Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great
Great reading . Have already told my friends about it. She has really been honest and in some parts funny.
Published 6 months ago by rozz bowen-pond

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but sub-edited very poorly
June Brown is a superb actress and the book is very interesting. However, the publishers (or whoever sub-edited it for her) have done her no favours at all. There are numerous repetitions of facts in it and, consequently, it comes across as very rambling and jumps about through time very annoyingly. Much as I enjoyed reading about her very interesting life, I can't...
Published 8 months ago by Martynb


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but sub-edited very poorly, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before the Year Dot (Kindle Edition)
June Brown is a superb actress and the book is very interesting. However, the publishers (or whoever sub-edited it for her) have done her no favours at all. There are numerous repetitions of facts in it and, consequently, it comes across as very rambling and jumps about through time very annoyingly. Much as I enjoyed reading about her very interesting life, I can't recommend it as a good read. Disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 29 Dec 2013
This review is from: Before the Year Dot (Hardcover)
I bought this book after seeing June publicise it on TV and thought it would be very interesting.
Unfortunately, despite me liking her as an actress, the book just doesn't meet the mark. It jumps around so much, leaving a lot of confusion with what she is saying.
One of the most disjointed books I have ever read I am afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars why i rated this only 2 stars, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before the Year Dot (Kindle Edition)
thought there would have been more about her life. life a bit boring. There is more going on in my life and I haven't written a book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I did not like the style of writing, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Christine Nunn "Chris Nunn" (Buckinghamshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before the Year Dot (Kindle Edition)
Not riveting. I like June Brown, but I did not like the style of writing. She had a surprisingly hard life on the stage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars My worst read of the year, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before the Year Dot (Hardcover)
Difficult to imagine that one does not like the great June Brown. Yet, I'm afraid that her editors don't. This biography covers the period until the tragic suicide of her first husband in the late fifties. The rambling and repetitive text should have been edited, but obviously wasn't.
Ms. Brown gets excited about people using language and expressions incorrectly. How unfortunate then that the book includes errors such as referring to the skater Sonia Menie. In the descriptions of her hosts when performing in the Netherlands, she calls them "Herr" and "Frau": this would have been fine if they had been German but they were Dutch and in the early fifties especially, these were not considered terms of endearment.....
The period from 1960 until today, from many readers a time that would have been most interesting, is covered in FOUR pages. I had been looking forward to this book: what a missed opportunity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hmm?!, 14 Jan 2014
Really, NO stars whatsoever, but had to select 'one' to write this review. Lovely woman, but totally rambling rubbish! Mind you, it's taken her 13 years to write.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tedious, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before the Year Dot (Kindle Edition)
This was a disappointing read and really quite tedious, repetitive in places, found it quite hard going if I'm honest. Would I recommend - no not really. Sorry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit confusing, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before the Year Dot (Hardcover)
I love reading Auto-biographies, however I found this one a tad confusing as it jumped about all over the place! To be honest, I became quite bored with it several times, and put it down to pick up again a week later. Very unlike me, as I am a voracious reader.
Disappointed, as June Brown seems such a lovely lady. Oh well..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I love June Brown but..., 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before the Year Dot (Kindle Edition)
I found the constant flitting between stories totally confusing.
Who was June with when Louise came along?
June has had an interesting life but the book jumps from subject to subject making it seem like a complete ramble throughout. The book came across as very disjointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before the Year Dot (Kindle Edition)
Interesting story but did get confusing. Had to re read bits as got lost as to who she was talking about. Also jumps back and forth in time a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Before the Year Dot
Before the Year Dot by June Brown
6.65
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews