Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge a series by is name
Marika Kato is a high school student on the planet Sea of the Morningstar in the Tau Ceti system. When her estranged father dies however Marika discovers that she is his sole heir and has inherited the captaincy of the Bentenamaru, a pirate ship that operates under a hereditary Letter of Marque. Marika must now decide whether to live her life as an ordinary student or...
Published 17 months ago by T. R. Alexander

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh...
Although not a massive fan of sci-fi myself, I do enjoy the genre. So after passing my driving test my dad brought me this series as it looked like a fun, care free anime. This isn't the case.
Bodacious Space Pirates is not a lot of fun in terms of comedy or action. It is more a slice-of-life anime than a space anime. This is proven mostly by the fact that Marika...
Published 12 months ago by J.Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge a series by is name, 11 Feb 2013
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bodacious Space Pirates Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Marika Kato is a high school student on the planet Sea of the Morningstar in the Tau Ceti system. When her estranged father dies however Marika discovers that she is his sole heir and has inherited the captaincy of the Bentenamaru, a pirate ship that operates under a hereditary Letter of Marque. Marika must now decide whether to live her life as an ordinary student or to follow in her parents footsteps and become a space pirate.

'Bodacious Space Pirates' (based on a light novel series called 'Miniskirt Space Pirates') is an entertaining science fiction series that is quite different to what you would accept based on the name. The series may not have much in the way of traditional action but it is very well written with some nice humour and some very well done character moments throughout the series. The show has a mostly light tone but entertaining and the series has a little more hard science fiction than you would expect from the name.

This two disc volume of the anime contains the first thirteen of the series twenty-six episodes and covers the first two arcs of the series. The first arc in the volume involves Marika trying to make the decision whether or not to follow her father into piracy before learning what it truly means to be a pirate in the far future. The second arc sees Marika and her crew encounter the seventh princess of the Serenity Star System who has a job for the Bentenamaru. Both these arcs are entertaining but I would say that the second one is slightly better. The pacing of the series can be a little slow for some people but personally I do enjoy slower paced series and I still found it entertaining.

The series as a whole has a very good setting and has some nice world building scattered throughout. The designs of the technology, characters and ships are all extremely well done, and are skilfully brought to life by some nice animation. This volume includes both English and Japanese versions of the series (for the first time in my watching anime on DVD the Japanese was the default soundtrack) and while I do prefer the Japanese version, the English dub is done reasonably well. One thing I wasn't too sure about with the English dub however is that it has kept some of the Japanese honorifics but this is probably because I am unused to hearing them in English outside of a Japanese setting and I did get use to them eventually.

'Bodacious Space Pirates' is an entertaining series and although I am sure not everyone would enjoy the series I would say that it deserves a score somewhere between four and a half and five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun child freindly anime, 25 Mar 2013
By 
A. Holt "etchi" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bodacious Space Pirates Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
okay, lets face it, anime hasnt always been very safe when if comes to children viewing it and ive watched many shows over the years, this however is enjoyable and safe with fan service toned down to a minimum which is strange considering the many possibilities for this.

The story focuses on a young girl on a planet much like our own, she lives with her mother and goes to a rather posh school where there activities involve a yoght club, as the series progresses she finds out the her late father was a space pirate and that she is to become his sucsessor.

Now this isnt a fast paced series and if you expecting that you may be disapointed however i enjoy the slower unfolding story with its long scenes explaining electronic warfare and such stuff

It gives you a chance to see and understand each charater develop, great series and i cant wait for the second half to be released later in the year :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 14 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bodacious Space Pirates Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I admit I was a little perplexed at the title of this show, as it seems to have 3 names depending on where you look. The English title 'Bodacious Space Pirates' ('bodacious' apparently being a mixture of 'bold' and 'audacious' which hails from the southern states of the US), then the original Japanese title of 'Minisuka Pairētsu' (literally 'Mini-skirted Pirates') and the 'alternative' Japanese title of 'Mōretsu Pairētsu' or 'Fierce Pirates'. All very confusing!

Coming back to the series itself, I found it to be light-hearted, great fun, and thoroughly enjoyable; the characters are great, with the star, Captain Marika Kato, a somewhat ditsy high school girl, finding that she has been left her late fathers pirate spaceship, the Bentenmaru, with a condition that she must continue to ply its trade as a working pirate vessel, or its pirates license will expire! She and her friends live on a planet in the Tau Ceti star system, and the high school she attends has a so-called Yacht Club, which has its own old ex-pirate spaceship, a solar sailor (yes, it has 'sails' of sorts!) called the Odette 2. Both ships are beautifully drawn in CG, and seem quite believable. The crew of the Bentenmaru don't know what to make of their new captain to begin with, but soon find her to be a chip off the old block, and a very capable ship's captain. The series follows the adventures of the Bentenmaru, their friends from the Yacht Club, and another ship called the Barbarossa, which is captained by Marika's friend, the pretty, clever and rather over-serious Chiaki Kurihara, whom Marika insists on calling Chiaki-chan, much to her dismay! Add into the mix a couple of teenage princesses (literally!) and there is bound to be mayhem! There are too many characters to list here, but the series is great, and well worth a watch.

Amazon says the series has only a Japanese soundtrack, but it doesn't; it has a full English dub as well. The music is great too, being a sort of mix of j-pop and Celtic (Irish/Scottish) influences. I tried to get the soundtrack on CD, but there doesn't seem to be one; shame!

A really good series, and well worth it for the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bodacious Space Pirates: Part 1 [DVD], 11 May 2013
By 
D. G. Slade "anime fan" (hazlemere uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bodacious Space Pirates Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I was unsure of this when I first saw the trailers to it and wrote it off as being aimed at girls and younger children.
But after watching the whole series it is most enjoyable.A new twist on pirates and space travel.
Also there are at least three to four story arcs in the first part alone.
Rip roaring fun for the whole family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really like this., 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bodacious Space Pirates Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
was surprised by this anime as it is not usually my type of anime but stuck in there and was glad i did, different to the normal styles of anime but still brings the laughter in a way that only anime does so well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good surprise, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bodacious Space Pirates Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I expected this series to be pretty childish and was very surprised to find otherwise. The dialogue is good, natural sounding and witty - even though the English is provided in subtitles. I actually found I preferred this to a dubbed version as the mood of the scenes come over much better. The plotlines are all clever, as is the concept behind the series, and the mixing it between the school and the pirate events was much better done than in many other series where a schoolgirl is trying to cope with a school life and another. The humour is universal and not overdone and all the characters are well formed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grate, 13 Aug 2013
By 
Damian Knights (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bodacious Space Pirates Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I chose this rating because the delivery was on-time and the packing was the best I've seen and I had no problems with this Bodacious Space Pirates Part 1

I liked the anime it was better than the subbed versions.

If you like animes with a bit of fun, adventure and magic then this is the DVD for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh..., 10 July 2013
This review is from: Bodacious Space Pirates Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Although not a massive fan of sci-fi myself, I do enjoy the genre. So after passing my driving test my dad brought me this series as it looked like a fun, care free anime. This isn't the case.
Bodacious Space Pirates is not a lot of fun in terms of comedy or action. It is more a slice-of-life anime than a space anime. This is proven mostly by the fact that Marika (The main character) spends more episodes in high school than out in space, looting cruisers and cargo.
This anime is the first that I had to give up on just after halfway through. For what it is, some may enjoy it, and it is watchable. But I recommend the sub, more than the dub, as many of the dub's voices took some time to get used to, as many didn't seem to fit their characters.
If you're interested in either sci-fi or slice-of-life anime, give this a go but avoid paying full price. I recommend you stream it first if you can, then decide for yourself the value of this anime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars twee for little girls,, 2 Aug 2013
By 
A. Smith "Ado" (Beer town staffs UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bodacious Space Pirates Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is twee and for a certain type of little girl. There is no piracy, the description should be 'girl plays at being a pirate'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Dull, 9 May 2013
This review is from: Bodacious Space Pirates Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This anime seems to have been written for young girls so I guess I'm not the target audience here.

The episodes and characters do seem really full and thoughtless though - much like early original star trek films. In one episode girls have to space walk and raise the antenna, end episode. In another they find a space annomoly.

Animation seems an exact copy of the comic do looks a bit wooden.

On the plus: Japanese was easy to understand for JLPT N3 level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bodacious Space Pirates Part 1 [DVD]
Bodacious Space Pirates Part 1 [DVD] by Tatsuo Sato (DVD - 2013)
22.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews