Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated first album after the departure of Wooly Wolstenholme
"Eyes of the Universe" was BJH's first album after the departure of their long-time keyboard player (Wooly Wolstenholme). I know that many BJH fans prefer their older (mellotron dominated) albums, but personally I think this album is actually quite good and is in their top 5 (along with "Everyone Is Everybody Else", "Time Honoured Ghosts", "Gone To Earth" and "Octoberon)...
Published on 22 Jun 2007 by F. Jensen

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but not their best
This Album is not the best that the band recorded, but is good, well produced album. The songs are competent, but for fans of the original BJH I think this album really marks their transition from an electric/accoustic/orchestal band to the more electronic, synthesised sound they seemed to have in the 80's. A good solid record, but definitely not up to the standards of...
Published on 24 Jan 2004 by Ben Levick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated first album after the departure of Wooly Wolstenholme, 22 Jun 2007
By 
F. Jensen (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eyes of the Universe (Audio CD)
"Eyes of the Universe" was BJH's first album after the departure of their long-time keyboard player (Wooly Wolstenholme). I know that many BJH fans prefer their older (mellotron dominated) albums, but personally I think this album is actually quite good and is in their top 5 (along with "Everyone Is Everybody Else", "Time Honoured Ghosts", "Gone To Earth" and "Octoberon). Actually, several songs from EOTU, such as "Play To The World", "Rock 'n' Roll Lady" and "The Song (They Love To Sing)" was included in their live repertoire right up to the last "real" BJH album, "River of Dreams" from 1997, which says something about the enduring quality of this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, 22 Jun 2007
By 
F. Jensen (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eyes Of The Universe (Audio CD)
This was BJH's first album after the departure of their long-time keyboard player (Wooly Wolstenholme). I know that many BJH fans prefer their older (mellotron dominated) albums, but personally I think this album is actually quite good and is in their top 5 (along with "Everyone Is Everybody Else", "Time Honoured Ghosts", "Gone To Earth" and "Octoberon). Actually, several songs from EOTU, such as "Play To The World", "Rock 'n' Roll Lady" and "The Song (They Love To Sing)" was included in their live repertoire right up to the last "real" BJH album, "River of Dreams" from 1997, which says something about the enduring quality of this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but not their best, 24 Jan 2004
This review is from: Eyes of the Universe (Audio CD)
This Album is not the best that the band recorded, but is good, well produced album. The songs are competent, but for fans of the original BJH I think this album really marks their transition from an electric/accoustic/orchestal band to the more electronic, synthesised sound they seemed to have in the 80's. A good solid record, but definitely not up to the standards of their earlier work.
Worth buying if you already have their earlier stuff, or if you are a fan of their 80's albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original old master AKA original quality as 12 inch., 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eyes of the Universe (Audio CD)
Questo CD in versione non rimasterizzata suona meglio del suo successore, è quasi come avere il mio Lp in vinile a 33 1/3 RPM.
Trovare questo Cd nella mix originale privo di compressioni dinamiche è una vera rarità.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best, 14 Aug 2014
This review is from: Eyes of the Universe (Audio CD)
This and Gone to Earth are the very best BJH albums there are. Earlier albums were a bit "old fashioned", later ones tended towards attempting a little too hard to appeal to the masses. These two are gems but I could not split them as they offer different styles.

This one never seems to get so much critical acclaim and I think that's unfair. I guess it might be criticised for being "too poppy" but make you own mind up - Amazon have clips you can listen to.

As this review covers both original and re-mastered versions, I would add that this review is of a pretty old CD version - certainly not a remaster. I've not heard the remastered version, but my limited experience remasters can be too bright. This is inherently mellow music so I would guess the originals will be good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great remaster, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eyes Of The Universe (Audio CD)
i have had a copy off this since it came out, but wonted the remaster because i have a high end hi-fi system and the remaster sounds much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Missing Woolly, 12 May 2014
By 
Mr. Peter Steward "petersteward" (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eyes Of The Universe (Audio CD)
When Woolly Wolstenholme left Barclay James Harvest they lost some of their sparkle and originality. This is the first of what I would call the "formula albums" where John Lees and Les Holroyd share the songwriting in equal amounts. A number of BJH fans have questioned whether this policy has been right. I prefer John's songs - it's a personal thing.

They always seem to be more original and I believe that is illustrated with this album. It does improve the more you hear it, but it is short of a vital undefinible ingredient. "Rock N Roll Lady", "The Song (They Love to Sing)", "Love on the Line" and "Alright Down Get Boogie" are very ordinary and the album is saved by the likes of Skin Flicks which seems to be two distinctive songs in one and "Play to the World" which for me is one of Les' best songs. Many of the basic BJH ingredients are here - the expansive guitar work, the crashing keyboards but they are less original and more sterile. Thankfully there was better to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eyes Of The Universe (Audio CD)
This is one of the best bands i know of, and if you dont know this band......you must try this album, and you will fall in love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic BJH, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eyes Of The Universe (Audio CD)
A fine album by a group I was fortunate to see 3 times in their heyday. BJH's comparative lack of commercial success is another one of life's great mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BJH Turn to Pop Rock, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eyes Of The Universe (Audio CD)
I always had a soft spot for Barclay James Harvest particularly their early 1970's stuff when they were accused of being 'poor man's Moody Blues'. With tongue in cheek they even wrote a song with that title. Anyway their lush soft prog rock hit the mark on many occasion. With changing musical times of the late 70' s they tried to update their image and morphed into a kind of AOR pop rock version of their signature sound. And despite 1 or 2 exceptions for the most part this is a very good album with some excellent tunes particularly those on the old second side of the vinyl original such as Sperratus, Capricorn and Play to the World. This Esoteric re-master offers 4 bonus tracks and a signficantly improved sound quality over previous CD versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eyes Of The Universe
Eyes Of The Universe by Barclay James Harvest (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews