Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars **** off, hairball
You don't have to take this too seriously. Of course, it's never going to be as good as the book but it still not too bad.
Doctor moves to new town, new house. Creepy neighbour shows the family the pet cemetary at the back of the house and tells a story about his dog buried there. New doc's daughter's cat gets killed on a busy road and dies, he buries it in an old...
Published on 10 May 2004 by sp

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read the book
When I was about 17 I read 'Pet Sematary' for the first time. It really made my skin crawl, it was a truly haunting and queerly beautiful novel. I found out that there was a film version and could not wait to see it. If 'The Shawshank Redemption' and 'Carrie' were anything to go on, it should have been a great film.
Alas, I was truly disappointed by this frankly...
Published on 24 Sep 2003 by Miss JR Gillard


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars **** off, hairball, 10 May 2004
You don't have to take this too seriously. Of course, it's never going to be as good as the book but it still not too bad.
Doctor moves to new town, new house. Creepy neighbour shows the family the pet cemetary at the back of the house and tells a story about his dog buried there. New doc's daughter's cat gets killed on a busy road and dies, he buries it in an old Indian burial ground (who doesn't have one of those in the back yard) and it comes back to life but is not the cat he was! When his son dies, he does the same but son comes back "evil" and goes on to kill mother and creepy neighbour. Husband buries wife in graveyard and she comes back and kills him (phew!). Oh, and there's a ghost in there too.
You get the picture. Nothing too taxing. The cast is not huge and the leads are okay, Fred Gwynne plays his part well as does Dale Midkiff. The kids are annoying and you would bury them anyway.
It doesn't look like a cheap production and hasn't really dated. Best part is the Ramones soundtrack.
Watch with an open mind and you might enjoy. Watch it to be critical and you won't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The barrier was not meant to be crossed. The ground is sour.", 10 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pet Sematary [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
When the Creed family (parents Louis and Rachel, daughter Ellie and son Gage) move into their new home in the countryside, they quickly strike up a friendship with their neighbour, Jud Crandall. Two things instantly come to their attention, the narrow road that seperates their house from Jud's where trucks carelessly speed down day and night, and a path by the side of the house. When asked about the path, Jud tells the family that it leads to a pet cemetery that children made to bury their pets that died on the road. While the family are away visiting relatives, Louis stays behind and Church, Ellie's cat, dies. Jud tells Louis that the ground beyond the pet cemetery is an old Indian burial ground, and any pet that's buried there will return from the dead. Louis buries the cat and a few days later he returns, but it isn't the same cat as before. Sometime later, Gage is tragically run over by a truck during a picnic. Grief stricken a few days after the funeral, Louis digs up Gage and buries him at the Indian burial ground. Gage later returns, but is a very different child to the sweet innocent one that was run over. The film also contains two subplots, Pascow who was a student that was killed by a truck who tries to warn Louis about the dangers of using the burial ground, and Zelda, Rachel's sister who died years earlier who suffered from spinal meningitis which is an agonising, disfiguring disease.

The acting is pretty good with Fred Gwynne the stand out as Jud, the rest of the cast do a reasonable job. Dale Midkiff seems to attract a lot of criticism for his role as Louis, but I've always felt he did a good job and his performance certainly doesn't harm the film. Miko Hughes did a great job as Gage considering he was three years old, he later gave an excellent but overlooked performance in the film Mercury Rising as an autistic boy whose parents were murdered. Denise Crosby, Brad Greenquist and Andrew Hubatsek are good, Hubatsek played Zelda and it's obvious Zelda is played by a man once you know, but it's still very creepy. The one character and performance that I really don't care for in the film was Ellie played by Blaze Berdahl, the movie could have coped without her, but I think it's more the whiny, annoying performance that makes me really dislike the character. Fred Gwynne is fantastic in this, virtually every line of his is quotable and I assume the South Park creators also loved his performance as they've used the character several times. Stephen King pops up in his usual brief cameo as a reverand.

It was directed by Mary Lambert who returned to direct the sequel three years later, as good a job as she did, George A. Romero was originally set to direct until the movie was delayed and he had to pull out. I love the film anyway, but I feel that Romero would have maybe done the film quite differently, and as a big Romero fan I'd have loved to see what he would have done with it. Tom Savini also turned down the chance to direct, before the project was finally given to Lambert. Bruce Campbell was first choice to play Louis, I'm also a big fan of Campbell and again feel his inclusion could only have benefited the film. This was the first filmed screenplay that Stephen King adapted from one of his own novels, and as he's a big fan of the Ramones, the film has two of their songs in the film. Sheena is a punk rocker and Pet Sematary, the latter was done specifically for the film. The music in the film is great, from the spooky music over the opening credits with children saying goodbye to their pets, to the sombre, atmospheric music in the film's second half when the horror really kicks in. There's a fair few disturbing scenes in the film, Zelda is very disturbing and horrified me as a child, but there's quite a few gore scenes that will keep the blood and guts fans happy such as severed tendons, puss and blood dripping from an eye socket and Pascow's head wound.

I'm a big fan of Stephen King, and although the film isn't as good as the book, the film is still very good and does more than enough right. Gwynne is the perfect Jud Crandall, Miko Hughes is very good as Gage. The Ellie character wasn't as annoying in the book, but this is definitely one of the more faithful movies based on a King book. Some reviewers have stated "just read the book instead", I'd say if you've seen and liked the film then definitely get the book, if you've read the book then the movie is well worth seeing. Not as good as Misery, The Shining, Creepshow or Carrie, but it's just about the best of the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars get buying!, 2 Jun 2011
This review is from: Pet Sematary [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
i recently boght this film as it was a childhood favorite of mine. i bought it to see if it did have the same effect on me today as it did when i was a kid! and i must say it still delivers! awesome to wacha nd is well worth having on your dvd shelf. brilliant plot of the brilliant mind of stephen king. certainly one of his best! just hope they don't make a remake and ruin it! cause you will never beat this original!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twisted Stuff, 11 Aug 2002
Pet Sematary was the first Stephen King book that I ever read, and I liked it a lot so I decided to give the film a shot. The plot is very simple - stereotypical happy American family move into house close to old indian animal burial ground with the ability to resurrect the dead, although leaving them somewhat...murderous?
This movie is awesome and has many mentionable moments, but I do not like to watch it as it is SO twisted.
Yes it is just a movie but some parts of it just SEEM so evil.
Unfortunately memorable parts of the film that I do not want to see again are: Zelda, the girl with horrific spinal meningitis, possibly the single most frightening thing I have ever seen; The man who is brought back from the dead in the flashback and proceeds to be burned in his house, that man really just makes me feel ill; also the very ending of the film just seems so sick to me, not in what actually happens, just the way in which it is presented.
Worth a mention -the scene with the truck is not to be missed. Those who have seen it may know what I am talking about. That is the only moment in a film in my life where I could really feel my heart racing and I could totally empathise with what was happening. The sheer brutality of the moment brought it all home.
People who have read the book first may be slightly disappointed, but it is to be expected really with a book to film conversion. Norma Crandall has been totally omitted from the film, and much of the magic of the book has failed to be replicated in the movie. But hey- at least they did a better conversion than they did with The Shining!
Ok so people thinking about buying this movie... I would buy it, watch it, and give it to a friend you don't like for their birthday. Do not watch this film on your own as I did. It is a truly memorable and exciting film, but just try to prepare yourself for the visual attack of which you will be subject to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read the book, 24 Sep 2003
When I was about 17 I read 'Pet Sematary' for the first time. It really made my skin crawl, it was a truly haunting and queerly beautiful novel. I found out that there was a film version and could not wait to see it. If 'The Shawshank Redemption' and 'Carrie' were anything to go on, it should have been a great film.
Alas, I was truly disappointed by this frankly damp squib of a movie. The film just seemed to me quite dull, with no depth to it. It seemed as though the producer and director had skim read through the book and picked out several scenes to move the story on,paying lip service to them to tell the story as quickly as possible and just get to the scary stuff. Bish bash bosh, family finds Pet sematary, son dies, son is buried, ha comes back and kills the end. As a result the characters seemed unbelievable and lifeless, they seemed to have no real character or roundedness to them at all and seemed as two dimensional as Tom and Jerry. Indeed the only good thing I can identify in this movie is the teriffic ramones theme track, a rock classic with an eerie quality to it. I loved that. I think this film could have been better in the hands of a different director. But alas it was directed by Mary Lambert, the woman responsible for Madonna's controversial 'Like a Prayer' video. I think it's generally accepted that for pop videos one does not need to create and develop believable characters and create an emotional core. Thats exactly what we got. Such a shame, because as I say the book is a terrific one, so thought provoking, and with a better director it could have been a thriller on a par with Carrie or The Sixth Sense. My advice to anyone wishing to purchase this vid should do what it says on the back of the sleeve, under the credits: 'Read the paperback'. Jen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD KING HORROR, FUN AND CREEPY., 10 Aug 2014
Never read the book, but have always enjoyed this movie and have seen it so many times. No need to go into details but anyone familiar with King's work will notice about 3 sub-plots which could easily take up 2 or 3 chapters, as is his way. The thing with these is that they work well in written form, but sometimes seem a little pointless on film, especially with no direct connection to the story. A case of trying to incorporate too much from the book, as can be seen in other works.

However, this is great fun, creepy with never a dull moment, plus one very wince inducing scalpel attack.

Acting is fine, with Fred Gwynne taking the honours, the sort of neighbour you could easily chew the cud with.
Dale Midkiff is a little dull and lifeless at times, but this doesn't detract from an enjoyable story.

Just to say, after the second viewing I guarantee you'll be humming the Ramone's end credits song.

This review is for the region 1 release..... good picture quality and sound, no extras but not a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A firm favorite, 20 Jan 2006
This review is from: Pet Sematary [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
The book is my favorite, the plot is so well structured. When I first saw the film I couldn't get properly engrossed (too much stuff on my mind, I suppose!) but when I watched it again I couldn't help liking it. The music at the end credits is wicked, and the best part is right at the end. Generally a good show from the actors involved, this is not to be missed. Most of the Stephen King books are my favourites, you should also see The Shining, like Pet Sematary not to be missed! One tip though: don't watch by yourself at night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pet Sematary [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
A nice classic old horror that has a story line to it and not like newer horror films. The effects are a bit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars If you've read the book you WILL be dissapointed., 8 Feb 2004
This was a huge let down, the book I thought was very good, but the film failed to convey any of the creepiness and scariness the book did. The film is badly written and very badly acted, especially the little kid, he was just pathetic, this is a poor adaptation of a great book, it wasn't half as gory as I thought it was going to be and just didn't keep me ( or my brother ) hooked at all. Big Dissapointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I am sure given better actors and a decent script, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pet Sematary [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
No mark unknown actors and a rather gruesome film but, of course, I expected that. I am sure given better actors and a decent script, a re-make might be ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pet Sematary [Blu-ray] [1989] [US Import]
Pet Sematary [Blu-ray] [1989] [US Import] by Fred Gwynne (Blu-ray - 2013)
27.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews