Customer Reviews


1,154 Reviews
5 star:
 (401)
4 star:
 (389)
3 star:
 (209)
2 star:
 (75)
1 star:
 (80)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars page turner, more a woman's book
really enjoyed it, candy floss for the brain, made me buy the previous three which are well written and have more substance
Published 17 months ago by OKR7777

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish!
On reading the reviews I thought this would be a nice book to read. But from the start it hop, skipped and jumped over events - like rebuilding the roof. Like a previous reviewer, it is just a cover up for a romantic story, which I didnt enjoy. The girl telling the story is meeting with a guy she has only just met, and within days she was thinking of having his baby...
Published 16 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2116 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars page turner, more a woman's book, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The French House (Kindle Edition)
really enjoyed it, candy floss for the brain, made me buy the previous three which are well written and have more substance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The French House (Kindle Edition)
Can not rave about The French House enough,a fantastic sequel to The case of the missing boyfriend. A very realistic story of love,life and also interesting and funny characters. Always a good sign of a fantastic book is when you can not get into another book because your still thinking about this book. I have recommended this book to most of my friends! First review for me,can not wait to read half life of hannah now I have discovered Nick Alexander's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish!, 3 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The French House (Kindle Edition)
On reading the reviews I thought this would be a nice book to read. But from the start it hop, skipped and jumped over events - like rebuilding the roof. Like a previous reviewer, it is just a cover up for a romantic story, which I didnt enjoy. The girl telling the story is meeting with a guy she has only just met, and within days she was thinking of having his baby! I'm sorry, but I found it too stupid to finish the book, glad I didnt pay the full price for this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked The Case Of The Missing Boyfriend - You will LOVE this! xxx, 29 Mar 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The French House (Paperback)
I read The Case Of The Missing Boyfriend by Nick Alexander earlier this year, and very much enjoyed it, so I was looking forward to starting on the sequel, The French House.

We meet up with CC again in The French House. CC no longer loves her job in the city, her life is hectic and it just is not what she wants any more. When her boyfriend Victor decides to move to the South of France in the countryside, CC jumps at the chance for a new life! Dreaming of sunshine and relaxation, CC is brought back down to earth with a thump when she gets there - what should be a beautiful house in the countryside is actually a farmhouse in the middle of nowhere that is falling apart and seems to be lacking heating, and more importantly, some of the roof! To make things worse, their neighbour just happens to be Victor's aunt, Distra. Can CC stick it out, and can she make the French House a home?

I really enjoyed The French House, I had hoped I would as I liked the first book, and I wasn't disappointed by the sequel! I started it on a morning and had finished the last page by the afternoon as I whizzed through it! I fell easily back into the life of CC, and as I knew her and a few other characters from before it was like meeting up with friends that you haven't seen in a long time - enjoyable, engrossing and exciting.

I was gripped by the story - I was hanging on to every word that Nick Alexander wrote, and I desperately wanted to know how CC and the others would get on in the book. Would CC come to love the French house? Would she make it into a home? Would she be happy there with Victor?

I loved being reunited with the characters. I had missed CC so I was thrilled to see her back in this novel! I was constantly cheering her on and I enjoyed the time I spent with her. I liked Mark as well, I felt as a reader I was able to get to know him like a best friend, his personality really came out beautifully in the book, and I liked him so much that I'd love to have a friend like him in real life!

If you have read The Case Of The Missing Boyfriend then you will love this as it is an equally enjoyable sequel! The French House is absorbing, it is funny, and it is perfect for relaxing with!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly absorbing, 9 April 2013
By 
H Morris (Horsham, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The French House (Kindle Edition)
Having read The Case of The Missing Boyfriend, I couldn't wait to download this sequel. I wasn't disappointed. It grabbed me from the start, and I loved the unexpected twists and turns it took. It's an easy read, with a great storyline, which makes it utterly absorbing. I read the book over two days, and was gutted to turn the final page. Great writing from a great author, keep them coming Nick, we'll keep reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 69 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The French House (Paperback)
From the information given about the book I expected a story of the struggle to renovate a home in France and the trails and tribulations this produced,an area of interest for me as someone who has set up home here.The first few chapters lived up to expectation with some true to life descriptions of rural French life and of the characters one encounters, along with some of the simple pleasures. I was,therefore, very disappointed when the book quickly became the cliched modern relationship novel that I have rejected so many times before. The characters became so predictable because it has all been done time and time again and the inevitable drinking sessions,gay relationships and wayward Mother meant that finishing the book became a chore not a pleasure. Please can we have descriptions that make the genre of the book clearer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the french house, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The French House (Kindle Edition)
a great book with a realistic story line. a true page turner. Not the typical brit goes to France type story, thank goodness. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly enjoyable!, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The French House (Kindle Edition)
I say surprisingly because of my recent taste has involved thrillers, page-turning suspense, mystery, never-ending drama. And even thought I did keep wondering what the main thrust of this book would be (surely not all about the restoration project?), I found myself totally engrossed in the lives of CC and Victor, and looked forward to each new section.

Ive never read such miserable reviews either! I found the characters totally believable, (lacking in backstory if Im honest), but especially the issue of trust struck a chord. I just found it a delighful read and well-written. I will certainly buy more from this author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing read, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The French House (Kindle Edition)
The idea sounded good, but I found the characters one dimensional and not believable. Very lightweight read and not very convincing. I stayed with it until the end, but I'm sorry to say, I found both the characters and storyline dull and tedious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Did not enjoy it at all, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The French House (Kindle Edition)
Not enough of a story for me, in fact I was bored after the first two chapters but carried on until the end thinking it would get better but alas it did not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2116 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The French House
The French House by Nick Alexander
0.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews