Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect guide if you want to create your own experience rather than follow someone else's
I have been living in Ethiopia for nearly a year, so I invested in all the guidebooks available for the country and the region.

Lonely Planet is the best if you want to save yourself the hassle of deciding what to do, as they make very clear their favourite cafe, hotel, and attraction for each given location, so you only need a cursory look at the book before...
Published 23 months ago by Chris

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Good content poor packaging
The almost complete absence of pictures makes this travel guide totally unattractive to explore. How can a travel guide totally devoid of pictures? Yet the content is very good and at most you can find the information you want, if you know what you are looking for, which is not always the case when you travel.
Published 5 months ago by George Christophides


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect guide if you want to create your own experience rather than follow someone else's, 26 Sep 2012
I have been living in Ethiopia for nearly a year, so I invested in all the guidebooks available for the country and the region.

Lonely Planet is the best if you want to save yourself the hassle of deciding what to do, as they make very clear their favourite cafe, hotel, and attraction for each given location, so you only need a cursory look at the book before making your arrangements and bookings - you are spared the decision process.

However Bradt is the one if you want to find broader information, about intimate details of a place, the quirky little cafe on a backstreet, where the little track out of the west of a village leads and how you can navigate it, and a genuine attempt to bridge the cultural divide on issues like tipping or overcharging, and an excellent guide on the controversies and ambiguities of Ethiopian history. You have to invest more time reading but you will have a better grasp of the country and you will meet a broader cross-section of the Ethiopian people than those drawn to the tourist hot-spots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best travel guide about Ethiopia, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written, sensitive to local cultural differences. By far the best travel guide on Ethiopia. Lonely Planet can learn something from this guide.
For reviews of hotels and lodges it would be advisable to consult Tripadvisor, but they have only reviews of major places.
The Bradt guide could be more critical sometimes. If there is no swimming pool or proper kitchen, do not say that it will come.
Switch from Birr to USD prices seems to give much higher prices for hotels, guides, etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top guidebook, 15 Sep 2006
I've never come across such a brilliant guidebook as this for any country I've been to. Not only is it highly informative, dependable and up to date, as you would expect, but it is also very readable. Mr Briggs' writing style demonstrates a real affection for the country which you will hopefully share by the end of your stay. We certainly did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accurate, informative, well-written and thorough, 11 Dec 2008
By 
NJ Morrison (West London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having used the Bradt guide to Tanzania a few years ago and found it infinitely superior to the Lonely Planet for that country, I was not at all surprised by the high standard of this book.

The author Philip Briggs is clearly passionate about Ethiopia -- memorably urging visitors to 'prepare to Ethiopiate' during their time there -- which helps. He balances amusing anecdotes about the potential hazards of travel (e.g. the bus ceremony (p.92) and 'Dust' (p. 132)) with the painstaking detail of the more mundane yet essential facts like the state of the showers in cheap hotels in Wukro.

Briggs is authoritative* throughout and I never once felt that he had cut any corners during the three weeks I spent relying upon it. Thoroughly recommended.

*The one exception was that the book didn't quite prepare my friend and I for the abysmal state of many of the major roads. The worst example was the principal trunk road from Dessie in the north to Addis which was appalling, largely unpaved and rock-strewn. There are Chinese contractors currently in the process of asphalting most of it but the project seemed a good few years away from completion (and the bus journey that the book said would take eight hours took nearly 14 as a result!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very informative and useful guide to a fascinating country, 7 May 2003
I was fortunate enough to spend a month in Ethiopia, 25 days with an organised overland tour and a week on my own. The Bradt guide was an excellent source of historical/background information throughout that time, in addition to providing accurate reviews of accommodation and places to eat. I am not an experienced traveller and can understand anyone's hesitation in considering a visit to Ethiopia. To many people the very mention of the name conjurs up images of poverty and famine. However, this book does make it a much less daunting prospect. Ethiopia has been referred to as "The Hidden Kingdom" and is a country with deserves to have a guide book dedicated to it, rather than as part of a general overview of East Africa. I consider the Bradt the pick of the bunch when compared to the other major travel guides and recommend it without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate guide to the sunshine country, 15 May 2009
I recently spent 3months living and teaching in Ethiopia so have a good idea of the way most things work and where things are. this guide was spot-on accurate everytime whether it be from directions to opening times to hotel prices. As a traveller, the ability to *accurately* plan ahead is crucial to managing time and finances and this guide certainly enabled me to do this. I know if i go back i certaily won't be leaving without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bradt Guides - Modern Travel Bibles, 13 May 2009
Put simply, this travel guide contains all you need to know about travel around Ethiopia, the African continents hidden jewel.

This is the most comprehensive, thorough and reliable guide you will find. I used it and its previous edition on a 6 month stay and it never failed me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used this book last year as I went to Ethiopia to start a documentary. The book was invaluable! I've spent years travelling and have used lonely planet, rough guide, foot print and moon, none of them come close to the information, and practical usefulness of this particular book. The author clearly knows and loves Ethiopia and the research he's done comes across... and it makes your trip much more enjoyable and fulfilling. If you like "outside of the box" travel, buy this book. If you only want one long tour, buy the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great - informative and easy to navigate, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Though I've given up on printed guides like this now and moved to apps which involve carrying less weight around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you buy only 1 book before travelling to Ethiopia..., 15 Feb 2000
By 
Patrick Bartz (Luxembourg-City, Luxembourg Luxembourg) - See all my reviews
...it should definitely have to be this one. It contains detailed, cleverly written and researched background information (historical, cultural, geographical, etc). It reveals the author's in-depth knowledge of the country and makes it an essential companion for travelling Ethiopia. A truly enjoyable and informative read indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ethiopia (Bradt Travel Guides)
10.05
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews