Customer Reviews


184 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourites by Jane Green xXx
Jane Green was one of the first authors I read when my passion for reading began. Jemima J and Straight Talking were favourites of mine. I haven't read any of her more recent books so I was looking forward to reading The Accidental Husband to see if her new books still live up to her old ones.

Sylvia is struggling having her husband continuously away with work...
Published 13 months ago by realovesbooks

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok
It's ok, not gripping, I could put it down, but I finished it and found it reasonably entertaining. I had previously read Jemima J, and found that much more enjoyable.
Published 24 days ago by Ann-marie Guindy


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourites by Jane Green xXx, 24 Mar 2013
By 
realovesbooks (South east London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Accidental Husband (Paperback)
Jane Green was one of the first authors I read when my passion for reading began. Jemima J and Straight Talking were favourites of mine. I haven't read any of her more recent books so I was looking forward to reading The Accidental Husband to see if her new books still live up to her old ones.

Sylvia is struggling having her husband continuously away with work and her mother who is very demanding and negative, now to top things off she is beginning to worry about her daughter Eve.
On the other side of the coast Maggie is living the life of Luxury, she isn't around much for her children but when her daughter delivers some devastating news her life begins to crumble down around her.

This book was nothing but trouble! As I put my dinner in the oven and began to make a start on this book I was instantly hooked and the chapters are short so you keep thinking oh just one more but of course that lead to another and another until before I knew it dinner was burnt! Then to top it off I couldn't put the book down so stayed up until 1.30am to finish it and then slept through my alarm so was late for work! So is this book worth reading? Well I think you have your answer!

Sylvia's character in particular has been developed very well she is a devoted and caring daughter, mother and wife. My heart went out to her with the problems that lay heavily on her shoulders. The situation regarding her daughter Eve was also very well written being told from both sides of the story from how both Eve and Sylvia felt about the situation. This really is a very delicate subject but it was covered very well.
I didn't like Maggie's character when we first met her but towards the last half of the book her character came round full circle in the end and she also became a joy to read.

There were a couple of emotional moments in this book that had the heartstrings being pulled and had me hoping I would never find myself in the same situation.The main storyline was rather predictable and ever so far fetched but it is the way the family's dealt with the situation which made this book so readable.

This book is definitely up there with my favourites by this author. If you are looking for something fast paced that will have you engrossed from start to finish give this one a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jane Green excells herself, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Accidental Husband (Kindle Edition)
I just loved this book. Although I semi-guessed the plot it still made a very enjoyable read. Could not put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Little Predictable But A Good Read, 25 Oct 2013
By 
Shouna Falconer (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Accidental Husband (Paperback)
Sylvie is lucky enough to have had a second shot at love. Devastated by the death of her beloved husband, she has remarried and her daughter has gained a caring stepdad. Apart from a demanding mother, Sylvie's only problem is the dawning awareness of loneliness as her husband travels a lot for work. But is her life really as secure as she likes to think? And what about her child? Life is shortly to unravel for both of them as their lives become entangled with another family living on the other side of the vast north American continent.

My only criticism is that the main twist, if it can even be called that, is very predictable. However it occurs early in the story so doesn't present too much of a problem.

Thereafter this is a novel about how the characters deal with the mess. It's about friendship, true and false, about love and trust, and about picking yourself up and going onwards. The characters are mostly likeable and it's hard not to become involved in their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive reading, 9 April 2013
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Accidental Husband (Kindle Edition)
Two women with family tribulations find Maggie worrying about her own pleasures whilst Sylvia is in another world, having problems trying to reconcile her family life as a devoted daughter and working mother, intent on avoiding further personal conflicts. Her husband, although somewhat peripheral to the events that befall her, adds to the tension maintained throughout a thoroughly enjoyable read. The emotions may be at variance between Maggie and Sylvia with the family factions that add to the drama. The characters are well-developed and the sympathies between the two female protagonists are there for the reader to put their own stamp on whose side, if any, they are with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable read, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Accidental Husband (Kindle Edition)
I read this in a day, great story, engaging characters and moves with pace. One of Jane Green' s best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOWSER!, 29 April 2013
This review is from: The Accidental Husband (Paperback)
WOW!
I really don't want to say anything else.

I have to be honest and say I had to restart it because I couldn't get into it. That was my fault though, I had a migraine and couldn't concentrate. Once I had started properly it floored me. I was engrossed! Couldn't and wouldn't put it down.

I honestly can't put into words how utterly amazing this book is.
It is Page after page of love, honesty, excitement, morals, family values, relationships, friendships. But, More so page after page of reality.

By far the best book I have ever read. The swinging brick has been reduced to tears.
The accidental husband is beyond excellent. By reading it you will be submerged into one messed up world and a Life we all take for granted.

I'd recommend this book to anyone with a heart. By far Jane Greens best work yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Accidental Husband (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic Summer read. Couldn't put it down. The story line was clever and kept me interested all the way to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 8 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Accidental Husband (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't put it down though not a plausible ending as too honeyed. Good overall storyline and easy to read. Liked the character development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Accidental Husband (Paperback)
It's ok, not gripping, I could put it down, but I finished it and found it reasonably entertaining. I had previously read Jemima J, and found that much more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jane green one of the best, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Accidental Husband (Kindle Edition)
Such a pleasant read once I pick it up just didn't want to put it down great story and a good ending thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6498d08)

This product

The Accidental Husband
3.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews