Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars24
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.69
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2014
A very well researched history book, with fantastic details of the medieval archer, his skills and his battles. Useful to find facts at your fingertips, but more importantly is the way this book was written..... it's written with exciting descriptions of bloody battles from childhood training to the modern bad ass of mad Jack Churchill, probably the last Englishman to be on French soil killing gun wielding Germans in 1940 - with an English Longbow and a Scottish Broadsword...oh and a motorbike, but that's another story!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2015
I wish they would fix the cover picture,the arrow is on the wrong side of the bow,the shaft should be resting on the first finger knuckle of his bow hand.This is a very basic mistake which keeps being made!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
A little old school in style. However, it's very enjoyable and easily read. Places the longbow archers into an accessible historical context with quite a telling insight into the organisational chaos of medieval military "operations". Without any experience of archery I found it an invaluable addition to my understanding of the medieval period. Glad I bought it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
Great read. I could hardly put it down. It read in parts like a Bernard Cornwall novel. Brought to life the tough, strong yoemen who wielded the long bow with such devastating effect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
I found this book very hard to put down, the descriptions of the battles were so well detailed that I felt I was there.
Anyone with an interest of the longbow should read this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
This is without doubt one of the best books about the bowmen of England,a wonderful book and great for refering to when you want to know something about our good they really were.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2015
A fascinating addition to my extensive study of the subject and the period beyond the 16 th Century is particularly interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
A history of the long bow well told well written and history in the making between England and France full stop
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
What a good book. For anyone interested in this era and the long bow, it's a gem. And easy reading too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
Just a great read, well worth all those with an interest in archery, longbow of course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)