Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something Different
I played the demo of Heavy Rain when it first came out and I was intrigued, I had to get it! This is more of an interactive story than an action game, but the story is like that of a detective thriller movie, in a lot of ways it is like those old choose your own adventure books, with a hint of the good old point and click adventure games, and a few action sequences that...
Published 22 months ago by A L H

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It bills itself as interactive drama and at times you could be forgiven for mistaking it as a TV show for both better and worse
Heavy Rain will be a new kind of game experience for many console players. It bills itself as interactive drama and at times you could be forgiven for mistaking it as a TV show for both better and worse.

However , as interesting as the game story is the game is essentially a point and click adventure game interspersed with QTEs. When I mentioned this is like a...
Published 3 months ago by Seanik


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something Different, 19 Aug. 2013
By 
A L H (Oswestry) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Heavy Rain Move Edition: PlayStation 3 Essentials (PS3) (Video Game)
I played the demo of Heavy Rain when it first came out and I was intrigued, I had to get it! This is more of an interactive story than an action game, but the story is like that of a detective thriller movie, in a lot of ways it is like those old choose your own adventure books, with a hint of the good old point and click adventure games, and a few action sequences that play out using quick time events for good measure. It is unlike anything currently on the market although the creators, Quantic Dream, are bringing out another title in the future (Beyond: Two Souls)which is supposedly going to use a similar gameplay style.

In Heavy Rain, you control four different characters all looking for the Origami Killer, who kidnaps young boys who then get killed by drowning. The gameplay is split into chapters and in each chapter you play a different character. Choices you make during the game effect the story and ultimately the ending, there are several different endings you can achieve, but your first play through will be the most exciting as at this point you do not know anything about the story and the characters or who the killer is. However obtaining different endings is still worthwhile, especially if you wait awhile between playthroughs.

Personally I get tired of all the generic shooting games out there, war in the past, war in the present, war in the future, war in space, you get the idea, and welcome something a little different with some decent story telling and I hope to see more of this type of game in the future. If you fancy a change, Heavy Rain is certainly worth a look. However if fast paced action and lots of shooting is more your thing, you might not enjoy it as much as I did.

Oh, and if you already have the normal edition of Heavy Rain, you don't need to buy this to play with the Move, there was a patch released and move works fine with the standard edition, in case anyone was wondering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great (+Also Compatible with normal Dual-shock controller), 14 July 2013
By 
J. Potter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Heavy Rain Move Edition: PlayStation 3 Essentials (PS3) (Video Game)
Firstly, it's worth noting that although this game is the "Move edition" - it also works with the normal controllers, the same as the original game.

This game is very unique. I've never seen a game that makes so much use of the motion controls of the dual-shock pad, whilst keeping you enthralled and involved in the story. It's a great game, with so many variations in the storyline, based on your decisions throughout the game.

Do note that this isn't a traditional game in the sense of aiming, shooting etc. It's more of a movie that plays out based on quick-fire responses to certain button presses.

It's a bit slow at starting up, but endure and you'll not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It bills itself as interactive drama and at times you could be forgiven for mistaking it as a TV show for both better and worse, 7 Mar. 2015
By 
Seanik (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavy Rain Move Edition: PlayStation 3 Essentials (PS3) (Video Game)
Heavy Rain will be a new kind of game experience for many console players. It bills itself as interactive drama and at times you could be forgiven for mistaking it as a TV show for both better and worse.

However , as interesting as the game story is the game is essentially a point and click adventure game interspersed with QTEs. When I mentioned this is like a TV Show - I would add that this is on the level of a TV show like Law and Order Special Victims Unit or NYPD Blue. This is not True Detective or Twin Peaks.

Pros :

- Amazing Graphics
- Interesting Crime / Noir inspired Story
- Great use of Six axis motion controls ( Almost forgot the PS3 controller had this function)

Cons :

- Some of the voice acting is terrible
- You will guess the killer quite early on
- At times I was bored and wishing their was some more engaging gameplay mechanics

I would recommend this game at a budget price - even if you only play through it once as I did it is nice to try something different and experience the full spectrum of games on offer on the PS3.

* I played using the standard Dual Shock Controller - it was fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice game, 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavy Rain Move Edition: PlayStation 3 Essentials (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a nice game, really moody and emotional. If you played Fahrenheit and liked it, you will like this one as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy Rain move edition (essentials), 15 Jun. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Heavy Rain Move Edition: PlayStation 3 Essentials (PS3) (Video Game)
The game is awsome it takes full advantage of the ps3's sixaxis controller and you dont need to install the large move update plus u get some extras such as themes and the making of the game plus more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Cinematic Game, 9 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavy Rain Move Edition: PlayStation 3 Essentials (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is one of the treats of having a PS3 system. This is a must buy!! Quantic Dream is BOSS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 6 Feb. 2013
By 
Mr. Martin Southern "headworx" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavy Rain Move Edition: PlayStation 3 Essentials (PS3) (Video Game)
Had the game for a couple of days now. Took a while to install but the task to complete whilst waiting was fun. Once play began and got used to the controls have been hooked ever since. It is a bit like watching a film. The story changes with the reponse to your actions throughout the game. Not finished it yet but would definately play the story again. Wished I had bought the game when it came out.

Overall good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cool, 16 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavy Rain Move Edition: PlayStation 3 Essentials (PS3) (Video Game)
my daughter asked for this game for christmas, she has played it and now finished it and said it was a exellent game. so if you like this sort of game then buy it.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars There was a slight crack in the game's case when ..., 3 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavy Rain Move Edition: PlayStation 3 Essentials (PS3) (Video Game)
There was a slight crack in the game's case when I received it, but that wasn't a problem to me. Also, the game wasn't wrapped with sony's official CD case wrap. The one with the Playstation symbols on the bottom of the case. Indicating that the game was a used one and re-wrapped again, and wasn't new as the game's description indicated when I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A slow paced-game that is better than most action movies, 23 May 2014
By 
T. Borba "cloudt" (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavy Rain Move Edition: PlayStation 3 Essentials (PS3) (Video Game)
I could say a lot of things about Heavy Rain, but I think the only thing you need to know is: just buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heavy Rain Move Edition: PlayStation 3 Essentials (PS3)
Heavy Rain Move Edition: PlayStation 3 Essentials (PS3) by Sony Computer Entertainment UK (PlayStation 3)
£22.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews