Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, the characterisation is excellent, which makes for a family saga you can get lost in.
It switches between wartime and present day, which gives more depth and I thought the period detail was well done. I was sad to finish it!
Published 20 months ago by jessica in darwin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good holiday read
Having bought this because I frequenly visit Ibiza, where the story is set, it was disappointing to find some inaccuracies in descriptions of the island.
Published 15 months ago by Elaine Winter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars good holiday read, 15 April 2013
By 
Elaine Winter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sister for Margot (Kindle Edition)
Having bought this because I frequenly visit Ibiza, where the story is set, it was disappointing to find some inaccuracies in descriptions of the island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping read..!, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sister for Margot (Kindle Edition)
I found "A Sister for Margot" thoroughly absorbing. The story had all the elements to keep me gripped: family saga over three generations; wartime background; strong characters; different locations and a mystery in the background that ties the story together. I thoroughly enjoyed it and I shall definitely be looking out for Emma Clark Lam's next novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughly enjoyable read, 19 Feb 2013
This review is from: A Sister for Margot (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed reading this author's debut novel. I found myself immersed in the lives of the different characters very quickly and then could not put the book (Kindle!) down. I particularly enjoyed the Ibiza scenes and the World War 2 sections had clearly been well researched. I look forward to Emma Clark Lam's next novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I really liked it, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sister for Margot (Kindle Edition)
Easy to get into, maintained my interest, and a good twist at the end. I struggled a bit keeping up with the relationships of the various characters but that's probably because I'm male. I'll definitely read the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A romantic novel with a twist, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sister for Margot (Kindle Edition)
A very well written book following the lives of three generations of the same family and how they interlinked. I couldn't put it down and the ending was a surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific debut novel, 10 Jan 2013
By 
Fitzy (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sister for Margot (Kindle Edition)
A terrific Christmas holiday read (finished in 2 days flat) - a real page turner. I particularly loved the wartime sections and how these were interwoven with the modern settings. Intelligently plotted, engrossing period detail, and thoughtfully portrayed characters (I especially liked 'Gramps', Bella and Margot). Sibling tension, expat life and the tenseness of families with secrets is evocatively played out in Ibiza and England. If this was available as a paperback I would be discussing it at my next book club meeting - I will thoroughly recommend it to those who have a Kindle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A jolly good read, 8 Jan 2013
By 
hairyZA (London, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Sister for Margot (Kindle Edition)
Although I kind of guessed part of how things would resolve themselves by the end if the book, I did find the characters totally believable and sympathetic.
I also enjoyed the plot and the jumps backwards and forwards in time between present day and the second world war as a way of gradually unfolding events and resolving situations.
I would recommend this book as a good holiday read and would happily try anything else written by Emma Clark Lam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sister for Margot (Kindle Edition)
Loved the story, in particular the depth of each and every character. Great observation and details which really brought the story alive! Looking forward to next novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A captivating story, 14 Dec 2012
This review is from: A Sister for Margot (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book. The plot was complex and I had to concentrate to remember how all the characters were connected (perhaps I am getting old…), but that made it all the more interesting, given its many layers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Quality Page Turner, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sister for Margot (Kindle Edition)
This was such an enjoyable read and the quality of the writing was what made it so. I could not put it down as the plot was so meaty with so many twists and turns. I am looking forward to Emma's next book as it is so good to find a new author with such talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Sister for Margot
A Sister for Margot by Emma Clark Lam
1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews