Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a photo frame!
This not just another digital photo frame. It is loaded with extras such as a calender and alarm clock and has the facility to play mp3 files and sync them to create a slide show accompanied by your favourite songs and tunes.
The remote control is also a bonus and gives the user full control of what appears on the screen.
Published on 19 Dec. 2012 by Cinderfella

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A ok LCD photo frame for the price, screen could be better
Note: The supplier sent me a review sample, no attempt was made to influence my opinion.

The photo frame came well packaged and after peeling back the LCD protection and frame cover, it's quite an attractive frame looks wise.

This is quite a large frame bigger than many other offerings, you have the option to attach the stand on the back, or to wall...
Published 13 months ago by Mr Baz


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a photo frame!, 19 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This not just another digital photo frame. It is loaded with extras such as a calender and alarm clock and has the facility to play mp3 files and sync them to create a slide show accompanied by your favourite songs and tunes.
The remote control is also a bonus and gives the user full control of what appears on the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A ok LCD photo frame for the price, screen could be better, 14 May 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: DBPOWER® (12.1" inch, High Resolution of 800x600, Rotate and Zoom) LCD Digital Video Picture Photo Frame Wall Mount Movie Remote Control Slideshow SD USB MS MMC MP3 AVI JPEG Alarm Calendar Support Memory Cards Best Christmas New Year Gift Present (Electronics)
Note: The supplier sent me a review sample, no attempt was made to influence my opinion.

The photo frame came well packaged and after peeling back the LCD protection and frame cover, it's quite an attractive frame looks wise.

This is quite a large frame bigger than many other offerings, you have the option to attach the stand on the back, or to wall mount the frame. Set-up was fairly easy, using the supplied remote you can adjust the time/date and transition effects as well as the screen brightness/contrast and saturation and a few other options, such as an alarm and to set the time the frame comes on or turns off.

The LCD picture quality is respectable in this price range (but nothing amazing either), colours were pleasing and quite natural, though I had to bring the brightness down and adjust the contrast a bit. Viewing angles are quite good from the side, but not so great top/bottom so bear this in mind esp if you wall mount the frame, this is a bit disappointing the LCD panel could be better quality.

I spent some time testing the remote, and found the range to be pretty good (say 20 feet if not a bit more) but the remote needs to be pointed straight at the frame, and the side to side angles are fairly narrow on the remote signal pick up, that can be a bit annoying at times. I'm also not a fan of the bubble remotes, I prefer rubber button ones.

There are some hard buttons on the frame (behind the top part concealed) you can power on/off and advance/pause the slide-show, but most of the controls are via the remote. You can also plug a USB stick into the frame as well as use the common SD format in the card slot. Photo playback was good, even with larger file sizes. Video playback is supported with some file formats, MPEG1 / 2 / 4, AVI, VOB, so if you have other video file types they might need converting to play on the frame, this covers most common ones. Audio is MP3 and WMA which are the two most common formats for audio. Sound output isn't bad really for a photo frame quite clear (don't expect hi fi sound)

Screen resolution is ok at 800 x 600, it's not the highest resolution photo frame out there, average for the price point. I would like to see better viewing angles esp above and below, improved LCD contrast (for blacks esp) and the lack of random image selection also has to be mentioned, the supplied instructions are just about passable but could be better (in both translation and print quality)

Not bad but not as good as I expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very crisp and clear picture, 29 July 2014
By 
E. Forster (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: DBPOWER® (12.1" inch, High Resolution of 800x600, Rotate and Zoom) LCD Digital Video Picture Photo Frame Wall Mount Movie Remote Control Slideshow SD USB MS MMC MP3 AVI JPEG Alarm Calendar Support Memory Cards Best Christmas New Year Gift Present (Electronics)
This is my first digital photo frame, Ive bought two in the past for xmas presents but I don't think they look or are as clear as this on from DBPOWER. Other reviewers have gone deep into the specifications so my review is just what I think of it.
After looking at other digital photo frames in a high street shop I don't see what any of them have that is better than this one. The images and video are clear and crisp and with the many functions you can have your photo's fading or like disolving into each other or just in the order they are on the memory card.I thought it was great that I can also play MP3's when displaying the photo's, however the sound isn't the best I have heard. There is another sound option though, there is a port to attach external speakers There is also a remote control and instructions, however they are not easy to understand and it's trial and error to use all the menu's and functions and there are probably more that i haven't found yet.
The frame needs to be about eye level for best quality, I found that if it's higher or lower then it can blur a little, but I think most people would have the frame at eye level anyway.

I've spent a couple of hours fiddling with this frame and I think it's great but the only let down are the instructions,however it's still worth 5 stars
I would certainly recommend it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very easy to use to display photos, 9 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
1st time purchasing a digital photo frame. Found it very easy to set up & use for displaying photos . sharp images and
good price given all the extras, some of which I have still to use. Currently doing the job I brought it for very well.

unfortunatley instruction booklet not very clear, refered to photos which were not there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect gift, 20 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this was a special early Xmas gift for my best friend,, they were amazed at how much it can do,
its the perfect way to collect special photos, films and music all in one place
it was truly the perfect gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING DIGITAL PICTURE FRAME: FOR PHOTOS, VIDEO, AND MUSIC, 25 Jun. 2014
By 
RBSProds "rbsprods" (Deep in the heart of Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: DBPOWER® (12.1" inch, High Resolution of 800x600, Rotate and Zoom) LCD Digital Video Picture Photo Frame Wall Mount Movie Remote Control Slideshow SD USB MS MMC MP3 AVI JPEG Alarm Calendar Support Memory Cards Best Christmas New Year Gift Present (Electronics)
Five FIRST-RATE Stars! This first-rate "Porta Retrato Digital" LE-125 model digital picture frame displays color photos and video clips, and plays music: displaying clear representations of source images and excellent source music sound. This is not a 'touch screen' device so avoid touching the display screen which can get somewhat warm. The unit operates on A/C and comes with a large United Kingdom 3 prong power plug and comes with a large sturdy silver `kick stand' to prop up the unit at an 80 degree viewing angle. An separate UK to USA adapter plug (not provided) is needed for use in the USA. It displays JPEG photos, MPEG videos, and MP3 musical tracks and is controlled by 7 buttons on the back or by a small 21 button remote control that handles settings setup, calendar, file access, as well as access to the individual digital photos and videos slide shows, and the music tracks that can accompany the slide or video clip shows. The outside edge dimensions are 13 1/2 inches wide by 10 1/4 inches tall by 2 inches thick: the actual display area is 9 1/2 inches wide by 7 1/8 inches tall. There is a white or gray color matte between the outer edge and the display screen. It has multiple on-screen language settings, including English, Chinese, Spanish, French, Italian, Russian, Swedish, Portuguese, Arabian, Turkish, Polish, and Nederlands. Input is via an SD card slot on the back or by the USB port.

Pros:
Power on and off timer; brightness, contrast, and saturation picture controls; clock, calendar, alarm, and timer.
It has 3 display modes which can be changed every 3, 5, or 15 seconds; 1 or 15 minutes; or 1 hour:
a. Cinema (which is basically portrait mode),
b. Stretched (which elongates the picture laterally), and
c. Crop which adds bars around the photo- the user can experiment with to get a preferred mode. There are multiple sequential picture transition options: my favorite is "door open".

Although there are warnings about the picture frame edges getting hot, I found by purposefully stressing the unit with hours of continuous operation and going through the entire photo slide show at 3 seconds per clip, over and over, that neither the plastic clear outer area nor the back plastic area that contains the electronics even got warm during that entire time. The screen itself does get somewhat warm and should not be touched. But this test was conducted using 120 volt /60 Htz USA power and a UK to USA plug adapter, so UK heat results may vary. The main concern was about someone letting it run for extended periods of time, and that does not seem to be a problem, although it should be turned off when unattended. The unit comes in a box with French written on all sides, but English instructions are contained within, and although not in perfect English it is accurate and specific enough to allow the user to get the unit quickly into operation and to quickly learn how to handle operation very intuitively from that point on. The main point is to get the power requirements right and to use .JPEG, .MPEG, and .MP3 files, because files such as ".png" files did not display on this particular picture frame.
Cons: the remote must be held close to the frame's bottom center hole to key in the commands.

Highly Recommended. Five PICTURESQUE Stars. (1 each Digital Picture Frame, remote control, `kick stand', 5 foot UK power supply, and operating manual. This product was provided by the manufacturer for an impartial review.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelmed..., 3 Jun. 2014
By 
DARKcell - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: DBPOWER® (12.1" inch, High Resolution of 800x600, Rotate and Zoom) LCD Digital Video Picture Photo Frame Wall Mount Movie Remote Control Slideshow SD USB MS MMC MP3 AVI JPEG Alarm Calendar Support Memory Cards Best Christmas New Year Gift Present (Electronics)
✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
DISCLOSURE:
I was kindly supplied this item free of charge to test and evaluate. In exchange, I agreed to provide an honest review detailing my thoughts. This is said review.
✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- WHAT'S IN THE BOX? ----

- 1x picture frame
- 1x power cable
- 1x remote control
- 1x manual

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- PORTS/CONTROLS ----

On the rear of the device are the following controls/buttons:
- Stop
- Play
- On/off switch
- Up/down/left/right buttons

And the following ports:
- Power outlet
- USB port
- Headphone jack
- SD/MMC/MS slot
- Mini-USB port

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- INITIAL IMPRESSIONS ----

Even though it clearly states the size, I was still surprised (pleasantly) by the enormity of the screen when it arrived.
Remote control seemed a little on the cheap, mass-produced side.
Instruction manual is in broken English, but is understandable.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- PRODUCT IN USE ----

The picture frame came with a plastic-like covering over the screen. I'm no newcomer to the world of electronics, so I removed it with confidence and care. This process of simply removing the covering, seems to have had a rather negative effect. The screen is now covered in marks (that I would describe as scratch and scuff marks), and I do literally mean covered. The main ones are really rather visible when the screen is turned off, the other, smaller ones are only visible when you get up close to the device (again whilst it's off), and have it in a good light. I can only assume that it was indeed the process of me removing the `protective' covering that caused this - it didn't come off in one swift move, rather in random shaped pieces, and awkwardly.
Temporarily jumping forward to me having used this product for a couple weeks, you can't largely see the marks (although you still can) when looking at photos, especially at a normal viewing range, but can definitely see them when the device is switched off (leading to a bit of a tacky look). I've spent a decent amount of time with some proper screen cleaner and a number of different micro-fibre cloths, to absolutely no avail. As far as I'm concerned, this isn't acceptable for a product costing 50 pounds.

Not a great start. Let's move on.

I'll begin with what settings you have control over:
- Language
- Length of time each photo is displayed
- 10 different transition effects, and a random mode (that's random transitions)
- Display of cinema, crop or stretch
- Alarm
- Times for the frame to automatically turn on/off
- Brightness
- Contrast
- Saturation
- What you see upon startup

There is a calendar mode, that I'm actually rather impressed with. It clearly displays a calendar, the time, and a slideshow of your photos all on one screen.

If you turn the product on when there is already a memory card in (which is a fairly standard process), then it seems temperamental. It sometimes gets stuck on a loading screen. I've left it like it for 10mins to see if it is actually loading anything, and nothing has happened, so again, not overly impressed. During this loading screen, if you take the memory card out, the device almost instantly turns on and arrives at the main menu. Replace the memory card at this stage, and it instantly recognises it, and has no issues. Before you start thinking it's the card, it's not. It's a 16GB class 10 with less than 500mb of photos on.

Upon selecting the memory card, you are greeted by the following options:
- Movie
- Music
- Photo
- Music + Photo
- File

I have tried all of the video formats that the company claim will work with this picture frame, and I literally can't get one to work. Not only that, but if the memory card has a single video on, then I haven't been able to view the photos, as it just goes to a blue screen and stays there...forever.

The speakers on the photo frame are extremely adequate for the job they do. No real bass, but they're not built to play your entire music collection, just a nice tune in the background whilst you enjoy your snaps; and for that, they're fine.

The remote control, as mentioned previously, seems cheap and plasticky. You have to be so close to the photo frame for it to work, you can just reach out an arm and press one of the buttons on the rear of the device. The presses on the remote have to be firm and very deliberate, and there is a definite lag between a press, and the action. That said, the remote remains the easiest way to navigate through the menus and settings, by far.

Watching picture slideshows is actually a rather pleasant experience. The transitions are nice, and the ability to decide how long you'd like each photo to stay on the screen, means that you can use this device to show friends and family all of your latest holiday snaps, or indeed increase the duration to minutes, and have it as a picture frame. As mentioned by another reviewer, I don't believe there is a random play mode, meaning you will be watching your photos in the order they're stored on the memory card. At a proper viewing distance of a couple metres or more, the picture quality is very good. If the frame is close to you, on your desk for example, it can get a little grainy.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- CONCLUSION ----

I would presume the main reason for most people to purchase this, would be to display a lot of family photos on the fireplace or tabletop. Once the slideshow has begun, then this digital photo frame does a really great job. By turning up the brightness/contrast slightly, you get a nice bright image that from a few metres looks great. Having had a bit of a look around, I see that some of the top-of-the-range digital picture frames can cost upward of £200. That would place this 50 pound offering firmly in the cheaper section of the market. That being said, for that amount of money, I still expected more, so it gets a weak to medium-strength three stars.

A great present for an older relative perhaps - but for the tech savvy, you'll be a little disappointed.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
OVERVIEW
✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
Would I recommend this product to a friend? I'd tell them all the above, and let them decide for themselves...

PROS:
✓ Large screen
✓ Picture quality is easily good enough when viewed from a couple metres or more
✓ Calendar mode
✓ Speakers do their job
✓ Decent array of settings - transition effects, timers etc

CONS:
✗ 'Protective' covering has left the screen peppered with marks
✗ Sometimes gets stuck on loading screen if you turn it on when there's already a memory card in
✗ Grainy images when you watch up close
✗ Couldn't get any videos to play
✗ Remote control is poor
✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
If you have any questions regarding this product, feel free to leave comments down below - I'm happy to help...
✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good screen resolution, lots of features, 8 May 2014
By 
JB (Chudleigh, Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This 10.2" wide-screen digital photo frame works well. It can display photographs and videos (with or without sound) and play music files. It also has a clock (with alarm) and a calendar feature. It can also be set to power on and off at user-defined times.

The supplied 9v DC wall adapter is a little on the short side (something in the order of 1.2 metres), so unless the frame is going to be positioned next to socket, an extension lead will be required. It has a neat fold out stand at the rear which can be rotated so that the optimum viewing angle can be found; it can also be hung on the wall.

I first tried the frame with a USB stick of compressed photos and found the images a little washed out (I'd compressed them to around 0.8Mb so I could get more images on the stick). I then tried a 16 Gb SDHC with raw images from my camera (around 3.5 Mb per image) and the images were much sharper but still a little washed out.

The frames settings are controlled by the buttons on the back of the frame, or by the supplied remote control (around 85 x 40 x 6 mm), so I set about having a look at the settings ... there are a lot to choose from and it didn't take long to get the images looking how I wanted them by altering the contrast and brightness settings). So; happy with photos, I tried the video. That worked well and the sound quality is fine considering the built-in speakers are (necessarily) small.

The remote control works well and is much easier than using the buttons on the frame ... and it's essential if one goes for a wall-mounted set-up!

I've only given four stars for this device because the supplied manual is really rather tricky to follow. Each set up stage is written in three (I think) languages, rather than a discrete English, then Chinese (and so on) section. Also the images in the manual aren't great so one is left to explore the settings and option by experimentation and intuition and so far that's worked well for me.

The frame supports a range of video and sound formats and a decent amount of input options are available (have a look at the 'see more product details' to see the full specification). The frame also has on-board memory, but I haven't used it and can't determine how much it's supplied with because of the manual. It also has an AV out socket that enables the device to be connected to one's television, but I've not tried that. I did miss not being able to set photo playback to random, rather than the order on the USB stick (although that option may be buried in the menu system ... I'll update if I find it).

Overall, this is a good digital photo frame. The wide screen format my not suit all images but for me I thought the photo image quality was fine. If this is intended as a gift for an elderly person I'd say they'd need some help setting it up and adjusting it (because of the instructions), but after that it just gets on with its job and it does it rather well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product., 22 April 2014
By 
R. Supward "LPF" (Durham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
As far as digital photo frames go, this has to be the best one I've seen. Depending on the quality of the photographs in the first place, this frame displays them in all their glory. The colours are vibrant and lifelike. There isn't anything to dislike about it.

Setup is a cinch. You just plug it in, load your chosen method of display (USB or SD) and switch it on. The manual is easy to follow and quite comprehensive, instructing you on how to set the time and date, although I did that without the manual which shows how simple it is. If you want to, you can play your music through the frame via your USB or SD. All of the controls are around the back but easily used without having to search for them or look at what you're doing. The (included) remote control works like a dream from all angles. There are several ways to change the photos from fade, to rotate and everything in between. Oh, and it's really light to hold as well. The screen is a little over 10" and the resolution is 1024x768 so you get really crisp and clear pictures.

Its selling point for me was its usability. I have a ton of photos on my hard drive that I never seem to look at these days but now I intend transferring them to two SD cards (one for use, one for back up) and clear a bit of space on my drive. I might even make a sound file to go with the pictures.

I can recommend this photo frame to everyone who, like me has a stack of digital photos that they never look at because, as you know, when you sit at your computer, you find a thousand other things to do there that stop you from reliving happy times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars just doesn't work, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I should have known this 10.2 inch digital photo frame was too good to be true!!
It didn't work! inserted an SD card with 100 JPEG pictures on, it shows 5 then switches off. (tested the SD card in another frame and it worked perfectly, so not an image issue)
The frame is cheap quality plastic (but what do you expect for £40???) that was not so much of an issue if the thing worked.
It is supposed to play music and videos as well, but this just freezes the frame on the initial page, stating loading for 10 mins, and then clicks off.
The instructions are a direct translation from chinese so not particularly clear.

I have returned the item for a refund!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews