Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great structure, relaxed style, and practical examples, 6 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scriptshadow Secrets (500 Screenwriting Secrets Hidden Inside 50 Great Movies) (Kindle Edition)
If like me you have a book shelf groaning under the weight of screenwriting books this one more than earns it's place alongside any of the 'greats'.

Having been a fan of the Scriptshadow website I'll be honest and say I bought Carson's book with a mixture of anticipation and uncertainty.

Anticipation at the prospect of having a single volume collecting together Carson's knowledge on screenwriting. Uncertainty as I wondered if Carson's style of writing would translate from a blog to a full length book. I need not have feared.

Easy to understand, doesn't labour on an individual aspect of screenwriting to the point of monotony (Syd Field take note), and using actual movie examples throughout, this book is a joy to read.

I'd like to stress how refreshing that last but one point is; where as most books will have either numerous movie examples scattered throughout each chapter or a few chapters (typically at the end) devoted to an 'analysis' of certain screenplays, the majority of this book is build around specific movies and what can be learnt from them.

Drawing on a wide selection from sci-fi, to thrillers, to rom-com, regardless of your cinematic tastes there will be a chapter in here on that movie or movies you love. Even movies I hate which were included here I took a fresh look at and saw the elements of gold in there which make them appealing to other audiences.

Having been a fan of the website it was also good to see Carson's relaxed style shining through from the first page. I can safely say this is the ONLY screenwriting book that has made me laugh out loud a couple of times. The fact it's such a pleasure to read and the bite size chapters also means this is a great book to dip in and out of if you're on the go.

Having read back through the above review it lacks a certain something. Let me see if I can jazz it up by employing some of Carson's tips*:

"Carson has just one week (TIP 322) to raise enough funds from the sale of his book to fix his time machine. Only then can he track down his arch nemesis; the half man half capybara fiend (TIP 132), Dr Hydrochaeris. Hydrochaeris has kidnapped Carson's one true love (TIP 117) and killed Carson's kung-fu mentor, Bob the Kung Fu Octopus (TIP 151 and TIP 85). Please buy this book and help Carson to save his true love and avenge Bob's death."**

*Please don't think poorly of Carson's book or screenwriting tips based on the above ramblings; that's simple my weak style

** That's not meant to be a logline so don't get on any forums and start giving me grief about the fact it's over 26 words long, OK! I also appreciate a name like 'Hydrochaeris' clearly breaks another of the tips in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Revitalised my approach to screenwriting, 18 Feb 2014
By 
Michael Clark "clarkmj1" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scriptshadow Secrets (500 Screenwriting Secrets Hidden Inside 50 Great Movies) (Kindle Edition)
I don't want to say more than the headline really - it's a great book which will help anyone writing a screenplay enormously
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding and helpful!, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scriptshadow Secrets (500 Screenwriting Secrets Hidden Inside 50 Great Movies) (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant book. The tips have really helped me to organise my own ideas into something more suitable for the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hugely informative, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scriptshadow Secrets (500 Screenwriting Secrets Hidden Inside 50 Great Movies) (Kindle Edition)
I've been writing at a very amateur level for about 10 years but after reading this book it's filled me with inspiration and ideas of how to improve my writing. Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great tips, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scriptshadow Secrets (500 Screenwriting Secrets Hidden Inside 50 Great Movies) (Kindle Edition)
Very good book very insightful an easy read with a good amount of tips on all fronts really gets to the point!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable, 3 Feb 2013
By 
MR (Hove, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scriptshadow Secrets (500 Screenwriting Secrets Hidden Inside 50 Great Movies) (Kindle Edition)
I've been a professional screenwriter for 15 years, working as much in the US studio system as the UK, and I've learned a huge amount from Carson both in this book and on his ScriptShadow website. I've read a few screenwriting books over the years and I think the reason this one is so helpful is because of the vast amount of examples. He explains something and then illustrates it with a reference to a well known movie. Instantly you get the point he's making and how it works in a script. Currently working on a studio film and find myself delving in to his tips at random.

The only negative thing I can find to say is I really don't agree with him when it comes to Notting Hill and in particular the clunky, vomit-inducing muffin backstory scene. Seems mean to subtract a whole star just for that. Should only be half a star but the rating system won't let me do that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy style, hundreds of instantly useful tips, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scriptshadow Secrets (500 Screenwriting Secrets Hidden Inside 50 Great Movies) (Kindle Edition)
If you're looking for one of those brain-melting screenplay-by-numbers books full of steps and formulas and diagrams so complicated that they leave you cowering in fear of ever writing your first `Fade In', then Scriptshadow Secrets is not for you.

If, however, you like little nuggets of practical advice that you can consume at the bus stop, during your lunch break and - dare I say it - while you're doing a number two, then spend your hard-won pounds and pennies in confidence.

Carson's easy, conversational style is similar to Blake Snyder's `Save the Cat', but Secrets eschews the by-numbers approach and draws on the author's perceptive analyses of the words on pages that became some of the greatest movies of all time.

You can dive in at any point and learn something new and useful because every single tip - from the first to the 502nd - is a gem of tried and tested scripty wisdom that you can instantly apply to your own work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scriptshadow Secrets (500 Screenwriting Secrets Hidden Inside 50 Great Movies) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book. Very concise, tailored information that can be used to improve your own writing. A must for anyone interested in learning how to write screenplays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant screenwriting guide for beginners, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scriptshadow Secrets (500 Screenwriting Secrets Hidden Inside 50 Great Movies) (Kindle Edition)
Scriptshadow Secrets is the only screenwriting book I own and even though I only bought it two days ago, I have read through it five times already. It's really helpful. There's nothing more frustrating than an amateur reading their script for the first time, thinking they've nailed it after the first draft and then finding a ton of problems with it.

Most of the time you would just have to persevere and find a way to fix the problems yourself. Nothing wrong with that, but I personally think it's always nice to have someone tell you where you've gone wrong and give you a helping hand.

Carson Reeves is that someone. This book is that helping hand. Screenwriters get into this business because they want to tell a story and I'm gonna take a wild stab in the dark and say Carson got into this business because he wants to help screenwriters tell that story. If anyone wants to write scripts for a living then this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent practical tips, 9 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scriptshadow Secrets (500 Screenwriting Secrets Hidden Inside 50 Great Movies) (Kindle Edition)
Cult screenwriting blogger Carson Reeves, of Scriptshadow fame, unloads 500 or so key tips through the lens of well-known films from Taxi Driver to Avatar. The focus is on specific examples of what makes certain screenplays great, and how the aspiring screenwriter can seek to emulate and learn from them.

The writing is lean, sharp, and to the point, all about practice as opposed to theory - which makes the book a great complement to more established, structure-focused screenwriting texts like Field, McKee, and Save the Cat. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews