, 9 April 2013
By 
M. Woischneck (Köln) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dive into the interviews with some of the biggest names from the arts, politics and economics - + the menu they chose ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews