Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TimeRider excellence
I'm going to keep this short, so i don't get accused of being the official stalker of Alex Scarrow (as has been intimated on other review comments)

Alex has some very clear strengths in his writing: Characters and his audience. He writes some of the best characters in YA fiction and he knows his audience...Sometimes i think he might not actually have grow up...
Published 19 months ago by Parm

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok but still no plot end book available-
ok it but each book in the series seems a bit incomplete with no real ending
By the fourth book I felt it was being padded out, and still no final book available
Published 14 months ago by Brian John Hart


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TimeRider excellence, 31 Jan 2013
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I'm going to keep this short, so i don't get accused of being the official stalker of Alex Scarrow (as has been intimated on other review comments)

Alex has some very clear strengths in his writing: Characters and his audience. He writes some of the best characters in YA fiction and he knows his audience...Sometimes i think he might not actually have grow up beyond a Teen himself, and other times i remember he has his own to compare too, and also he travels to so many schools to meet his audience its ...well exhausting reading about them all. But the net result is he know who he is writing for and what they want.

The Product Description is below and tells you all you need to know about the story (with no spoilers)
All i need to add is that i read the book in a single sitting. You don't want to put the book down and begrudge any interruption. The story line gets better and better with each book and the only blight on this is that the series is nearly done. Coming to the end of each book is hard enough...but the series....(sigh)

Buy this book, don't worry about age you will love it, for its clear voice and powerful story.

Highly recommended
(Parm)

Product Description
Liam O'Connor should have died at sea in 1912.

Maddy Carter should have died on a plane in 2010.

Sal Vikram should have died in a fire in 2026.

But all three have been given a second chance - to work for an agency that no one knows exists. Its purpose: to prevent time travel destroying history . . .

Relocated to Victorian London, the TimeRiders joy-ride back to 1666 to witness the Great Fire of London. In the ensuing chaos, Liam and their newest recruit, Rashim, find themselves trapped between the fire and the Thames. They escape onboard a river boat, only to be confronted by an unscrupulous captain with his heart set on treasures of the high seas . . .

Back in 1888, Maddy and the rest of the team are frantically trying to track them down. But with limited resources at their new base, can Liam and Rashim survive the bloodthirsty and barbaric age of piracy long enough to be rescued?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two books in the series left to go ..., 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We're finally up to book seven in the fantastic Time Riders series, and the end is in sight. Book 8 will be out in July 2013, and book 9 I can imagine won't be far behind it. Apart from one small dip (Timeriders: The Eternal War), this series has been brilliant, and I will be sorry once I turn the last page of book 9.

We've had everything that Alex Scarrow could possibly throw at his series. Dinosaurs, Romans and now finally we've reached pirates (with Mayans to come in book 8!!!) To be honest, this could have been a hit or miss for me. Pirates aren't my favourite subject, but Alex draws you into a world that is totally believable, and so visually wonderful, that readers can practically smell the salt water dripping off the pages.

Of course, after the events of the last book, TimeRiders: City of Shadows (Book 6), the readers have followed Maddy, Liam & Sal to 1889, and London, at the latter end of the nineteenth century. They travel back in time to see the Great Fire of London, and this is when the book really begins to kick off. I was smelling smoke, I'm surprised it wasn't for real, I was turning the pages that fast! I was waiting for Herbert "Bertie" Wells (a small nod to another famous time traveller writer) to make another appearance, but he drifts through a couple of scenes without much to notice. Hopefully, we'll see more of his character in future books.

Once again, Liam takes centre stage. I've previously griped about Sal being like a supporting cast member, rather than one of the main members of the book. But for all those other readers out there who agree with that sentiment, she finally comes into her own about three quarters of the way through this book. It was a bit of a rehash of Maddy's big moment from City of Shadows, but with slightly different consequences. I was a little bit disappointed to find I had to wade through two or three chapters of Liam doing his swashbuckling routine, before getting back to find out what Sal was up to. Thankfully, Alex has always stuck to quick chapters, otherwise I might have started skipping pages!

Bob and Becks, the robotic supporting cast, are quite underused in this book, compared to previous books. Although Bob is still filling the pages with his cheeky one liners, including a completely laugh out loud one that had me giggling away. But I think Bob and Becks deserve to take a back seat for once, I can't imagine how they would have coped on the high seas!

