Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mark III As good as Mark II Live album
What more could any one want ? Deep Purple in their pomp, rarely perfomed material(from Stormbringer) & added to this is the emotionally charged atmosphere of Ritchie Blackmore's final show.
This has it all, & is remixed from orginal source tapes, so it doesn't sound like the band are playing on the phone, or as on Made in Europe (the orginal album this was taped...
Published on 24 Feb 2004

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Have to agree
Have to agree with a lot of the complaints on here about Glenn Hughes.
Not only is he very irritating with his vocal interjections during the songs and his ridiculous announcements between songs but he actually dominates this set to an unusually large degree - you just can't escape him.
Yet his bass playing is pretty good.
And I'm not knocking the bloke for...
Published 19 months ago by Phantom Reviewer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mark III As good as Mark II Live album, 24 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Live in Paris 1975 (Audio CD)
What more could any one want ? Deep Purple in their pomp, rarely perfomed material(from Stormbringer) & added to this is the emotionally charged atmosphere of Ritchie Blackmore's final show.
This has it all, & is remixed from orginal source tapes, so it doesn't sound like the band are playing on the phone, or as on Made in Europe (the orginal album this was taped for) with looped audience response.
The playing is all that can be expected of a top band in their prime. David Coverdale is in fine voice throughout, even Highway star sounds great. Note, DC in 75 is not to be confused with the tanned, blonde HM smoothie of the late 80s.
Highspots are hard to single out, mistreated, as ever with Mk III is well delivered, but Stormbringer & You fool no one running close.
At last a Mk III live album the equal of the peerless 'Made in Japan'. Helps to disprove the addage of live albums being inferior product, as here all the Mk III material is better than on the source studio records.
Go on have a listen, you know you want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Purple Mk III - The Final Concert, 24 Feb 2004
By 
S. Smith "MJS555" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live in Paris 1975 (Audio CD)
Deep Purple - Live In Paris 75 is a fantastic album for a number of reasons. First of all, the history, you may or may not know, but this Paris gig is actually the very last Mk III concert (Blackmore, Coverdale, Hughes, Lord, Paice). After this show Ritchie Blackmore would leave the band to start his band Rainbow. Therefore, the show was always going to be special, full of emotion, and it did not disappoint. The music is as always top draw, but the thing that sets this show apart from other Mk III gigs is the volume of material. Included in this shows are of course the favourites from Mk II days (Smoke On The Water, Highway Star) and the favourites from Mk III's Burn album (Burn, Mistreated) but also performances of songs from Mk III's other album Stormbringer (Gypsy, Lady Double Dealer) not heard on classic gigs like Live In London and California Jamming. As i said the music is fantastic, Deep Purple always stood out to me as a band capable of fantastic things, and unlike many other bands they seem to deliver every time! From Mk II's Made In Japan all the way to this brilliant album, and beyond, DP have always been a top live band. Not a lot of people (myself included) were lucky enough to see the great Mk III line-up because of the simple fact that they were only together just under two years. This is album is definately the next best thing, be it Ritchie's sublime guitar solos (notably Mistreated) or Glenn and David vying for vocals this band always put on a great show and if you only buy one DP Mk III live album, make sure its Live In Paris 75.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Have to agree, 1 Feb 2013
This review is from: Live in Paris 1975 (Audio CD)
Have to agree with a lot of the complaints on here about Glenn Hughes.
Not only is he very irritating with his vocal interjections during the songs and his ridiculous announcements between songs but he actually dominates this set to an unusually large degree - you just can't escape him.
Yet his bass playing is pretty good.
And I'm not knocking the bloke for no reason - Medusa by Trapeze is one of my all time faves, and his work on the album he made with Pat Thrall is pretty good as well. But he does make lengthy parts of this set so far removed from what Purple were about that there are spells within individual songs where it seems to be at least 2 if not more bands playing on the same stage.
It's no wonder that Blackmore was already planning his escape route.
Glenn Hughes should have been appearing with James Brown at the Apollo Harlem instead of Deep Purple in Paris, but at least in later life he has accepted and regretted some of the more extreme 'actions' of his hedonistic 70s lifestyle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes Up For Made In Europe, 22 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. R. Powell (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Paris 1975 (MP3 Download)
We all know the history behind this one. Blackmores last gig with the band (For the time being anyway), going off in a strop because he didn't like the direction the band was going in. Well listening to this it is clear he was determined to show his bandmates what they would be missing. He was on fire that night and the rest of the band made sure they also rose to the occasion. OK some of the songs go on a bit, buy hey this was the seventies and that's what these bands did then, cos they had the talent and they could. Yes there are bum notes and the guitar goes out of tune every now and again, but that's part of the beauty of these 'unofficial'live albums that are released so long after the event, they don't get tampered with to give the impression that nothing ever goes wrong (Yes I'm talking about you Live And Dangerous). So what you get is a true reflection of what the band sounds like live, rather than something that is over a tarted up to the point it becomes anodyne and lifeless (Ok not Live and Dangerous). If you're a fan of Purple this is definitely recommended. Go on buy it, you know you want to, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!, 22 Aug 2004
By 
Top Cat (Up, Down, All Around) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live in Paris 1975 (Audio CD)
"Live In Paris" is vastly superior to the "Mark III: The Final Concerts" Connoiseur compilation, and it's essential for the Deep Purple collector...
It features the COMPLETE PARIS CONCERT (The Final Concerts was a mixture from 2 different concerts) in REMIXED AND REMASTERED form (which means a fuller and richer sound) and every song is UNEDITED and UNCUT, unlike in The Final Concerts where you get 2 different edited versions of You Fool No One...
Even if you are a casual fan with an interest in Coverdale-era Purple, you'll find this concert a joy to listen to... Great performances and awesome sound quality...
This is the one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Far better than Mk III Final Concerts or MAde In Europe, 18 Oct 2011
This review is from: Live in Paris 1975 (Audio CD)
Well I have read about the mixes on this cd and wondered what was it all about, since I had the MK III Final Concerts set and was not particularly amazed. BUT, here the sound is really superb. An excellent mix DOES the difference. Burn and Stormbringer are excellent, with Richie playing with great heart even if he was leaving. A must for MK III fans who allready have Live in LOndon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed (possible) Classic, 17 May 2011
This review is from: Live in Paris 1975 (Audio CD)
For me Glenn Hughes ruins this album. His inane comments in between songs is laughable and no wonder Blackmore could not stand him. His singing, which in the studio is passable but not Deep Purple, is like a terrible screech on this offering. Coverdale however sounds good and the drum, keyboard, guitar combo are firing on all cylinders.

If you can put up with the out of control bass player the rest is worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for non-Purple devotees, 19 Sep 2007
By 
T. Braddick (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live in Paris 1975 (Audio CD)
La Derniere Séance - Paris 07.04.75

As a teenager in the 70's, my favourites were Yes, Led Zeppelin and Tangerine Dream. I only had the ubiquitous 'Made In Japan' on a cassette from a mate (replaced by the first CD pressing and subsequently the latest remastered double CD) and I never felt any inclination to buy (or even get illegal tapes) of any more, although I did eventually buy 'Made In Europe' in a sale. 'Made In Japan', supposedly best live album of the time was pretty good in the excitement stakes but always lost out in my mind to the subtlety and variations of Yessongs. So, 30+ years later, I have some disposable income and having enjoyed the MIJ remaster I came across the Paris 75 double CD, and remembering the excitement of 'Burn' from my long lost Made In Europe cassette, I thought I'd take a chance.

Burn : Fantastic show opener, possibly one of the best rock songs ever but perhaps doesn't get fair credit because it's Coverdale and not Gillan (discuss). I play this one over and over when I'm cooking ;-)

Stormbringer : Not a bad rocker either with Jon Lord adding some excellent Hammond organ.

"Let's see everyone gettin' down a bit mo' " is not the sort of thing you'd expect to hear between Purple songs and it doesn't seem right. I assume it's Coverdale, but I'm not certain. Whoever, I wish the people responsible for the tape transcription had cut it out as it's bloody annoying.

The Gypsy : Not a song I was previously familiar with, but decent, if not outstanding in any way.

Lady Double Dealer is another fast, punchy rocker which is quite exciting but with no real musical highlights. Could do without the stupid screaming and 'are we getting' down ?' shouts at the end though. If only this had been edited out as it adds nothing to the experience.

Mistreated is a great slow blues with heavy undertones - pretty good guitar and the singing is gutsy. Give Coverdale his due here, he is very good on this one.

An excellent excerpt from Lazy leads us in to Smoke On The Water which is generally pretty good, although Blackmore's solo appears to go a bit off track temporarily. For some reason they finish off with something that could be from a soul show - why did that do that ?

Next, we're in to the hammering You Fool No One. There is something about Paice's drumming here that I find almost hypnotic - a driving rhythm that underpins some good keyboard work from Lord and guitar from Blackmore. Another very good track.

Space Truckin' comes up next, but why does Coverdale have to do mock soul lyrics - especially when Lord is playing a nice organ intro from Holst and 'Also Sprach Zarathustra'?

Going Down is quite good but not spectacular. Lord's organ probably saves this as his improvisation (if it was) keeps the interest before we surge in to Highway Star, which is another rock classic and always gets the pulse running. More good guitar work from Blackmore to finish the show.

Summary : as someone who is not specifically a Purple fan, this has enough good stuff on it to be worth buying in my opinion and it will get plenty of spins. Lord's all round knowledge of music and his ability as a musician shine on this, Blackmore is one of the great rock guitarists and Paice perhaps never had the recognition his skills deserve. Enjoy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blackmore Ends On A High, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris 1975 (Audio CD)
Just took ownership of this & listened to it straight through (except the interview)

So what have we got:

Sound: Not bad quality but not enough "oomph" on the bottom end for my tastes. Sounded a bit weedy in places.

Musicianship: As repeated elsewhere, this was Blackmore's last gig with DP until the reunion. Sounds like he was proving what a loss he'd be as he is on fire. Mind you, so are Lord & Paice. Never been that much of a fan of Coverdale this era but thought he improved with Whitesnake.
Hughes is a better singer IMHO but find his bass too low in the mix to form an opinion.

Setlist: Excellent. don't let the track list on the cover fool you. A lot of the numbers here feature either long jams or medleys (Lazy & the Mule make an appearance amongst others)

Packaging: A disgrace. A single tray for 2 discs? Looks like someone is still believing the hype about CDs being indestructible.

Worth 8.00? Oh yes. Will probably continue to buy these as hey are released
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FRENCH FAREWELL TO GUITAR STAR IN PURPLE 1975 !, 31 July 2011
This review is from: Live in Paris 1975 (Audio CD)
Deep Purple (MK3) Blackmore/Coverdale/Hughes/Lord/Paice performed this final concert together in Paris 7th April 1975. It's a phenomenally good concert as the band power through a set of mostly Mk3 classics such as 'Burn', 'Mistreated', 'You Fool No One' and 'Stormbringer', as well as 'Smoke On The Water' and the set closer and half hour long 'Space Truckin'. Lots of improvisation and extended solos from Ritchie Blackmore on guitar and Jon Lord on Keyboards, with a drum solo from Ian Paice, along with his incredible playing during the songs. David Coverdale and Glenn Hughes were always a brilliant dual vocal line up for Deep Purple. And Glenn's bass playing is excellent. This was Blackmore's final concert with the band before forming his own incredibly successful band Rainbow. Burn (30th Anniversary Edition)Stormbringer: Remastered/+DVDRitchie Blackmore's Rainbow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews