Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was pleasantly surprised!
I bought this CD because Poor Mum from Dick Drake's Family Tree and from the DVD A Skin To Few kept hanging around in my head. All the other songs on this CD do too. I was pleasantly surprised by it's beauty and intimacy. I experience it as a privilege to listen to these recordings, it feels being a friend of the family. The not perfect recording quality gives a feeling...
Published 19 months ago by M. van den Assem

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nick Drake's mum sings
Amateur recording of Molly drake singing at the piano. The songs are all very well written and of their time (pre-1960's).
They are fascinating in showing that like most talented people Nick Drake's talent did not come from nowhere.
Published 18 months ago by The Professor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was pleasantly surprised!, 18 Mar 2013
By 
M. van den Assem (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Molly Drake (Audio CD)
I bought this CD because Poor Mum from Dick Drake's Family Tree and from the DVD A Skin To Few kept hanging around in my head. All the other songs on this CD do too. I was pleasantly surprised by it's beauty and intimacy. I experience it as a privilege to listen to these recordings, it feels being a friend of the family. The not perfect recording quality gives a feeling of slightly blurred memories! Lovely! I play this CD often, it has an soothing atmosphere not easily found on other albums... a dusty diamond! Nick is the ring everyone wears, this is where he started.
The song texts and poetry in the nicely shaped portofolio reminiscences of Nick's writing,
Have a listen at [...].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A LOST WORLD TREASURE., 12 Mar 2013
By 
DEANO. "D.Lester." (Oldbury, West Midlands.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Molly Drake (Audio CD)
Hi there, this is so beautiful to listen to, a world that no longer exists shines through on these songs more than any pictures could do.
I am a very big fan of Nick Drake, but this on it's own merits deserves a listen.
This has become one of my favourite CD's, which I did not think would happen?
I think that the love of her two children comes through beautifully on these recordings, highly recommended, please have a listen, Deano.

P.S. Thank you GlynLuke, comments noted and amended
Deano.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars molly drake the genius behind the great nick?, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Molly Drake (Audio CD)
Have heard a Molly Drake song before on one of Nicks cds and liked it .
Plaintive and so like Nicks phrasing and timbre , haunting a great hidden talent well worth a listen
The poems were a bit childlike but had depth behind them a grat addition to anyones collection
find out the inspiration behind the great Nick .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Listening, 2 Nov 2013
By 
Darren (Brisbane, Queensland Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Molly Drake (Audio CD)
....I bought this Cd by mistake thinking it was the best of Molly Sugden from Are You Being Served. Boy am I glad I did, it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual purchase, was delighted tp find it, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Molly Drake (Audio CD)
Heard a BBC4 Programme about Molly Drake and her family (Nick Drake being her well-known son, and was charmed by it, especially Molly's home-made tape recordings - now on CD. So pleased someone could source it and send it so quickly. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars christmas present, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Molly Drake (Audio CD)
Bought as a christmas present for a Nick Drake fan...i am sure it will be much appreciated!

Would definitely recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The songs of Molly Drake, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Molly Drake (MP3 Download)
Radio Four delivered Molly Drake into my world in the shape of a whole programme about her and her songs. Modern recordings are so pure and crisp that this set of recordings of Molly Drake playing at home with her piano is a transport of delight. The gentle background hiss combined with the beautiful warmth of the upright piano compliments Molly's clear soprano voice tremulous in its delivery.

The first time I heard the songs tears were in my eyes due to the sadness of the poetically written lyrics. Theses were times and places I could relate to, the Spanish market, the open countryside, moments of tenderness but all with the background of unbearable sadness.

The tunes may be short, but like a good short story carry a punch with every line, lines that come to visit you borne on the soft soprano voice. Molly's sadness is world unknown to me, but the beauty of its delivery can not be denied.
This is a soft, round ruby in a sea of sparkling diamonds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ENCHANTING, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Molly Drake (Audio CD)
THIS CD FEATURES THE ENCHANTING ENGLISH ROSE VOICE OF NICKS MOTHER MOLLY DRAKE AND IT IS SENSATIONAL .I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BEAUTIFUL CD.BRAVO MOLLY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Startling and Tender, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Molly Drake (Audio CD)
A beautiful collection of poetry and songs. The historic quality of the recording enables an intimate experience and packaged in a way that adds a private touch. Undeniably you can hear the influence of Mother upon Son. A highly recommended collection that stands alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfull, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Molly Drake (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant CD of recordings originally made on a home tape recorder. Her lyrics are wonderful, and this limited edition includes a book of her Poetry. It is easy to see where her son Nick Drake got his skill of writing beautiful words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Molly Drake
Molly Drake by Molly Drake (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews