Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enough information to be useful, little enough to keep it interesting.
A well written account of a solo (if you do not count the Craig, the bike) trip across France followed by some assaults on famous Tour de France climbs. Interesting, amusing, informative and hard to put down. One I am going to keep for future reference as the useful information is summarised at the end of each chapter.
Published 12 months ago by Mr. K. Prior

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Baguettes and Bicycles
Easy reading but it has become a little repetitive. Get up - ride Bike - eat lunch - ride bike - find bed - eat diner - go to bed. I have enjoyed following the route with Google maps but have still to finish after 5 weeks.
Published 9 months ago by Ian keightley


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enough information to be useful, little enough to keep it interesting., 23 July 2013
By 
Mr. K. Prior (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: baguettes and bicycles: a cycling adventure across France (Eurovelo Series: Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A well written account of a solo (if you do not count the Craig, the bike) trip across France followed by some assaults on famous Tour de France climbs. Interesting, amusing, informative and hard to put down. One I am going to keep for future reference as the useful information is summarised at the end of each chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to help you get the most out of cycling and cake eating in France, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: baguettes and bicycles: a cycling adventure across France (Eurovelo Series: Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Steven lives in Australia where he spends his days writing children's books and cycling to keep fit, but for pleasure he packs his bike (called Craig) into his suitcase, well almost, and hops on a plane to La Belle France. His journey starts in St Nazaire in the west and follows the Loire Valley and Saone River to the east. Having crossed France he then spends a few days indulging his passion for gently climbing some of the French mountains climbs that have been made famous in The Tour de France, including Mont Ventoux and Alpe d'Huez.

Being a closet adventure cyclist this book really appealed to me especially as Steven spends almost as much time describing the food and patisseries he fuels himself with on his journey as he does the wonderful scenery he sees. His delight and excitement at a good three course formula lunch or dinner was contagious. I think I would get on well with Steven.

I found his writing style gave an easy, entertaining read that made me feel I could do something like this too. I especially loved his little finalé to each chapter - `What I should have said' - there were some great little laugh-out-loud funnies to end each day on his bike.

See also his second book bordeaux and bicycles (Eurovelo Series: Book Two) another great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice escape, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: baguettes and bicycles: a cycling adventure across France (Eurovelo Series: Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I read this on my busy commute to work. It was a beautiful escape from being stuffed on a tube in central london. Im going to take up cycling now as a result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A trip across France in the Loire valley which I know very well, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: baguettes and bicycles: a cycling adventure across France (Eurovelo Series: Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Whilst this was enjoyable to read it needed more description of the chateaux, vineyards, troglodyte dwellings etc etc. I liked the detailed description of each b&b, of special interest as I run a b&b in Normandy. It was not a book I could not put down. Not sure if this was aimed at the enthusiastic cyclist or the lovers of France but it did manage to offer interest to both parties. I found the description of the mountain climbs particularly interesting being a keen follower of Le Tour on television. Perhaps just a bit more content would have been good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: baguettes and bicycles: a cycling adventure across France (Eurovelo Series: Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Just started reading and already planning my own trip across France this summer to follow a similar route as the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very much enjoyed, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my Mum who is cycling mad and has also cycled France a few times. She loved it and has recommended it to all her biking friends. A very entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and inspiring..., 21 April 2014
By 
Timothy S. Hill (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: baguettes and bicycles: a cycling adventure across France (Eurovelo Series: Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Bought the Kindle version to read on the iPad, loving it. Steven has a good style of writing and a sense of humour that sits well with me. I enjoy France and also the Tour de France and as a weekend bicycle rider (hardly a cyclist) can appreciate the effort that he has gone to for this book. In it's own way it is also inspiring…. makes you want to go and do it yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining enough, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: baguettes and bicycles: a cycling adventure across France (Eurovelo Series: Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
An easy read, light on technical detail but full of observation. Entertaining and in some ways inspiring. I hope Craig gets another tour soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every cyclists dream, 9 April 2014
This review is from: baguettes and bicycles: a cycling adventure across France (Eurovelo Series: Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A well written book that combines the sport of cycling with the landscape and gastronomy of France. I've yet to meet so many fire fly Frenchmen as Steve but I live in hope! Looking forward to his next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read if you are a cyclist or even if you are not, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: baguettes and bicycles: a cycling adventure across France (Eurovelo Series: Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
He takes you through France and highlights places of interest. He rates the places he stayed at and gives an idea of the price.

I reduced my rating by one star because at the end he wanted to ride most of the major climbs that were taken in by the Tour De France. I felt I was already familiar with these and did not need telling about them. However others could find this section interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews