Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tony maddison
This is by far the best version of Les Miserables there is to date. Its fast paced, gruesome, haunting, moving & watchable over & over again. I own a vhs version, but intend to now buy it on dvd on Amazon as this version isnt available on dvd from anywhere else. Anthony Perkins role in this film is frightening as the obsessed prison & police officer, while Richard Jordan...
Published on 9 Oct. 2010 by uncle tony

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated
I remembered this fondly from when I was a lot younger, but it has not aged well. Some of the performances were risible, and all in all I would not recommend it .
Published on 27 Feb. 2013 by Lizh


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tony maddison, 9 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Les Miserables [DVD] (DVD)
This is by far the best version of Les Miserables there is to date. Its fast paced, gruesome, haunting, moving & watchable over & over again. I own a vhs version, but intend to now buy it on dvd on Amazon as this version isnt available on dvd from anywhere else. Anthony Perkins role in this film is frightening as the obsessed prison & police officer, while Richard Jordan plays the most memorial role of his acting career in this Les Miserables 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, fondly remembered., 16 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Miserables [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this movie DVD last week after having just watched it on video TAPE for the first time in years.
Last time I looked for it, I couldn't find a DVD version available anywhere, yet now I notice there was a version released in 2004. (which is rather ODD because I have looked for it since that date)
Anyhow, I believe this to be a superior movie to the 1998 production with Liam Neeson (which I found rather boring) even if the acting is a little wooden at times in this version by Lew Grade.

The story is much the same as the other version only it actually begins prior to the crime Valjean commits (stealing a loaf of bread) and shows a good deal of his life in prison as well. This, I feel, is a very important part of the story (which the new Musical version omits almost entirely)as it explains how Valjean becomes so embittered in the first place.
I have never read Victor Hugo's original book, but another thing that is worth noting about this movie is that the character "Eponine" doesn't appear at all I'm afraid. To my mind at least, she has no real imput to the plot, so I guess that's why they left her out.

BTW: Although the picture and sound quality is very good on this DVD, I was rather disappointed by the fact that several minutes of footage have been edited out for some unknown reason. If I had not watched the video TAPE version quite so recently, before watching it again on DVD I wouldn't have realised there were missing parts at all, since my memory is not so brilliant.
Anyway, when all said and done it's a good product and well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still moving after all these years...., 11 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Les Miserables [DVD] (DVD)
The perfect gift for all movie enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Perhaps more watchable than the better known recent version with Liam Neeson, this made for TV adaptation of Hugo's classic novel makes for interesting viewing. Those familiar with the musical will note that many episodes not used for set pieces in that adaptation are here, with the effect that this plays like a slightly different story.

The emphasis here is on forward story momentum rather than moments of high drama, and the cat-and-mouse story of Javert's pursuit of Valjean moves along at a fair clip. The period look is less lush than in the more recent version, but convincing and appropriate on its own, and the performances of Richard Jordan as the harried Valjean who wants only to do good, and of Anthony Perkins as the relentless and uncompromising Javert are spot on. Les Miz is a great story that can be effectively adapted any number of ways and the choices made here were good ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie - Better than the musical!, 10 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Les Miserables [DVD] (DVD)
With only minor differences in the storyline for this film, the stage musical, and now the new 2013 film musical, this, 1978 version of Victor Hugo's brilliant story takes the viewer on a journey to a world, no so far away, where the aristocracy of a nation refuse to acknowledge the poverty around them. Where the theft of a single loaf of bread could, and does, result in a sentence of 5 years of hard penal servitude, and where eventual release on parole is little better than life as a prisoner.

This film tells of a man who, though savagely beaten down by the society in which he lives, through faith manages to climb to a position where he is able to help others, and by doing so, even though he is being persecuted by society (in the form of a police officer), can redeem himself.

This is a "must watch" film for everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Was For My Mum, 30 April 2014
By 
Lynda Kelly "Lynda" (Shipton Bellinger, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Miserables [DVD] (DVD)
This is the only version she's ever said was any good !! Right now she's swapping a lot of her VHS for DVD versions of her old favourites so she was happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas gift, 19 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Miserables [DVD] (DVD)
As it is a gift for someone I cannot really comment on the film itself. The service of getting it was first class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Enjoyable, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Miserables [DVD] (DVD)
Better this time round than the first time I saw it many... many years ago. MUCH better than any other version of this film I`ve seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 14 July 2013
By 
A. D. Grey (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Miserables [DVD] (DVD)
pure brilliant movie. i recommended it to a quite a number of other folk.....and all of them liked it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars its a dvd, 14 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Miserables [DVD] (DVD)
probably the best of all the les miserable movies, i have seen several including the musical and this beats them all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant. We will watch this again & later again., 6 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Miserables [DVD] (DVD)
Riveting. Well acted. Great story line. Holds the viewer's attention... so glad we got this version. Highly recommended to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Les Miserables [DVD]
Les Miserables [DVD] by Glenn Jordan (DVD - 2013)
£6.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews