Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
88
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2015
Loves being taken on the journey with such well written tales I feel like I got to know Reg. Thank you for teaching me so much and reminding me how grateful we should be to all those forgotten soldiers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
It is amazing that anyone would have been able to have endured the extreme hardships that Reg Twigg did during his captivity in Burma. I think everyone should read this book to make sure no more world wars happen in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
An incredible read. One of the most moving books I have ever read. Despite the terrible conditions Reg describes, the disease, slavery, inhumanity, disease and death on that railway, his sense of humour shines through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
Really enjoyed reading this book. It's impossible to really know what these brave men went through or understand how they managed to survive through years of mental and physical torture.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2015
A book I just couldn't put down. Day to day trials and suffering of unimaginable proportions. Story told from first hand accounts of a brave man who survived against the odds.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
I loved this book. It's a really honest account, he doesn't hold back on the horrific details, at all. He also, which I like but do not always agree with, doesn't cower to political correctness and just re-tells it exactly as he feels it. It's a step into past cultures, Japanese and British working class men, of the 40's. One of the best war time memoirs I've read. I've visited Hellfire pass in Thailand and can't even begin to imagine how these men survived what they did. They are true Legends of survival. And this book is a highly recommended read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
Just wonderful cant say more really touched a nerve within my family thank God this is written down so it is never forgotten
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Very moving life story proud to have known the family.
Well worth a read a good sense of the reality of a terrible war
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
what a generation,came back from a living Hell. no stress counciling for them or thanks from a grateful Govment Shameful
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
Saw this advertised in The Telegraph alongside a big feature - but at £2 more!
Looked it up in Amazon - job done!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)