As I've mentioned in previous reviews, I've been hooked on this series from the very first book, and will definitely be re-reading them all again, before book 9 is released. They are quick books, and I finished this in a little under two days - although if you added up the total time reading, it would be no more than a few hours. I am hoping for a happy ending (Alex has said in interviews, that he has the whole story arc in his head, and knows how it is going to end), and I suspect there will be a few tears along the way. After the shock in City of Shadows, this book was more than a little filler in the series, but still very much enjoyable, and I am now counting down the months until July.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars time riders, 1 April 2013
By 
Benjamin McDonnell "Ben" (Fulham, London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TimeRiders: The Pirate Kings (Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Extremely good read and can't wait till the next book comes out. Alex Scarrow came to my school halfway through the spring term to give us a talk and before this I had never heard of him before but his talk is what got me started with the TimeRiders books and now I can't put them down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely fun and thrilling addition to one of the best series about, 20 Feb 2013
By 
Kate (Oxford, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Obviously, it barely needs saying that no reader should start a series such as this with Book 2, let alone Book 7. If you haven't read the others then please read no further as spoilers are inevitable. Instead go back to the beginning and relish the treat you have in store as you catch up with the adventures of our TimeRiders Liam, Maddy and Sal with their seven-foot support units Bob and Becks.

If you are familiar with the series then read on...

This seventh book is slightly different. It takes a step back, giving our team (or at least part of it) a distraction from what they have learned in the previous novel. Now headquartered in late 19th-century London, the team are on their own, free of their mission and apart from their past. Time travel now opens up new opportunities for Liam, Maddy and Sal, plus latest member Rashim. Instead of using time travel to put things right, there is now no place that they can't go to, no time that they can't visit and all in the name of fun. For a change.

For reasons known only to Maddy, the TimeRiders choose to go back to 1666 to take a look at the Great Fire of London in action. Although marginally better than the Plague of 1665, the Great Fire is not the safest of environments and before you can say `Shiver me timbers' Liam and Rashim are pressganged into the crew of pirates Caribbean-bound. All Maddy, Bob and the others can do is hope for their friends to stay still long enough to be detected and picked up. Unfortunately, a pirate's life is not ideal for their purposes. Just as well, then, that Liam and Rashim discover they have a knack for privateering.

While The Pirate Kings contributes relatively little to the the TimeRiders story, it adds a great deal to character development, especially for Liam. He flourishes in his new life but he also has to come to terms with himself as pirate, killer, thief. There are lessons here about the past, though. Alex Scarrow expertly weaves in themes of slavery, hypocrisy, greed. It's good to get to know Rashim a little bit better, too. He knows better than anyone the need to change the future.

Maddy, Bob and Becks have little to do in The Pirate Kings and I did indeed miss their presence but this book is so much fun. Not only for us, either. Liam as a Pirate King, learning to swash his buckle on the 17th-century high seas, is a joy to behold.

It's not fun for them all, though. Sal, the quietest member of the group, is undergoing a crisis after the revelations of the previous novel. With Liam possibly lost by choice, here is her own opportunity to find some own answers, not in the past but in the future. While Bob and Becks as well as Maddy take a bit of a back seat in The Pirate Kings, it's good to learn more about Sal, who is such an enigmatic, curious and saddened soul.

I have had such a fun time reading The Pirate Kings. The pirates' life is brought to life by Alex Scarrow. Few concessions are made for a young readership. There is violence and gore and the threat of even worse. Scarrow doesn't condescend to his readers in the least. What he does do is make us care about his characters and want to find out more about the history that they experience. I long for TimeRiders 8 although I fear troublesome times ahead as this wonderful story moves towards its conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good series of books, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for my son, who is 14 years old and loves reading, especially enjoys the TimeRiders series. He was very pleased to see this in his Christmas stocking and couldn't wait to get stuck in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars :-), 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TimeRiders: The Pirate Kings (Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Time rider books are as good as the potter series that's for sure, they just get better with amazing twist plots. Kids love them and as an adult avid reader I enjoyed them too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't think of a title, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TimeRiders: The Pirate Kings (Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book. I think the author Alex Scarrow has a unique writing style, great character description and it sounds like he put lots of effort into his research can't wait to read next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great addition to the series, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another good read by Alex Scarrow, but it revolves mostly around pirates rather than time travel. Can't wait to read the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome stuff, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TimeRiders: The Pirate Kings (Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Have loved these books from the start and they keep getting better and better. Can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars time riders, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TimeRiders: The Pirate Kings (Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Once you get into these books you have to keep reading them - can't put it down. Also a good way to learn a bit of history if you were never interested at school
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews