Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting first hand accounts of the major battles, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like many other books covering naval history during the French Revolutionary & Napoleonic wars, this volume concentrates on the major battles; The Glorious First of June, Cape St. Vincent, Camperdown, the Nile, Copenhagen, San Domingo and Trafalgar, of course. What this book provides is a view of these battles in terms of the first hand reports and dispatches. In so doing, it highlights that in many cases the eye-witness is an unreliable narrator. Not always deliberately so but there are obvious examples of where diplomacy, face-saving or personal trumpet-blowing (in Nelson's case) take precedence over objectivity.

I own several of Sam Willis' books. I find his style both informative and very readable. In this book he adds a overview of each event (although, I suspect, few of the book's potential readers will be entirely unfamiliar with them) and puts the documents in context, so you know when and why they were written as they were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 31 Dec. 2013
Sam Willis is a very talented writer. I just finished his latest work "In The Hour Of Victory - The Royal Navy at War in the Age of Nelson". It's been a while since I've come across such a fluid and vivid style of storytelling. I found myself slowing things down towards the end of the book - re-reading pages and cross-checking facts with earlier passages in the book - the way you save the best stuff on your plate as 'dessert' for later on... It's a terrific book worth reading if you're at all interested in the age of sail. Well done Sam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SMELL THE SALT, 26 Dec. 2013
By 
A Happy Chappie (Surrey England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First rate read if one is interested in the Royal Navy. Basically the book contains some of the dispatches (original wording with pink background) from 7 seminal sea battles that the RN had between 1794 and 1806 and a considerable amount of background detail, both about the battles and the commanders involved.

As someone who is interested in the RN, but not particularly knowledgeable about the period, I mean I know about Trafalgar and the Nile but the others were a bit hazy. This has really enhanced my limited knowledge in a most enjoyable way. Reading the actual dispatches really brought the scenes to life, helped in a major way by the scene setting of Sam Willis who does an excellent job in this area.

I have three of four books by Mr Willis which I haven't yet got round to reading and after watching his recent television series, which I found very boring and 40 winks inducing to say the least, I picked this book up with some trepidation, no worries it's excellent and for my money Mr Willis comes across far better via the written word than he does on television.

Size wise the book is getting on for A4, some 355 pages or so, very readable text size, some reproduction diagrams and quite a few colour photographs of very good quality. Really please I got this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant idea for a book and gives a very interesting ..., 29 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Hour of Victory: The Royal Navy at War in the Age of Nelson (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant idea for a book and gives a very interesting slant on well known naval battles. Sam Willis's writing is so good though, it is occasionally hard to switch from his writing to the somewhat less literary gifted admirals.

In addition to the main text, the appendix detailing the prizes is interesting and a great list of further reading.

Not a criticism of the book, but there are lots of tables of facts and figures - particularly relating to numbers dead and injured - so if you plan to read on a small screen device these are a little hard to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Royal Navy, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my granddaughter's husband who is a Lt/Commander in the Royal Navy and he thought it was an excellent book as it brought the past into the present and how the Royal Navy was, and is, so important to the British Isles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars victorious, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Hour of Victory: The Royal Navy at War in the Age of Nelson (Kindle Edition)
thoroughly enjoyed the book. gave you an insight to how brilliant nelson really was - albeit he needed excellent sailors to carry out his instructions. a master tactician. up there with the great heroes - if not the greatest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live History, 11 May 2013
By 
Colin Chetwood "inquiring mind" (south west france) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Hour of Victory: The Royal Navy at War in the Age of Nelson (Kindle Edition)
This book is incredible. The detail is fantastic. One is left with the overpowering feeling that you are there in the flesh.
The story of how these documents were discovered is unreal and one is left wondering how many other documents are waiting to be discovered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars in the hour of victory, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this book after comments about it in warship world magazine. it is a very well written and explains what like life was like in nelsons navy. with many comments, letters and maps. a most interesting book which I would recommend to all nelson era fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hour of Victory, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent.

Very good, thrilling,informative and a damm good read.

Want soemone to do the same for thew army please.

John S
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sam Willis, 9 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Hour of Victory: The Royal Navy at War in the Age of Nelson (Kindle Edition)
Same as usual ,great read with lots of relevant facts etc.highly recommended.i,ve now got over four of his books .
Keep ups the high standard of research
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews