Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff!, 30 Dec. 2013
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Francoise Hardy (Audio CD)
I agree with the other favourable reviews here - this is an excellent release. It's an odd thing: the songs aren't especially brilliant and Françoise Hardy wasn't that great a singer, but there's something about the combination of material, performer and band that makes this a really fine album.

I am, of course, completely biased in that I only have to hear her singing "les yeux dans ses yeux, et la main dans sa main..." to be transformed back into the hopelessly lovestruck young adolescent I was when I first heard these songs. Even allowing for this, they're really good of their kind and of their period. The remastered sound quality is remarkably good and it is great to have the elusive Italian album here too.

People like Carla Bruni have made a pretty decent fist of this sort of thing more recently, but in my view this is how it's really done. This is not just a classic, but terrifically enjoyable as well. Very warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Francoise's Debut in Pristine Form!, 29 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. B. J. Weatherup (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Francoise Hardy (Audio CD)
Very nice CD issue of Francoise's debut LP - so OK yes I do have this on LP, but top marks to Cherry Red for the remastering on the CD release as it brings out some of those elements you may not be aware of, or that had gotten buried in the mix on previous issues (which includes those CD issued by her french label Vogue in the late 80's) - the key element being FH's voice. The other big selling point is the 2nd half of the CD which gives you Francoise's rare as heck Italian language set which by my reckoning must have come out around early '63 - and again very nice to have as it means that my somewhat well-loved Italian EP can now have a well deserved retirement! Though one question does remain - are Cherry Red/El going to release the rest of FH's 60's recordings done for Vogue - including the German language set which'd work well as bonus selection for the 'Mon Ami La Rose' album recorded in London with Charles Blackwell! And what would be even nicer is the stuff that still in the archives - which'd make a great collection in its own right! Depends on Mlle Hardy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Belatedly on cd, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Francoise Hardy (Audio CD)
An excellent release. Well remastered. Although the first French album (tracks 1-12) has already been issued as a cd,this is a first appearance on cd of the Italian album(tracks 13-22).Well done Cherry Red. The informative and well illustrated leaflet oddly enough makes no mention of Francoise's last 3 cd albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 20 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Francoise Hardy (Audio CD)
12 songs in French and 10 in Italian.

I don't speak much French, less Italian, and I'm not very musical... on the other hand it's rare these days for me to love a whole CD from beginning to end on the first listen, but I did with this. The French songs are, by and large, fun, exuberant pop full of joyful, upbeat tunes. I thought I detected, with the Italian tracks, a little more pensiveness - maybe even a little downbeat here and there - but I still loved the whole lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality album and cover., 19 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Francoise Hardy [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I got this with the repo gatefold sleeve and clear audiophile vinyl. Doxy records oviously went to a great deal of trouble to reproduce the original cover and it shows. Just stunning, although Ms Hardy has a lot to do with it.
It's rumoured that Doxy are lifting the albums from CDs rather than using the masters but I think this record sounds fantastic.
Let's hope they get round to releasing all the 60s albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great voice!, 17 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Francoise Hardy (Audio CD)
I've fallen in love with her voice! Recording quality on most of the french tracks is OK (from the 60s, though); the quality of the italian tracks was a bit disappointing (even her voice sounds different).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... France a very long time ago and I still love it as much as ever, 11 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Francoise Hardy (MP3 Download)
This was the soundtrack of my student days in France a very long time ago and I still love it as much as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Francoise Hardy (Audio CD)
Love this...watched Moonrise Kingdom and wanted the music..and they play her on 6 music alot too.Recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Francoise Hardy (Audio CD)
Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pop., 28 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Françoise hardy (MP3 Download)
I'm suffering overexposure to French music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Francoise Hardy
Francoise Hardy by Francoise Hardy (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews